We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Property for Birthday Celebration”
other travellers have booked this property
Private driveway approaching the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private driveway approaching the house
Front of the house Large garden room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Private driveway approaching the house
Front of the house
Large garden room
Garden room with Gazebo / hot tub outside
Dining room from the hallway
Kitchen
Kitchen with door through to garden room
Rear of the house
Gardens looking back to the house
Double bedroom
Dining room
Garden room
Hallway
En suite bedroom
Bedroom
En suite bathroom
Bedroom with king size bed
Double bedroom
Sitting room with open fire
Dining room
Outdoor hot tub
Our BBQ 'Hobbit' house!
View to the house in winter
View from the ponds to Border countryside
Welcome!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Hawick, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
557Jules5...
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Property for Birthday Celebration”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from celebrating my 60th birthday with extended family (8 in total ) plus 2 dogs. The house itself is amazing. It is like borrowing someone's home for the weekend. Branxholme has absolutely everything you need, from all the kitchen equipment, serving dishes, cooking spices, double oven, 2 fridge/freezers, dishwasher, down to supplying hot water bottles for cold winter nights. The bedrooms are very spacious with lovely comfortable beds and plenty of wardrobes. We spent most of our time either in the garden room, which is so comfy and welcoming, where we played lots of board games and had great fun, or in the garden itself having a BBQ or walking the dogs. The garden itself is securely fenced so dogs and children can play safely. Hawick is a very short drive if you need any extra supplies or just to wander around. Every member of our party commented on how relaxing Braxholm is and they all want to return. Thank you very much for providing this beautiful home to celebrate my birthday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Branxholm is like your home not a holiday let
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review Branxholm Knowe. I am delighted you had a memorable weekend surrounded by family and friends and found Branxholm Knowe to be the ideal spot to celebrate. It is indeed a great house for entertaining with the large garden room providing a lovely setting for all to congregate. Thank you again. Kind regards, Ian Dowling
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CMPurves
Upper Largo, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very enjoyable weekend stay”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our party of 7 adults and 2 children had a great weekend at Branxholm Knowe. The house is large and comfortable and the extensive grounds were an added bonus for the children to explore.

The house is well equipped and the kitchen has two fridge freezers and a double oven - useful when catering for a larger party. The dining room contains ample seating and the two sitting rooms meant that there was plenty of room in the house for everyone.

There were some nice additional touches like the spice cupboard and the provision of children's toys and games.

The stoves, open fire in the sitting room and large supply of logs make this house very homely and a very good choice for the colder months.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Nov 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Branxholm Knowe. I am delighted you all had a great week and found our house to 'tick all the boxes' for your family celebration. Please do come back - we'd love to host you again! Kind regards, Ian Dowling, owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JJTT56
Manchester England
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great house for a family get together.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I have just got back from a long weekend break on the Borders of Scotland. My wife and I stayed at Branxholm Knowe House with my brother and sisters and my mum (9 in all adults) for a family gathering to celebrate our mothers 80th birthday and to visit the historic land of my late father’s fore bearers. This house was perfect for what we required.
The house is a good size and well appointed with plenty of room for all of us to relax and catch either in the conservatory, lounge or kitchen. The kitchen has all you need to make a big meal and there are several stoves and fires to warm yourself by with a shot of malt or two. We all commented on how much character the house had whilst feeling homely (even though we where only there 3 nights)
Issobelle met us at the house and briefly showed us around the place which we appreciated.
The gardens are pleasant and the trees which envelop the house are full of birds and wildlife. Harwich is a short drive North (pop in for all you supplies, shopping for Cashmere or just to have a nice cuppa at Turnbulls Cafe)
The house is set back from the A7 and well connected by road to much the border area offers in way of history.
my family rarely get a chance for us all join together for a holiday at the same time. We are very pleased that we chose the Branxholm Knowe House to spend our weekend together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the house and the relaxed feel to the place
Liked least: Perhaps it might be a little dark and secluded for some (that said I think this added to its charm)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bee f
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

arrived here with my partner, son and in laws what a lovely house away from it all, everything you need a home from home clean and spacious loved sitting in the garden area at night even in the cooler weather, the woods behind a great place to explore, definitely a great place to stay. lovely people who care from reading the guest book, left something expensive there an email to the owner and we received the items through the post with a lovely message thank you for a lovely week

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden area and conservatory
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing