We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek style in Hawick, of all places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bank Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Hawick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sleek style in Hawick, of all places”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I can't say nice enough things about Donna, the owner/hostess. Hospitality well above and beyond expectations. The building is quite interesting, and what Donna has done with the interior is lovely. Breakfast couldn't be faulted. The price of the room was so cheap that we actually decided on paying a few pounds extra, we felt it was only fair. If I had one complaint about the accomodation, it would be the size of the bed in the room we stayed in, which didn't leave an inch of room to stretch out, even though the room was quite large. The Bank is a great base from which to explore the towns of the Borders.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 would be your best bet. We had room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    14
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
157
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We were staying at the Bank as part of my fathers 80th birthday, while attending the rugby. The Bank was very helpful before we arrived answering all my queries, recommending where to eat / booking the table. Having accommodation with a door straight onto the main street and the access to come and go as we please was fantastic. The room was amazing, with a king-size bed / a single bed plus a settee, there was still plenty of space. The hall even had a fridge with soft drinks at 50p, perfect for coming home from the pub. Breakfast was excellent with so much choice and Donna made us feel so at home. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edintraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We received a very warm welcome from Jennifer, who was looking after The Bank in Donna's absence. Our room was fantastic, and breakfast was delicious! Very good value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophiej75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

From the minute we arrived at the Bank Guest House, we were made to feel so welcome. We were blown away when we saw our room. Beautifully decorated with our own bathroom which was huge, with a lovely bath. Walk in closet was huge with fluffy white dressing gowns cosy to curl up in after a nice hot bath. Hospitality tray with not only tea coffee etc but also some nibbles, crisps and sweets. We felt like we had our own little suite more than a room. Hotel was extremely quiet and the bed was very comfortable, we had the best nights sleep ever. Satellite telly and free wifi. Breakfast was delicious with an excellent choice, you could pick what you wanted from the hot breakfast, we were naughty and had the works, delicious !!! We were made to feel so very welcome and will most definately be back next time we stay in Hawick. At only £75 for the night, bed and breakfast we felt this was exceptionally good value, for comfort, warm welcomes and delicious food, with the little touches making our stay all the more Special, Staying in Hawick??? This is the only place to go !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Our party of eight have just spent a night here and would give it top marks for accommodation,cleanliness.hospitality and great food. Donna has created a touch of luxury in the Bank and provides an extremely welcoming atmosphere for her guests. We will definitely be back.
Therine
Scotland

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawick
0.8 km away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
18 reviews
8.7 km away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
2.0 km away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
176 reviews
36.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
11.5 km away
Colterscleuch House & Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bank Guest House

Property: The Bank Guest House
Address: No. 12 High Street, Hawick TD9 9EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,024 - ₹ 7,446
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bank Guest House Hawick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing