We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic!”
Review of Kilchrenan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilchrenan House
Ranked #11 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

That hotel made our stay unique!! Oban is amazing but that hotel concluded our happiness! Amazing window area to the sea, best view ever, clean, cosy, great owners, excellent breakfast! Wish I can come back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElpinikiF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 340 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Oban. Oban itself was lovely and we found the people very friendly and welcoming. We were lucky to have some really good weather which made it even more enjoyable. What really made our trip to Oban brilliant was our stay at Kilchrenan House. Colin and Frances could not be more welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to help with my Mum who has some mobility problems. Both rooms we had were lovely and very comfortable but my parents room on the ground floor (room 15) was extra special with a big bay window looking out to sea. Breakfast was great with a lovely choice, so there was something for everyone. The service was always with a smile and there was a lovely atmosphere in the home which was largely due to the staff that work there. I would not hesitate to recommend this bed and breakfast and would love to return there one day very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

one of the most comfortable , clean and friendly bed and breakfasts i have the the joy of staying in every year .Jim and Margaret .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We have stayed at Kilchrenan annually now for 5 years and do so because it is of consistently high standard.Colin & Frances look after us very well from welcome drinks, to breakfasts, to recommendations for evening meals. We always try to book Room 15 on the ground floor for its size and the the view to the harbour & Kerrara. As a bonus we found a magic restaurant about 3 doors up at the Queens Hotel which has really good food,and is not expensive.

Room Tip: Go for 15 on the ground floor or 5 on the 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I stayed in room 12 at Kilchrenan House, it was a lovely room, spotlessly clean with breathtaking views.

I was given a warm and friendly welcome from the staff and owners. Breakfast was excellent with a great selection on offer.

Overall a truly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenni89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
1.1 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
832 reviews
0.0 km away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchrenan House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchrenan House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: ₹ 6,096 - ₹ 9,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilchrenan House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colin and Frances welcome all visitors to their elegant Victorian home combining modern comfort with a relaxing atmosphere. Extensive breakfast menu. Spacious rooms, most with sea views and all en-suite. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilchrenan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchrenan House Hotel Oban
Kilchrenan House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing