We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,525)
Filter reviews
1,527 results
Traveller rating
458
587
286
131
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
587
286
131
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiessteam rooman upgradeboth morningsrelaxation roomdalhousie restaurantfirst morningcooked breakfastbirthday treatshort breakkippersbroughty ferryrelaxing breakcarnoustie golf courseenjoyable stayan overnight stayhotel is lovely
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 1,527 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Stayed last weekend at Carnoustie for our anniversary as we had been there before. Our bathroom looked like it had a new sink and there were new tiles however, the new tiles had been stuck over the old tiles and did not match the worktop or the old tiles! Looked a bit bizarre. I am hoping it is still to be refurbished properly. The bar is supposed to be refurbished but the sofas have seen better days and don't match the décor. We had a meal in the bar one night but I was disappointed as the plate was really hot but the food on it was cold. Staff were great but disappointed with our visit this time round.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for your review. We note and appreciate each of your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Weekend stay in February for family birthday. 2 x double rooms.
Rooms were large and newly refurbished. Nice decor, fresh and comfortable.
Very comfortable bed. Thermostat to control temperature of room. En-suite facilities are great - bath shower with two shower heads. One normal shower head and one the size of a dinner plate which gave a brilliant shower. Ample hot water and large bath sheet size towels. Our room was overlooking the car park. Obviously a view over the golf course would be more appealing, but considering what we paid for our rooms, there was nothing to complain about.
While the room had ample low lighting from lamp(s), we did find the lack of a bright light meant we found it hard to read in the room. However, as most people choose to read on e-readers now, it is unlikely to be a problem.

Room Tip: Might choose to have a room overlooking the golf course, but nothing wrong with being on the opposite side.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTricia501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for posting your review and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We stayed at this hotel last night. The reception staff and restaurant staff were friendly and approachable. The room was a standard chain hotel room really, nothing particularly exciting but nothing awful either. The room was absolutely freezing when we arrived but fortunately it had a while to heat up while we went down for dinner. We ate in Calder’s Bistro - the menu was varied and had something to please all pallets and the starters and mains were delicious. Pudding was a bit of a disappointment. My partner ordered profiteroles with a chocolate and Drambuie sauce and I ordered lemon tart. The profiteroles looked lovely but the chocolate sauce had no Drambuie flavour at all. My lemon tart would have had Mary Berry in tears! It was soggy on the bottom, no more than 1cm thick and it had an omelette-like texture. A very disappointing end to what had been a lovely meal...

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kathrynlindsay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you very much for your comments each of which we note.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Wife and I received a gift voucher for Bespokehotels.com and although not far from the Carnoustie Golf Hotel decided to try it. Chose a valentines break which comprised bed and breakfast in a junior Suite, prosecco and chocolates and £25 each towards dinner. Warm welcome at the hotel and the suite was nice with a view over the 1st tee and 18th green.
Dinner was in Calder’s Bistro and the food, macaroni for the wife and my sirloin were both excellent as were the sweets, sticky toffee pudding and ice cream respectively. Equally good at breakfast with a good selection of hot and cold food in pleasant surroundings and the service at both dinner and breakfast was friendly and efficient.
Have stayed at the Old Course Hotel in the past and although more luxurious was matched on many fronts by the Carnoustie hotel particularly for the genuinely warm, friendly and professional staff in all areas.

Shame however; had to knock off one star as the suite on arrival was absolutely freezing to the extent that we had to keep our coats on. Eventually went to the bar for a couple of drinks to let the radiator in the room heat-up. Not so bad on our return however the sitting area of the suite remained very cold, not helped by the cold draught coming from the top of the balcony doors. Rooms should be heated in anticipation of guests arriving.
That aside we enjoyed our break and would recommend the hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Graememac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you very much for posting your review and comments which we note and appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed for two nights during the kids half term. Holly at reception was lovely got 7s checked in quickly and even gave us a call once we were in our room to make sure everything was ok. She also organised dinner reservations for us at a different hotel. Room was clean and spacious, the shower was brilliant, nice and powerful. We dined in the restaurant and couldn’t fault the food or the service. Breakfast was very varied and there was so much choice. Thanks also have to go to Steven from the restaurant for putting the rugby on for us to watch! The pool was clean, a bit smaller than we expected but the jacuzzi soon made up for it. The only moan we had was a couple of the members telling our kids they shouldn’t be swimming across the pool ( the pool was nearly empty and they weren’t getting in anyone’s way). We would definitely return and had a lovely break away. Was good value for money

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review and comments which we appreciate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews