We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stopover”
Review of Kilchrenan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilchrenan House
Ranked #11 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2017

What a welcome from Frances, so bubbly, great personality and couldn't do more for you. Hotel was lovely rooms clean and comfortable and a breakfast to die for. Absolutely superb.
Only negative was the height of shower room ceiling for my husband. Because of the sloping ceiling which is a lovely feature with the room on top floor it was a bit difficult to accommodate my tall hubby, but this was not a problem.

Room Tip: If your over 6' your better off not having top floor. Not sure though if all the rooms were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MargieP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

A wonderful guesthouse, a sherry or a dram of whisky to welcome us on check in. Room was beautiful, spacious and tastefully decorated.Amazing Victorian bath.!Binoculars on window to admire the most perfect view. Breakfast was excellent, nothing was any bother to the hard working waiting staff, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was so tasty! Plenty of toast and coffee, and fresh fruit salad.
and Frances and Colin made our special wedding anniversary even more special with their generous gift of chilled prosecco, thank you so much, we were really touched. Would love to come back again

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank queentitania21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

A return visit just as we remembered excellent. Colin and Frances are extremely friendly and helpful. Room had an excellent view and we were lucky with the weather this time. A fantastic choice for breakfast and a short walk to the town centre will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Our group of two couples rented two suites in the adorable Bed and Breakfast. Checked in on time and met Colin who welcomed us and explained everything we needed to know. How to get your breakfast order in and helped us make dinner reservations at the great local restaurants!! The room was clean, quiet, and spacious. The view of the water was beautiful and serene. They have the most adorable dog who we got to pet whenever we were hanging around the lobby. The hosts were wonderful and happy to help in any way they could. Plenty of parking and fairly priced for what you get.

Thank you Colin and Frances from your friends in Oregon!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Skibunnies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

It was our first visit to Oban, the fourth place we stayed during our trip in Schotland. The rooms with seaside views immediately give a "yes, this is vacation!"-feeling! The hosts Frances and Colin gave us a warm welcome.
Also the breakfast was excellent. There was fresh fruit, and a selection of hot dishes, excellently prepared by Colin. There is a days special, and my daughter's and my favorite is definitely the pancakes with berries and greek yoghurt.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anuschka_kerstens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
198 reviews
0.2 km away
Barriemore Guest House
0.2 km away
Alltavona Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Glenrigh Guest House
0.6 km away
MacKay's Bed and Breakfast
1 km away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchrenan House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchrenan House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: ₹ 5,642 - ₹ 6,611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilchrenan House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colin and Frances welcome all visitors to their elegant Victorian home combining modern comfort with a relaxing atmosphere. Extensive breakfast menu. Spacious rooms, most with sea views and all en-suite. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilchrenan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchrenan House Hotel Oban
Kilchrenan House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing