We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A ray of sunshine”
Review of The Almond Tree

The Almond Tree
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Serving from 9.30 AM until 4.00 PM Monday - Saturday Free wifi Our menu has a variety of hot rolls, paninis , toasties, baked potatoes, hand cut sandwiches, salads, ploughmans lunch, and homemade soup of the day, also a very good selection of homemade cakes and scones which are all made daily on the premises and to your order. We also cater for small functions and phone orders are also accepted. Please phone for details. CHECK OUT OUR NEW MENU COMING SOON
Restaurant details
Description: Serving from 9.30 AM until 4.00 PM Monday - Saturday Free wifi Our menu has a variety of hot rolls, paninis , toasties, baked potatoes, hand cut sandwiches, salads, ploughmans lunch, and homemade soup of the day, also a very good selection of homemade cakes and scones which are all made daily on the premises and to your order. We also cater for small functions and phone orders are also accepted. Please phone for details. CHECK OUT OUR NEW MENU COMING SOON
Reviewed 1 November 2018

This is a not for profit community cafe, a ray of hope in an otherwise drab town. It offers employment to those who might otherwise struggle. The food and service were fine. The only meant to be constructive comment is that the supervising staff need to allow vulnerable staff a chance to get on with things that, make mistakes, learn from them and grow in confidence.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MockerkinEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I don't know what it is about this cafe, think they've changed their coffee. Used to be alright but last few visits, the coffee hasn't been the best, quite weak.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank scotsiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

I visited your café at lunchtime today(12pm - 12.45pm), normally I go for a late breakfast (between 10.20 am and 1045 am and have a toasted teacake) but today I had the Soup and Pudding special which was Carrot and Coriander soup which was hot and delicious, (I didn't eat the roll it came with), along with the pudding of Apple Crumble (again I swapped the custard with cream), once the Apple Crumble came, I delved into it to discover it was overcooked or something, I could not taste the apples, just crumble. I am usually a fan of your puddings but today it wasn't for me sorry. I will be back as I like visiting your café when i'm along the street myself.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TinaB2779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

I was told this was the place to eat and we had breakfast here! It was great to see the young folk getting a chance and the smiles on their faces when you spoke to them ! The food was great bacon and sausages in fresh rolls. Coffee and tea and all at a great price! The cafe was clean and tidy and busy yet the service was outstanding!

This is a a great idea the local cakes were superb and this is the type of enterprise we should support! Local folk local produce and a great local product.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank DavidWhalleyBurghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Staffed by enthusiastic and helpful volunteers, the food is freshly prepared and excellent value for money. Superb home-baking and excellent coffee.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mogsHome, Manager at The Almond Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely comment which is very important to us, our volunteers and staff work really hard to make the cafe what it is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Almond Tree also viewed

 

Been to The Almond Tree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing