We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding cottage - Excellent location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Situated in a beautiful landscape.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Situated in a beautiful landscape.
Just a short walk from the historic town of Melrose. Melrose has a fine range of shops and a good choice of restaurants.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Situated in a beautiful landscape.
Just a short walk from the historic town of Melrose.
Melrose has a fine range of shops and a good choice of restaurants.
Beautiful balcony/terrace with glorious views.
The perfect romantic holiday experience for two.
Boutique accommodation with panoramic views.
Spacious, open plan living room with Scandinavian wood burning stove.
Beautifully appointed, well equipped kitchen.
Comfortable bedroom with doors onto balcony.
Warm, luxuriously appointed shower room.
Gallery sitting area.
Relax in fine style.
Spacious car parking and landscaped garden.
Built by local craftsmen.
Traditional style and hand-crafted masonry.
Beautiful terrace
View from the balcony over the valley
Balcony - glass ballustrade
Rainbow seen from the balcony
Outlook to clear blue skies and snow cover.
A white Christmas at Mill Lade Cottage
A winter's day from the warmth of Mill Lade Cottage
Autumn at Mill Lade Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Melrose, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan C
Forres
2 reviews
“Outstanding cottage - Excellent location!”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Mill Lade Cottage is an outstanding property located in a beautiful part of the Scottish Borders. The cottage is ideal for a couple and offers great views of the surrounding countryside both from the comfortable lounge and the outside balcony. The high quality of the accommodation and superb location give you the option of just chilling or exploring the lovely area; we did both and had an excellent holiday! Throughout the day we heard constant birdsong and you could see wildlife in the adjacent fields and wooded areas from the cottage balcony (bring your binoculars!) We had a superb week and I would thoroughly recommend this property for a relaxing holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
952Matt
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet post Christmas break”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a lovely short stay here, quiet location, nice views, great cottage and was spotless when we arrived. Robert the owner was very helpful throughout. There were no real negatives, perhaps a slightly earlier check-in time (currently 4pm) would be nice. Overall it was excellent and we hope to come back some time. I would also recommend burts hotel in melrose for food, not cheap but excellent when we went for a meal out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HunnieGla...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Very special place.”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment I arrived and stepped in to Mill Lade Cottage, I felt at home. The setting of the cottage was perfect with panoramic aspect to the left side.
The cottage was spotless and contained all the things that you would ever need to enjoy your stay. the owner Robert had very kindly left some wine and gorgeous cake (as a treat). He had also set the fire so that all I had to do was light it.
I travelled on my own as needed some time away to reflect on some things, and Mill Lade Cottage gave me the opportunity I needed to do just that.
I felt safe, warm and settled. The cottage itself was exceptionally clean and well equipped. I especially enjoyed sitting at night with the fire burning, reading my book.
The surrounding area is also full of things to do, I went to Scotts View, the Leaderfoot Viaduct and the The Scottish Borders Donkey Sanctuary.
I had a wonderful stay and have already recommended it to my Parents and would recommend it without hesitation to other travellers. I fully expect that I will return in the future, then next time with my partner (he felt a bit left out) haha

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views.
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
500LuH
Taufkirchen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rural Cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

House-landscape-owners-everything was excellent! Cosy, clean and comfortable house with superb views across the landscape. Easy direction to Melrose and all other cities within the Scottish Borders.
Thanks for a lovely holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JF B
Zwolle, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Mill Lade Cottage. The cottage is very well equipped, location is very good indeed. It is a short walk to Melrose. The view from te cottage is splendid. Many walks from the cottage in beautiful surroundings.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing