We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect remote stag do location - Proper bar...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mosspaul

Mosspaul
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mosspaul
Mosspaul in summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Mosspaul
Mosspaul in summer
The comfortable sitting room at Mosspaul sits between the bar and the veranda.
The Bar!  All pumps and optics are functional and the owners can order in for you on request.
Casual dining for 10.  The games room can be set up for 28 diners.
Table tennis, darts, giant Wii, cinema and music in the games room.
The cinema seats up to 28 people comfortably for mealtimes
Why not hire our poker table for a quiet night in with a difference.
Stairs and Landing
Room 1 - double
Room 1 shower room ensuite
Room 2 - double
Room 2 ensuite shower room.  The shower is behind the door.
Room 3 - bunk room with 2 double bunks
Room 3
Room 4 - double ensuite.  Adjoins Room 5
Room 5 - triple bunk bed.  Adjoins Room 4
Ensuite bathroom for Rooms 4 and 5.  Has a shower over the bath.
Room 6 - bunk room with 2 triple bunks
Room 6 has a double built in wardrobe
One of 2 shower rooms ensuite to Room 6.  Note that the toilets for this room are over the hallway
Commercial kitchen with cooker, grills, slow cookers, pots and pans
Kitchen showing fridge, crockery and cutlery
Washing up with large commercial dish washer for fast washing
Recycling area
Mosspaul in the mist.  The scenery is stunning and the walking straight from Mosspaul is excellent!
Walking back into Mosspaul in snow.
Mosspaul Rideout Saturday 2015
Mosspaul Rideout Saturday 2015
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Hawick, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Danny C
2 reviews
“Perfect remote stag do location - Proper bar / media room and industrial kitchen”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A group of 15 of us stayed for a weekend for our friends stag do. It was the perfect location for us, it let us have free roam over a proper bar with a keg hooked up (purchased through the owners) as well as optics for our spirits and a proper glass washer to make sure there is always glasses at the ready.

During the day we went exploring up the hills into the wooded areas and had some fun with our throwing axes and bow and arrows - we were sure to leave it as we found it though!

The owners were in the process of setting up a hot tub and other activities for future bookings, which will only add to the experience! If you have any questions feel free to ask and I will try to answer for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Free run of the building - bar etc.
Liked least: Wifi was a little poor - however this is more likely down the the lines in the area.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Thanks Dean - its great to hear that you had fun at Mosspaul! You and your group would be very welcome back - kayaking, archery, poker table and hot tub all ready to go!. Kind regards, Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara H
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Family Fun”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Hired the Mosspaul Inn for my husband's 60th birthday with the family (18 + dog), we had a fantastic time. The Inn has a great open plan social area that suits a large party: lounge area with comfy chairs and log fire leads to bar area with working bar and pool table and darts board. The cinema room just off the bar is well appointed with projector, Wii, satellite TV and DVD player. We managed to set up our laptop with the projector to do a presentation. The kids loved the big screen when watching the TV. Eddie and Alison were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They set up a keg of beer for us arriving and this lasted us until we left.

As it used to be a working Inn, the kitchen facilities were brilliant for a large party. The industrial size dishwashing machine was a godsend! There are plenty of utensils, crockery etc. also a large fridge and freezer.

There are plenty of beds and rooms. My son loved the triple bunk beds. All bedrooms were fresh and bathrooms clean with strong showers.

All in all, we had an absolute ball and would recommend Mosspaul to anyone looking for a venue for any celebration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thanks so much Sara - we really appreciate your feedback and would be delighted to see you here again.

Alison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muljazz
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect murder mystery setting”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had fantastic weekend party here for 21 members of extended family. Highlight was the Saturday evening "Murder at Mosspaul" mystery and the inn provided the perfect setting. Alison and Eddie provided a wonderful 3 course meal for us that night , enabling us to carry on in character all evening.

The place is well equipped with commercial kitchen (very fast dishwasher!) and has darts, pool table and media room which were well used.The younger family members enjoyed the triple bunks!

Mosspaul is remote but that is its attraction and we had trips out to Hawick (cafes , museum, river walks) and Carlisle (football).

Alison and Eddie are great hosts; there when you need them , otherwise let you get on with it.

I would thoroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in our
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scott m
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for a large group”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Last month we had my brothers stag do I had organised at the Moss Paul Inn. WHAT A GREAT WEEKEND! With the weather being fairly bad we spent most of the time indoors but never felt cabin fever creeping in at all. The 'media room' has a large projector and large screen as well as massive speakers wired up to an amp, we were plugging our phones into the amp and listened to tunes most of the time. Having a pool table (in surprisingly good condition) and dart board was great for the whole bar games theme we had going on. The bar was well kitted out with optics and every glass you would want. We requested 2 Kegs of lager to be hooked up to the bar and with 12 of us drinking this lasted alright. The novelty never worn off pulling your own pint!

The bedrooms were all spotless as well as bedding etc, the Kitchen has got everything you could ever need for cooking for a large group. Decent outdoor space with a couple of picnic benches and use of a gas BBQ.

I actually hope to book again for the next big family get together!

The owners Alison and Eddie are very nice people who were always only a door knock or phone call away for anything we needed and didn't mind a jovial bunch of lads enjoying themselves, the building is well built and very large and we were told by them that the noise of the speakers in media room can not be heard in their living quarters.

All in all a great place for a family get together or stag/hen do. Would thoroughly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Epic Stag Do Venue”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

So you want a stag do with a difference? Like a good pub but don't really want to share it with other people you don't know?
This is the perfect Stag venue. Pull your own pints, watch sport on the 11 foot screen, play darts and pool. What else do you need?
All 20 of the lads who joined me in celebrating my impending Wedding did not have a bad word to say about the place. Eddy and Alison were superb hosts and couldn't do enough for us when called upon. All the rooms were clean and tidy and the kitchen facilities more than enough to provide food for a big group.
I had a bit of an issue with a holiday booking website regarding getting my deposit back so Alison kindly suggested she would pay me back direct and then deal with the website herself, its these little things that would make me one to return one day and also recommend to all my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing