We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice little place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Emma_F_Su...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice little place to stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here for 4 nights with my friend and our 2 dogs. We stayed in the one bedroom cottage which was small and clean. It was a good location as a base - close to Campbeltown, Southend and the lovely Machrihanish gold club (lovely food and nice beach).

The cottage itself was small and basic, comfortable and clean. The kitchen area has what you need - fridge with freezer compartment, microwave, oven and hob. The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean - as were the pillows and quilts underneath the linen.

The living area was small but pleasant and the showroom was small but clean. If we had been tall strapping lads the shower may have been a bit of a squeeze so something to consider if you are looking for a luxurious bathroom and sizeable shower.

Overall I think this is a great little place to stay for a few days as a base. If you are looking for a 'luxurious home' where you can spread out for a week or so then this may not be the place for you, but I think the price and description adequately reflects this. The value for money was fair.

The caretakers were very helpful and friendly and we felt comfortable leaving our well behaved dogs at the cottage alone for a couple of hours after their walk when we needed to pop out without them.

I would stay here again when visiting Kintyre.

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thanks for your review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glengarn0...
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Chillout Location”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Fantastic rural location, loads of room to do whatever you do, great facilities, even had some cows looking in my window in the evening.

If you want a place to relax and chill out, then look no further. Great facilities throughout, no complaints whatsoever.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility of the property location
Liked least: Very minor point, however the road leading up to it was a bit rough
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your comments, we are glad you had a good stay and enjoyed the setting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy l
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was in a really peaceful spot, close to beautiful beaches, the Mull, and Campbelltown (for necessary provisions.) Very good value for money, the cottage was comfortable and very cosy- it had everything we needed. We took our golden retriever with us and he loved it - especially the practically deserted beaches. Would recommend a trip to Gigha - quiet bays and lots of sandy coves. Not far from the cottage we were lucky enough to see a sea otter feeding and playing for half an hour or more.

Date of stay: July 2016
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Glad you had a good stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norevhora
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Horrible service , Avoid at all cost . Waste of money”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband booked for four nights with our family . Two adults and two teenagers. He used booking . Com for finding this place . He payed in full , looking forward to our peaceful quite holiday .I will post all correspondent with booking. Com and hotel management to let people decide. My husband even emailed a video to booking . com to show them the shower problem which they acknowledge, Trip advisor does not allow video post but I am happy to email it to anyone who wants to see it . My advice to you is to avoid these cottages by a mile if you don't want to be ripped off . We left the next day , after booking . Com advised us that we could leave and they would request a refund . Now we are being told other wise . we plan to take this to court to reclaim our original amount plus damages when Initially we only wanted our 3 nights refund .

P.s you only get access to hot water for shower for a limited time during which there but when there is hot water (boiling ) , you cant get cold water to make it use able . Please make sure you read the fine print as it states nothing about the hot water situation.

The phone number given to the hotel is rarely answered plus care taker only shows up when she pleases .

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: management
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Sadly Mr Farzand and group would not be welcome at Kilchrist in future. Having told our caretaker everything was fine, they rang booking.com with an alleged complaint re the water. Guests can of course have showers at any time. Booking.com asked our caretaker to check, which she did, and they had turned the hot water heater off - when she tried to explain the system, one of the party walked off - clearly they had their own agenda. They paid the minimum price for up to 4 nights and left at 11pm the second night, having called on her at 8am and 11pm that day (on the second occasion being rude to her). Booking.com have apologised to us for the problems. Please judge from other reviews!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeroenSpe...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Peaceful, but some room for improvement”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in late July. We thought the price was excellent for that time of year, and pretty much reflects the location and slight issues with the property. We stayed in Campbell Cottage, It wasn't as cosy as it appeared on arrival, as, even in late July it was cold inside, and we actually used heaters, so I think the place needs insulation in the ceiling and under the floor, (which would significantly cut the heating bills). And the bed was a little small for us. The shower was the main issue, as, on the first night we couldn't even turn it off, so had to sleep through a night of water running all night, in the morning i finally managed to stop it, but it was a problem the whole time we are there, i would recommend the owners update the shower. The place is easy enough to find, providing you read the directions carefully, though a satellite or ordinance survey map included with the welcome pack may be useful. The cottage had a small singe bedroom and a small double bedroom, with a separate open-plan kitchen-living room with a sofa, the kitchen was stocked with basic cooking appliances, and a microwave, which was fine for our purposes, though some cooking oil, and basic condiments would have helped, as its always a pain having to buy a 500ml bottle of olive oil, or a bag of sugar or salt/pepper, to only use a fraction of it. . .. We loved the rural location, and the lovely sloping vantage of the property, you can climb up the hill behind and get amazing views of the surrounding countryside, so it would suit those who want to get away from all. Be aware you WONT get 3G ANYWHERE in Kintire, the whole peninsular is data-free, though you can get wifi in Campbeltown at some pubs. We had a car, which was useful, as the nearest store is in Campbeltown, about 3 miles away, though cyclists wouldn't find the location problematic. Its close to Southend Beach, which has a nice sandy beach and a golf course, spoiled a bit by the caravan park overlooking the beach, but a lovely pace for a family/couple to have a nice day out. There is also a lovely quaint restaurant called Muneroy Stores and Tea Rooms, which is worth a visit ! We found that after the first 2 days, we had pretty much done the area and ended up driving up to the top of the peninsular, to Oban, Tarbert etc. where you can get better ferry connections to the islands, and more history etc. however, it was a good base for us.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thanks for your comments and we are glad you had a good time and enjoyed the peaceful setting. I'm afraid it has been a cooler than usual summer to date and some heating would be needed by most people. (Loft is well insulated, cottage warms up well) Future guests: there are no known issues with any showers etc so please if you struggle to use an appliance, let our on site caretakers know, they will be happy to advise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.