We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lookout Cottage - Davaar Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kintyre Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kintyre Cottages
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lookout Cottage - Davaar Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Spent a delightful Spring week on Davaar Island in the Lookout Cottage. Beautiful location. The Lookout is a World War II lookout station that has been thoughtfully converted into excellent cosy accommodation.

As the name suggests, the views are breathtaking. Peace & quiet, and wake up to goats grazing outside the window. Great variety of bird life. Otters leaving their breakfast of sea urchins on the slip. Fishing boats going in & out of Campbeltown Loch.

I had been looking forward to a few rainy days where I could catch up on my reading in comfort. Instead, the weather was glorious for the entire period, with views across the Firth of Clyde to Ayrshire & beyond; can't have everything!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinuachdrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Absolutely idyllic location. Clean accommodation. efficient booking and helpful welcome upon arrival. The very attractive new owner/manager was an added bonus!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Beautiful cottage in an excellent location yards from and overlooking the sea. Views to Davaar, Arran and the Ailsa Craig.

The cottage was well provided for, the highlight being the cosy living room with a stove.

The cottage is an excellent spot to study the bird and aquatic life. Great Northern Divers, Seals and otters were seen.

Another plus is the close proximity 3-4 miles to the town of Campbeltown which is of great historical interest. - The town at the beginning of the last century had the highest per capita income in Scotland from Distilleries, Fishing, Coal Mining etc. This has resulted in buildings of stature and fine architecture. Local golf courses are also a great attraction at Southend and Machrihanish..

The town is currently going through a resurgence with a large amount of finance being spent on the refurbishment of a large hotel with a parallel hotel at close by Machrihanish going through a similar rebuild.

There is also a fast passenger summer ferry to Ireland.

Taking everything in I wholeheartedly recommend the cottage and the area.

Room Tip: There are a number of cottages in the estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonaldDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed for a week in the New Orleans cottage in August 2010 (altough the date drop down doesn't go back that far? . We were the very first people to stay in the cottage following its extensive renovation, which prior to its refurbishment programme had laid empty for several years. We felt very special to be the first people in decades to experience the wonderful atmosphere and surroundings connected with New Orleans cottage.

Although the external grounds were not quite complete (the only down side - hence we received a slightly discounted rate) we simply loved the cottage, its stunning secluded location right on the coast, the quality furnishings and decor and the homely feeling made it a wonderful relaxing place to get away from the hussle and bustle of city life. Our days were spent walking along the coast line and our evenings were spent staring out to sea totally mesmorised by the sealife and wildlife..

New Orleans cottage is the perfect gettaway, and the best bonus, we could take our dogs. The only downside for us, is the price, however, the location is idyllic so can understand the premium rate. Sadly we cannot afford to make regular trips which would be our desire. We will definitely go back - perhaps in low season.

Highly recommended.

John, Julie, Oscar & Tobi

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MammaPig, Manager at Kintyre Cottages, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Hi - many thanks for your glowing review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed New Orleans Cottage despite the fact that it was so newly renovated back then. The garden is now completed, a fence to keep dogs in/livestock out, and plenty of spots outside to sit and enjoy the views and general peace & quiet etc. We would obviously welcome you (and your dogs) back (contact me about rates!) so please do get in touch if you fancy a trip our way again, many thanks once again - Kintyre Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We just has two weeks in the New Orleans cottage south of Campbeltown,booked with Scottish Country Cottages.
It was idillic,remote peaceful with stunning scenery,the cottage was really well renovated a few years ago and was lacking in nothing it was quite pricey.We were blessed with a fortnight of sunshine which was a real bonus. Probably wouldn't rush back as Campbeltown was very ordinary and we didn't eat out once,probaby because we loved sitting watching the wildlife from our own cottage.The other down side was the golf was very expensive two nearby courses were over £70 per round,Dunaverty was less at £27 but you had to dodge the free range cows.
You wont regret booking this one!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
30.7 km away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
4.2 km away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
16.8 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
3.5 km away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
11.9 km away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintyre Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintyre Cottages

Property: Kintyre Cottages
Address: Mull of Kintyre, Campbeltown PA28 6RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Campbeltown
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kintyre Cottages is a family-run enterprise comprising of 9 self-catering holiday cottages on Kildalloig Estate, a 4,000 acre farm on The Mull of Kintyre. These cottages provide the perfect place to relax, unwind and enjoy all that the estate and surrounding area have to offer. Set against the rugged beauty of the sea and the wild landscape of the Kintyre peninsula, Kintyre Cottages provide an idyllic sanctuary, offering modern amenities and historic coastal charm. Surrounded by unparalleled natural beauty and sea views, each self catering cottage is comfortably furnished and provides wonderful character and history. For families Kintyre cottages provide the classic Scottish seaside holiday spot – with an abundant number of pristine sandy beaches (see activities) all within 5-15 minutes drive. All of the cottages have been thoughtfully and comfortably arranged to perfectly accommodate visiting couples, honeymooners, families, golfers, hikers, birdwatchers and other visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kintyre Cottages Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing