We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic setting; peaceful & well equipped...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JeroenSpe...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Peaceful, but some room for improvement”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in late July. We thought the price was excellent for that time of year, and pretty much reflects the location and slight issues with the property. We stayed in Campbell Cottage, It wasn't as cosy as it appeared on arrival, as, even in late July it was cold inside, and we actually used heaters, so I think the place needs insulation in the ceiling and under the floor, (which would significantly cut the heating bills). And the bed was a little small for us. The shower was the main issue, as, on the first night we couldn't even turn it off, so had to sleep through a night of water running all night, in the morning i finally managed to stop it, but it was a problem the whole time we are there, i would recommend the owners update the shower. The place is easy enough to find, providing you read the directions carefully, though a satellite or ordinance survey map included with the welcome pack may be useful. The cottage had a small singe bedroom and a small double bedroom, with a separate open-plan kitchen-living room with a sofa, the kitchen was stocked with basic cooking appliances, and a microwave, which was fine for our purposes, though some cooking oil, and basic condiments would have helped, as its always a pain having to buy a 500ml bottle of olive oil, or a bag of sugar or salt/pepper, to only use a fraction of it. . .. We loved the rural location, and the lovely sloping vantage of the property, you can climb up the hill behind and get amazing views of the surrounding countryside, so it would suit those who want to get away from all. Be aware you WONT get 3G ANYWHERE in Kintire, the whole peninsular is data-free, though you can get wifi in Campbeltown at some pubs. We had a car, which was useful, as the nearest store is in Campbeltown, about 3 miles away, though cyclists wouldn't find the location problematic. Its close to Southend Beach, which has a nice sandy beach and a golf course, spoiled a bit by the caravan park overlooking the beach, but a lovely pace for a family/couple to have a nice day out. There is also a lovely quaint restaurant called Muneroy Stores and Tea Rooms, which is worth a visit ! We found that after the first 2 days, we had pretty much done the area and ended up driving up to the top of the peninsular, to Oban, Tarbert etc. where you can get better ferry connections to the islands, and more history etc. however, it was a good base for us.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thanks for your comments and we are glad you had a good time and enjoyed the peaceful setting. I'm afraid it has been a cooler than usual summer to date and some heating would be needed by most people. (Loft is well insulated, cottage warms up well) Future guests: there are no known issues with any showers etc so please if you struggle to use an appliance, let our on site caretakers know, they will be happy to advise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting; peaceful & well equipped accommodation”
Reviewed 18 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I was a returning visitor to Kilchrist Cottages for work purposes; my return gives the first endorsement to this accommodation.

The cottages are old but tastefully decorated maintaining their individual character. I stayed in Campbell Cottage which enjoys stunning views across the fields and of Kilchrist Castle. For walkers, nature lovers, cyclists... this place is heaven. The scenery is exemplary and the cottages are perfectly placed for anyone wanting to explore. Campbeltown is around 3 miles away so this is rural, but by car, Campbeltown is 10mins or Southend and the rugged, beautiful Kintyre coast is 15mins.

Access to the cottages is via a farm lane and through a field and note this is often habituated by cattle or sheep: a great way to get close to nature!

The cottage itself has two nice bedrooms (a double and a single), a well equipped kitchen combined with small sitting room, TV & DVD player. A comfortable bed and not a single bit of light pollution at night! Everything you need is present and there are plenty of heaters in each room (it can get very cold).

I highly recommend the location and the accommodation to anyone who likes a quiet, peaceful break with a stunning backdrop.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and tranquil setting
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2019
Glad you had a good stay with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The McLeod cottage for 2 with our dog for a weekend and were lucky enough to have some sunshine in August.!
The steps to the cottage were difficult with luggage - it's a pity we couldn't use the gate at the property?

3 star accommodation was what we paid for so it was fine - cheaper and more spacious than a hotel. We used it at as a base to tour and would have been happy to stay for a week. Would definitely go back, even though it was a bit remote (3 miles from the nearest town). In saying that it was peaceful and relaxing so no complaints.

Date of stay: September 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2013
So glad you had a good time. We do suggest people use the gate rather than the steps to unload, but maybe that wasn't clear, will check our instructions, thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann S
Ballygrant, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

On arriving in the dark is was easily found but lighting not great for unloading the luggage. Also larger vehicles would not be able to unload at the door of the accomodation there for having to negotiate a very small impractical stone steps at a great hight to our accomodation also unlight. The accomodation down stairs was very well equiped and modern but the stair to the bedrooms & bathroom was what I would call concrete steep steps into a tower. Even for the able bodied I felt it was dangerous also trying to take a suitcase up the stairs would be impossible. The upstairs even though comfortable could do with modernisaton. I felt that it could have better lighting outside & better parking facilities I had a 4x4 but due to weather conditions the parking area turned into a 'mud bath' Gates heavy to open & close. I would recommend for small kids due to stairs & access outside.

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely Setting
Liked least: Access to carpark & stairs in property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2012
Thankyou for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the cottage and the setting. We will look into the question you raise re lighting on arrival, thankyou, and make sure our (new) caretaker is aware of this. Sounds like it was wild weather and arriving in the dark in this country place can be challenging - we do not advise using the steps for access in the dark, this can easily be avoided by walking round the other way.
Inside -the 17th century stone staircase is part of the character and history of Angus, has a firm handrail and we always make sure that people know about it, in case of mobility difficulties or small children. We have had no complaints about carrying luggage upstairs to date, and have done that ourselves on a number of occasions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessari...
Balgach, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Thankyou for your thoughtful comments, we are glad you enjoyed the cottage and surroundings. We are working on a possible affordable way of getting wifi inside the cottages, the thick stone walls are presenting a problem!.. And we agree that the best value is for a longer stay of 4+ nights. Glueckliche Weiterreise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.