We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet tearoom”

Johnstons of Elgin Cafe
Ranked #10 of 49 Restaurants in Hawick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We stopped here at about 11.45am to see the new Johnson’s store.
The cafe was almost empty and despite it being almost lunchtime there was no sign of a lunch menu.
We had a scone and slice of tart with our tea and both were lovely.
The staff were very friendly and the cafe was small but pleasant.
Hope for their sake it becomes popular

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank LSB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2018

We went for afternoon tea as a treat and what a treat it was, delicious freshly made sandwiches of your choice,hot sausage rolls and quiche, bite sized pieces of their legendary traybakes, scone, fresh cream and jam and coffee/tea, it was delicious, highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We were in the middle of a house move and were recommended ‘Johnstons’, it was easy to find, light and airy with friendly staff and an interesting menu, with a good lunch specials selection.
I had the smoked salmon crepes with a side salad and my wife had the Ham and Brie Salad . The Crepes were delicious but rather spoilt by a dry and uninteresting salad, there was a light drizzle of the house dressing which had a mustardy flavour but a rather meagre portion. My wife’s Ham and Brie was ordered from the Salads selection and as such should have been more interesting than a few leaves, 2 slices of cucumber and half a salad tomato with very little of the dressing.
The Ham was rather salty and the Brie wasn’t ripe.
This is a lovely spot for a meal but there’s definitely room for improvement where the food is concerned. It’s great that they source locally, just a shame the kitchen doesn’t make the most of the lovely produce.
We will be back but hope that someone from Johnston’s has paid some attention to this review.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 217peterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

A lovely cafe with interesting pictures of the local knitwear industry on the walls. Short but tasty menu featuring lots of local produce. Tempting selection of cakes and excellent coffee.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank palemerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We went to look at Johnstons of Elgin cashmere shop and decided to have a light lunch in their tea room. The quality of food and service was excellent and we would thoroughly recommend eating and shopping there for those who like quality products and food.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank dphsborders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnstons of Elgin Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Johnstons of Elgin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing