We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ranald Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 111
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corran House(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Elderslie Guest House(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grove House(Connel)
US$ 173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (875)
Filter reviews
875 results
Traveller rating
453
275
107
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
275
107
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftmetro hotelcompact roomgrand roommodern hotelthird floorferry terminalgreat wee hotelpower showercentral locationbreakfast roomsmoked salmonhaggiscomfortable bedstreet parkingcar park
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 875 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Is a boutique hotel with large rooms. No lift, so be aware if you have loads of heavy luggage - part of the stairway is a spiral. Try to get a room at the front of the hotel. Our room was at the back and faced on to a rock wall which made it necessary to have a light on at all times. Only one street behind the main street. Does not serve food except breakfast but it has limited facilities so breakfast choices reasonable limited.
Reception staff very friendly and helpful !

Room Tip: At front on first floor.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AMHGreenock_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am delighted to see that you found our staff very friendly and helpful.

I hope to welcome you back to stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

This was a lovely hotel in the centre of Oban. It is a very small hotel but it is furnished very nicely and modern.
The breakfast buffet had some good options, cereals, toast and a breakfast menu focusing on baked eggs and others such as pancakes etc. However not many options for vegans, so I just had toast for my breakfast.
The rooms were nicely furnished with a very comfortable bed and modern bathroom.
Only negative thing is that the walls are VERY thin, and you can hear the noise from the street outside very clearly. Not such a big problem for deep sleepers like me but may be bothersome for others. Overall though, I think it’s a lovely hotel for a short stay :)

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Rachel, Many thanks for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I am delighted you found it to be a lovely hotel. We appreciate your comments regarding the breakfast and are sorry to find you didn't think there was very many options for vegans. This is something we can look into to try and improve for the future.

I hope you would consider staying with us in the future and maybe we could provide you with another vegan option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Check in staff very friendly. Room and bathroom spotless. Yes the rooms are slightly on small side but let’s face it it’s just somewhere to sleep as there is so much to see and do in Oban, therefore you won’t be spending much time in room.
Breakfast was sufficient and plentiful.
Hotel is in a great location.
Would definitely recommend and will definitely be returning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Roxana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Ranald Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the hotel to be in a great location.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Rooms really small. Shower was good. Noise from the street. But needed to open window for fresh air. Lack of free parking was a surprise. Breakfast mediocre. Porridge was graining. Maybe a microwaved type. Morning staff not enthusiastic!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I can only apologise about the noise coming from the street as its out with our control however, its usually quiet. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't advertise any free parking. I will also raise the breakfast concerns with the morning staff. I can again only apologise to you for this.

I hope you would consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent. Good rooms. Well maintained. Breakfast great. Service first rate. Staff lovely and efficient. Would definitely recommend a short stay. Oban is lovely one problem no elevator. Stirs to rooms. Only 17 bedrooms. Still worth it. Very modern. Cheers JB

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ceramicist_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you very much for leaving such an excellent review of The Ranald Hotel. I will be sure to pass on the nice feedback to the staff. Unfortunately we don't advertise a lift on our website. We are advertised as a metro hotel and we unfortunately don't have any space to provide a lift.

We hope you will return to stay with us in the future. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews