We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples trip”
Review of Perle Oban Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perle Oban Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Perle. The rooms were small but lovely. Very comfortable bed. Towel racks are heated so watch your bum. This is an older hotel and has all the charm that comes with that. It is the perfect location to everything you might want to see. Several pubs and magnificent restaurants within a block or 2. Ferry terminal across the road. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Good location, right in the middle Oban. All things are within walking distance. Facilities in the hotel are satisfactory. WIFI is good. Hotel condition is new and clean. The breakfast is buffet which i would say is average. We did not eat at the hotel therefore unable to comment. All in all good hotel stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We had an elderly family member on holiday in Oban, who taken poorly and had to be collected and taken home. Having driven for 12 hours the Perle Oban Hotel where magnificent, the squeezed us in at the last minute and were just so helpful. The next time we go to Oban I know where we shall be staying.

Room Tip: Sea from rooms are the best, too see the sunset over the Isle of Mull is just so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bobmarks2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

They young man at reception was very welcoming. He showed us to the room and explained things gave us a map etc. We ate at the Brew company . Did not like the male waiter he did not know the menu , could not answer my questions regarding the meals without running back to the kitchen , and he came across as sarcastic . At breakfast ordered brown toast and tea immediately .My husband had already finished his breakfast and still waiting. A polish female waitress I asked about it .Stated I have been waiting for ages , her reaction was to start using her language so felt quite insulted ! She disappeared and never came back. Another young male waiter arrived and Thanked us for coming to breakfast. He was the one who took my order for the brown toast and tea initially so finally it was sorted. We did not like the customer service . The room was smelling musty which started my asthma off There is no car parking , took us ages to locate where we could park which was like 10 minutes down the road at the ferry car park .And had a ton of heavy luggage to walk back with .Cost 5 pounds for 24hr car parking. So did not enjoy the experience and should have stuck with my original booking elsewhere . We were on a road trip from NZ and paid 259 NZ dollars to stay here. The same price it cost for us to stay at a castle in Northumberland which did get a perfect score from me. I think more staff training is required .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wittsNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perle_Oban, Guest Relations Manager at Perle Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear wittsNz,

I am sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing time. It is absolutely not our usual standard to have our staff seem sarcastic or rude. I will make sure to speak to them and get to the bottom of it. Although I am glad to hear that it was resolved.

Regarding the room smelling musty, I'm not sure how this could be the case, we have't ever had this issue but we would have changed your room immediately if you had informed us that it was making you feel uncomfortable.

We do not have our own carpark due to the central location but there are lots of carparks very close to us - 1 minute or 2 minute walk away which we list on our website.

If you would like to discuss your issues any further please contact me directly nina@perlehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We stayed here overnight whilst completing the last leg of the NC500 and weren't disappointed. It has recently been refurbished and so the rooms and en-suites are to a very high standard. They have a lovely restaurant and coffee shop/bar that have great cocktails. The only downside for us was lack of staff available at breakfast the following morning. Breakfast was served until 10:00 and we ventured down at 09:15 to find most of the tables still full of dirty pots, we were waiting around for the bain maries to be replenished with hot food and no one came to ask us if we wanted tea or coffee.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a great view, but can be noisy from traffic and revellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 19dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perle_Oban, Guest Relations Manager at Perle Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear 19dad,

Thank you for your lovely 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We were short staffed for a short period of time at breakfast so I'm sorry that you did not get to experience the usual standard of service. We hope you will the next time you visit the hotel as we hope you will return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.0 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.9 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,814 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
7.2 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
0.8 km away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perle Oban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perle Oban Hotel

Address: Station Square, Oban PA34 5RT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: ₹ 8,990 - ₹ 15,764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Perle Oban Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Perle Oban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perle Oban Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing