We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel with friends at the beginning of September. We were on a dinner, bed and breakfast 2 night deal, which was excellent value for money. The rooms are basic but clean. We enjoyed both breakfast and dinner and the two nights we spent in the bar, overlooking Oban bay. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lesley1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lesley1000,

Thank you for taking the time to write review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you had such a good time and I will share you comments with the rest of the team.

Kind regards

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Ate a hearty meals consisting of Oban’s local produce at the Atlantic bar including the catch of the day once we arrived. Our room was not ready. Finally when we went up stairs to a lavish stateroom overlooking the bay. Later that evening I used the onsite the steam room, sauna and outdoor hot tub -- the views from the hot tub of the bay was pastoral as the sun set.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Edtay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Edtay I,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, especially the food and the views. I hope you can stay again with us soon.

Best wishes

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at the Oban Bay Hotel for five nights recently. We had room #4 which did not disappoint! It had a beautiful view of the bay and a large four poster bed. I highly recommend trying to get this room as some of the rooms may not be as nice. The breakfast was large and delicious. And it was a lovely walk along the bay to town. Staff is young but friendly and dinner was good too. Yes, the carpet is old, but don't let is ruin your stay. The lounge is very comfortable and you can drink or eat there looking out at the bay. loved it. Also - if you need help with your luggage, they are happy to oblige - just ask!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 and it was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nuyorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear nuyorka,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you had such a good stay. I will share your kind comments with the rest of the team, who I know will be delighted to have made a difference.

Kind regards

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

What a shame. Fantastic location, perfectly fine really but just so rough around the edges. Nothing actually wrong, just background mediocrity in so many areas as several other reviews suggest. Letting itself down when it needn't do so.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Thom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Thom B,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am grateful for your feedback which I will share with the rest of the team.

Kind regards

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The hallway to our room had a carpet that should have been replaced years ago. Frayed, dirty - just awful. The room was nothing special. Just the basics, nothing else. The lift could stand a good cleaning too. The restaurant? Well, it was fair to good. My wife's salmon was quite good, my steak burger? Well, not so good. There are lots of choices in Oban. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EltonWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear EltonWG,

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. I will share your comments with the rest of the team. The hotel has much to offer guests including great views and an excellent location, friendly staff and great food.

Kind regards

David McGhie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
33.0 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,502 reviews
15.8 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
159 reviews
0.1 km away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
1.0 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: ₹ 4,725 - ₹ 9,364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing