We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced hotel”
Review of Rowantree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rowantree Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The hotel had parking which is in short supply in the town and is well-located in the town centre. The rooms were cleanish, but tired, the staff were mostly friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were very good. We paid £145 pp per night for a hotel that was of Travelodge standard.
There was WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KENNETH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Check in was very smooth. Room was good size and clean plenty of tea and coffee and fresh towels. No WIFi in bedrooms tried WiFi extender reset but wouldn't work.
Evening meal we dined in the restaurant food was good and service was quick and pleasant. Room on front above bar was very noisy until about 2 am. Also a lot of motor traffic noise due to secondary double glazing unit being broken. Breakfast was okay fresh cooked and warm.

Room Tip: If you stay here get a room at the back as front rooms are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clanmauchlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

I'll start with the positives. The location is central. The bed was fine and showers nice and hot.

On the down side -

No wifi at all in our room over the whole 4 days even though it was part of our room rate. We had to go downstairs to pick it up and even then it was variable. There was no such problem with wifi elsewhere in cafes etc in Oban.

Getting a parking space was a challenge each day. At the end of the day after long driving, you don't want to factor in getting back by a certain time to get a park.

The room whilst clean was dated. They advised that many rooms had been refurbished -I think we missed out! A lot of small things not right - some lights not working, heated towel rack only heated once or twice, could hear every step of occupants in room above us, on one occasion cups not washed and no tea bags, every time we walked out of our room the frying smell from the kitchen was overpowering etc etc

Upon checking out we were not asked how our stay was. These may seem minor but when added up it makes a difference.

I could accept the above if the room rate was in accordance with the accomodation, but this was our most expensive accomodation in Scotland ( even Novotel in central Edinburgh was cheaper and that was with breakfast ).

Oban is such a beautiful place - I would recommend looking for an alternative place that had character befitting of Oban.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Stayed at this hotel weekend before last and found it to be very good. Room spotless, staff brilliant, especially Mary on Reception. Will certainly stay there again. Ate at the hotel on the first night. Food very good. As said before, not great wifi in room, but down in lounge area was no problem.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Helent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We have been eating in the restaurant of this hotel called, steack house, the food and the environment of the place was perfect! The stuff too, very helpfull and kind! Sofia, a spanish waitress helped us allot, and we felt like at home! We repeated twice in this restaurant! Excellent meat!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Pilar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
0.2 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
159 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.3 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
832 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowantree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowantree Hotel

Address: George Street, Oban PA34 5NX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: ₹ 5,069 - ₹ 11,340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rowantree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 24 recently refurbished bedrooms to a 3* plus standard all fully en-suite and offers first class bed and breakfast accomodation. The Rowantree hotel is somewhat unique to Oban - a town centre hotel with its own large car park, free to hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Rowantree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowantree Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing