We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning stay in room 4”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunheanish Guest House
Ranked #1 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Stunning stay in room 4”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A friend recommended us the Dunheanish B&B and we were told to book room 4 in advance as the room was supossed to be stunning with a great view over Oban.
On arrival we were welcomed by William (the owner) who was very nice and a real gentlemen.
He showed us room 4 which we had booked in advance and what can we say?! It was stunning. The room was huge with a lovely bed and the view over Oban was just OMG.
The room was really old fashioned but in a good way and we think you could easily spent a whole week in this B&B.
We arrived with some smoked fish from the Inverawe Smokery and asked William if we could have that for breakfast and this was no problem at all. The breakfast was very nice and plenty and because we brought parts of our own breakfast we were given a little discount on the room rate.

The B&B is located uphill (underneath the McCraigs Tower) and people with disabilities could have problems getting up. Everyone else should be just fine.

The car park is very narrow but everyone who knows their car should be able to get in and out. If you are too scared to damage your car, just drive up the road there is a car park next to the monument.

We can highly recommend this B&B to everybody and we will tell everyone about it and will return if we consider coming back to Oban.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schnuk-Schnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    43
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
55
368
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
schweiz
Level Contributor
255 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I was one of the first reviewer shortly after Dunheanish opened up their doors to their guests. Going back to Oban we visit the House whenever William has space for us. Rm number 4 is hard to get, but meanwhile we stayed in no 5, several times and its also a great room with a fantastic view.

William is the perfect host. Quiet, nice and an absolut Gentlemen. Breakfast is fantastic, the rooms are still clean and tastefully decoratet. Not only tea, coffe, milk and sweets are served. Fresh tulips also welcomed us in our rooms. We have visited a few hotels in Scotland but none of them comes even close to Dunheanish. Its a B&B, a private home which offers room for guests. Some people might forget th original idea behind it. The shower maybe doesnt have the strongest power - but you get clean, its nice and warm and if this is the only thing to complain I am a happy person :) Once up there, you get honored by a stunning view over Oban and Kerrera.

We've travelled many places and stayed in many B&Bs but Dunheanish was and is one of the best we've visited.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquamarina75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I have stayed here a few times now and have to say it is the best place in Oban, the views are stunning, the breakfast is delish and the rooms are clean and comfy.

Cant wait to go back in May!

P.S The owners are so friendly which makes everything more enjoyable, I would say staying here is better than staying in a 5* hotel.

Room Tip: The double four poster, oban bay view room is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarriedinNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranent, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

made to feel very welcome by william and linda from the minute we got there. They were very helpful with local restaurants and bars and places to see. The room(4)was very spacious,clean and great views would recommend. Breakfast was superb and plenty of it. Would recommend any one to stay here.

Room Tip: room 4 very large great views of Oban bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Wow What A Fantastic Guest House. Beautiful Room Could Not Have Wished For Better. William And Linda Were Excellent Hosts. Would Highly Recomend.

Julia And Stephen Browning
London

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia_lawrence186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.9 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.4 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
1.0 km away
Barriemore Guest House
0.3 km away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunheanish Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunheanish Guest House

Property: Dunheanish Guest House
Address: Dun Heanish Ardconnel Road, Oban PA34 5DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,625 - ₹ 6,307
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunheanish Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
William and Linda would like to welcome you to Dunheanish Guest House, one of Oban's newest guest houses, an elegant detached Victorian villa beside Oban's landmark, McCaig’s Tower with stunning panoramic views overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding islands of Kerrera, Lismore and Mull. Dunheanish is the perfect base for anyone who wants to have the town center 5 mins away, with easy access to shops, restaurants and the Caledonian MacBrayne ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunheanish Guest House Hotel Oban
Dunheanish Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing