We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So handy for the ferry”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is ideal if you are getting off a ferry late in the evening - it took 4 minutes from driving off the ferry to parking up. We only stayed one night however the welcome and general service was ideal. Great views over the harbour too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomlondon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

We had an overnight stay on our way to the Scottish Islands for a special anniversary trip.

We stayed in Room 3 which is beautifully decorated and very in keeping with the age and style of the hotel.

The bathroom is small and gets very hot but the shower is good and there is enough room to manage comfortably.

We ate dinner in the hotel and couldn't recommend it highly enough. Every course (5) was tasty and of a high quality.

Service was flawless. All the staff were polite and unobtrusive but attentive.

We will definitely be back, hopefully soon!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GillianES31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to your visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Wonderful location, room was all we could ask for and restaurant exceeded all our expectations. The staff were very helpful and the bar was worth the visit. We will be sure to stop their in the future for our next Scottish adventure.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wanderer22153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

4 of us on a tour of Western Scotland. Last night before travelling South at the Manor House Hotel in Oban
Arrived on the ferry and the hotel is just up the hill around the corner overlooking the harbour. Magnificent setting, warm welcome. The ground floor room which we had requested was a little bit small but this was not typical of the hotel rooms elsewhere. . Beautiful public rooms and a warm welcome in the bar for cocktails.
Excellent dinner served immaculately. Leisurely Breakfast with lots of choice and good quality. A very good choice to conclude our visit to Scotland and will return. The young man who settled our account was even from Lincolnshire where I now reside and we could share cricketing memories although mine were considerably older than his
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Second stay . this is a lovely hotel .room 5 great views very clean , bed was so comfy. food is really good ate at hotel both nights. breakfast is good with lots to choose from. this is a super hotel if you like a peaceful stay and good food .have stayed in room 5 both times worth paying the extra

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wlm05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for writing. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 km away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
155 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
831 reviews
7.8 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
0.9 km away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: ₹ 9,365 - ₹ 14,864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing