We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 139
US$ 125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tanglin B&B(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$ 178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 184
US$ 144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 157
US$ 146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corran House(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 141
US$ 136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Invercloy Guest House(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Grove House(Connel)
US$ 242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveller rating
95
129
91
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
129
91
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakhouse restaurantduty managercleaning staffno liftmain roadwould stay againcomfortable bedtown centretrain stationtea coffeenice breakfastone night staythe ground flooryogurtreardistillerystopover
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 374 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Check in was very smooth. Room was good size and clean plenty of tea and coffee and fresh towels. No WIFi in bedrooms tried WiFi extender reset but wouldn't work.
Evening meal we dined in the restaurant food was good and service was quick and pleasant. Room on front above bar was very noisy until about 2 am. Also a lot of motor traffic noise due to secondary double glazing unit being broken. Breakfast was okay fresh cooked and warm.

Room Tip: If you stay here get a room at the back as front rooms are noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clanmauchlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

I'll start with the positives. The location is central. The bed was fine and showers nice and hot.

On the down side -

No wifi at all in our room over the whole 4 days even though it was part of our room rate. We had to go downstairs to pick it up and even then it was variable. There was no such problem with wifi elsewhere in cafes etc in Oban.

Getting a parking space was a challenge each day. At the end of the day after long driving, you don't want to factor in getting back by a certain time to get a park.

The room whilst clean was dated. They advised that many rooms had been refurbished -I think we missed out! A lot of small things not right - some lights not working, heated towel rack only heated once or twice, could hear every step of occupants in room above us, on one occasion cups not washed and no tea bags, every time we walked out of our room the frying smell from the kitchen was overpowering etc etc

Upon checking out we were not asked how our stay was. These may seem minor but when added up it makes a difference.

I could accept the above if the room rate was in accordance with the accomodation, but this was our most expensive accomodation in Scotland ( even Novotel in central Edinburgh was cheaper and that was with breakfast ).

Oban is such a beautiful place - I would recommend looking for an alternative place that had character befitting of Oban.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Stayed at this hotel weekend before last and found it to be very good. Room spotless, staff brilliant, especially Mary on Reception. Will certainly stay there again. Ate at the hotel on the first night. Food very good. As said before, not great wifi in room, but down in lounge area was no problem.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank Helent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We have been eating in the restaurant of this hotel called, steack house, the food and the environment of the place was perfect! The stuff too, very helpfull and kind! Sofia, a spanish waitress helped us allot, and we felt like at home! We repeated twice in this restaurant! Excellent meat!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Pilar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

My family reserved two rooms about six months before our stay. Upon arrival, my daughter was placed on a different floor and when we asked for her to be moved at least on the same floor was told by an indifferent desk manager that "he was not the one to promise the room assignment so there is nothing he could do". Her room was skipped by housekeeping and the noise level was unacceptable. Wth no a/c and no fan to circulate air the only option was to open a window that was directly over the bar.

There are a few parking slots in the rear if you get there early enough but you share with the employees. Rooms were very dark and the bathroom even darker. Too bad this was the last hotel on our wonderful trip to Scotland. Not a good way to end an otherwise great vacation,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellamom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews