We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“quaint”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

just returned from Oban Alexandra on coach tour.
Can not really find any fauult with hotel - our room with seaview was 'compact' - bathroom 'compact' with super shower - spotlessly clean.
Meals were very good - quality and quantity excellent - served quickly and politely by i think mostly east european (lovely) staff.
This trip is for people how like sitting on coach (from Midlands) for 11-12 hours - and doing the tours of about 7-8 hrs - !!
Had a feeling the whole trip was very organised like a military exercise - but it worked - especially in the dining room !! All i can say if you like hours of coach travel and endless 'T@P' stops and off and on the coach (in all weathers) needed or not (Drivers safety rules) this is a good and value for money trip!!!
money worth trip -

Room Tip: Room 44 is compact with 1 window overlooking Oban bay - lovely sunsets !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank bobbyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    84
    38
    21
    11
See reviews for
44
121
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Being picked up at 7am in Oxfordshire, two further stops in Daventry and Rugby, 5 comfort stops on route made the 12 hr journey a long one. It was pleasant and informative thanks to Stevie our driver, but still long. The optional day trip (day 3) was declined due to the amount of coach travelling involved in the other days. We felt a break was called for and decided to stay in Oban and take advantage of the sights and places of interest.
It has to be appreciated that Oban is, like most towns and villages in this area, surrounded by mountains and Lochs with the roads being narrow country single carriageways, which extend travelling times. But this is compensated by the fantastic views. It seems that the road is never more than a few feet from water of some description, be it tiny streams, babbling brooks, Lochs that look like mirrors reflection the scenery, or salt water lakes and bays. Boats of all shapes and sizes moored and others enjoying the freedom of the water.
The Alexandra Hotel is comfortable friendly and relaxing. Much is made of the need to use the hand gel on entry, I had no problem with this and if it saves the spread of infection then think it a reasonable request. Entertainment was laid on each evening and those that attended seemed to appreciate and enjoy it. I have enjoyed the experience but doubt I would do it again, purely because of the amount of travelling involved.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have view across the bay to Mull. Back facing rooms look over chalets in court ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I just returned from a 5 day trip to Oban staying at Alexander Hotel - (Take note Northern Ireland travellers this is really a 3 day trip as there is 2 FULL days travelling to and from Oban). By the time you arrive at 8pm and eat at 9pm you really are not in the mood for another long coach drive next day to Fortwilliam - or the next - or even the next lol.
The hotel itself is a large, glass-fronted old time building - lovely to look at and spectacular see views (if unlike myself, you book a sea view room). It is generally a lovely hotel, but the old-fashioned bed linen lets it down. Brian the Manager and Ruth are the only 2 scottish people at the hotel (even our driver was foreign) but despite the lack of english speakers, everyone was friendly. It would have been nice to have the reception manned occasionally and lack of informative literature and daily newspapers left us ignorant of what the local area had to offer.
There is a good swimming pool (bit too cold) and a full size snooker table which my 9 year old monopolised as she was so bored - otherwise there are NO facilities for kids.
The food was great, hot and tasty with good choice options - and the hotel was warm with good fresh linen changes daily.
The three day trips were ok but we chose to do our own thing and a ferry trip to visit Mull (home to Tobermory - or Balamory) was the highlight of our whole trip.
The scenery is beautiful if your knees can take 5 days of sitting in a coach - we tended to hover round Oban.
The hotel entertainment was chronic - one old-tyme singer, on wee man on an accordian and 1 passable comedian/singer on the fourth nite - no quizzes, bingo or the like - so if you like to do the slush (help!) , line-dancing or the fogie flutter then this is definitely the place for you.
One more thing - a dislike of hand gel will not be tolerated - the hotel is working hard to keep the virus population down and you will probably lose your fingerprints by the time you leave the place - after a few days you get used to it.
Would I go again? Yes to Oban, by car - to a more family orientated place.
Would I recommend it? Yes, to anyone over 60 with really good knees.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room and even if your a lone traveller, go for a double room - its more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank BelfastBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just returned from a Highland Heritage 5-day tour to Oban - the weather was amazing given we are in March. This was a first for us so we didnt really know what to expect other than we thought we would be the 'youngest' on the trip - we were so wrong!
Coach - fairly comfortable given we were picked up in Sheffield and had nearly 11 hours of a journey (including pickups at Rotherham, Chapeltown, Barnsley and Leeds) as well as the customary toilet/coffee breaks. Our driver (Paul) was brilliant, very informative and entertaining).
Hotel - situated overlooking the harbour of Oban just a few minutes away from everything so a lovely stroll of an evening. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable though obviously dated. Bathrooms were of a good size and we had the luxury of being able to lay full length in the bath as well as having a power shower to hand. Good (green) fluffy towels which were changed at request.
General rooms - the dining room was lovely and overlooked the bay - nice and bright with lovely decorative coving. Lounge areas had comfy leather chairs to sit and enjoy after dinner coffees or drinks and again overlooked the bay. There is a lift to all floors which is handy as quite a lot of stairs!
Swimming pool - fab pool which we tried once - much tooooo cold which was a shame. We mentioned this to the Manager who informed us that it should be at a temperature of 29 but had been 'switched on' a week later than it should have been and so hadn't reached temperature - needless to say we did not partake again.
Trips - the trips on offer whilst being quite good were badly arranged - after travelling for nearly 11 hours there were not many takers for the Campletown trip the following day - just too much travelling on the back of getting up to Oban. There was also a trip to Stirling the 2nd day there which again was a long way and due to lack of information by our driver (not Paul I might add) rather spoilt the day., Apparently we could have stayed around the castle and enjoyed the gardens and surrounding areas free of charge plus tea rooms but we were not made aware of this and so walked down the hill back into Stirling - a big mistake unless you want yet another shopping centre on the likes of Meadow Hall. 2 hours were allowed for the stay there so not really enough time to cough up £10 for the entrance fee. The 3rd day trip was optional and one you had to pay for this to Fort William and a cable car ride at Glencoe. Those who went on this said was well worth the journey. Again as it was such a long drive there and back and we would be having the long journey home the next day we opted out. Instead we took the ferry to the Isle of Mull - fantastic sail across and back as we had spectacular weather. Unfortunately as it was on a Monday and they were still working on the Winter timetable so there were no buses to Tobermory so watch out for this. Disappointing but the trip was still worth the £13 odd (return) for the two of us. Pick up your seafood at the little stall at the Ferry point - amazing variety and very good value - try the fresh crab sandwiches. We did and bought a bottle of wine + plastic cups (well have to make do) and then headed back around the harbour and past the Alexandra. Keep on going and you come to a lovely remembrance garden. I can honestly say there are not many places we have sat and enjoyed such a simple lunch on a beautiful sunny day just watching the boats and the sea birds skimming the water. Leave the garden and go back on to the road walking past the castle ruins and then on to the sands at the next bay - beautiful white sands and rocks greet you at this little suntrap. Retrace your steps or if you are tired you can always get the bus back (15.10 or 16.10) but check as again the timetable was the winter one. We finished our perfect day back at the hot chocolate shop complete with a tray of choccies - what more could you want?
Now to the disappointment - food at the hotel. We had been told so much and read reviews that this was wonderful. It wasnt - portion control was very much in evidence but we can honestly say we did not go hungry. There was not a lot of imagination other than piping pate into swirls onto the oatie biscuits and serving with a salad garnish. On the whole the food was fairly well cooked and always hot but everything seemed to taste the same - particularly the vegetables. I think this may have been down the to way all the food was kept hot prior to serving which was done via trolleys for the starter and desert. All of the staff were very polite and quick and dinner was over in the hour. All very efficient and well organised but no time to linger between courses! Breakfasts again were ok - choice of fruit juice/porridge (dont expect the stick to your ribs stuff) so disappointing/cereals and tinned grapefuit followed by cooked breakfast and toast - dont expect warm or crispy - this is not going to happen!

One last thing - hand washes - containers were fixed on the coaches at both entry points and we were asked to use them each time we got back on the bus. They were also fixed either side of the entrance to the hotel and the girls would stand with them on entry into the dining room so no-one could escape. We actually found this really funny but when you think about it is probably a good idea - at the end of the day it is in everyone's interest!
On the whole we enjoyed the experience and met some lovely people as well as seeing a bit of Scotland.

Room Tip: Not one near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank SaffiSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

ive just come back from a 5 dday holiday at this hotel and all i can say is brilliant!!!!!!!!!!!! Bryan, Ruth and staff where absolutely fantastic . we paid a liitle extra for a premier sea-view room and it was well worth it, hotel and room was spotless, even had our own private sitting room lookingright out on the bay. Food and service was second to none. Had my birthday while i was there and the management and staff made it all the more special. Keep up the good work Alexandra and Highland Heritage your staff are brilliant.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a premier room they are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank JANBELL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.9 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
7.0 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Property: The Alexandra Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, this hotel has been built on one of the finest locations in Scotland to take full advantage of the glories of Oban Bay, complete with outstanding views across to the Island of the Inner Hebrides. The site allows easy access to the town of Oban, and a superb walk along the coastal road to Ganavan beach. At the rear of the otel, there are seven Superior Rooms in the Alexandra Apartments, which are the largest in the company and suit those who come by car and need private parking. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. (Please note - our swimming pool is not in use currently). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Oban
The Alexandra Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing