We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish Restaurant in Aberdeen”
Review of The Mariner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mariner Hotel
Ranked #36 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Fish Restaurant in Aberdeen”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Recently had a meal at the Mariner for my Step-son's birthday - the hotel were aware of the occasion and made his birthday meal a special one!

On arrival we were shown to the most magnificent glass topped carved table with a bottle of fizzy thrown in. Michael served our table and his natural charm and bonhomme made us all feel most welcome and relaxed.

Now to the food - I had Lobster Laksa on a cucumber salad and I have to say it was one of the best starers I have ever had. My complements to the chef who got the balance of flavour, spice and texture spot on. Next I had Dover Sole italienne ( a butter sauce with fresh tomatoes and olives) it also comes with another sauce but I forget what it was - prawn and something I think. Again this was perfectly cooked and given the size of the fish, at £19 cheap as chips. The Key Lime pie was next - given the portion sizes I can only imagine it was the excellent cooking that made me go for desert, cause I'm not a big eater. Again the lightness of the filling was excellent, albeit I would have liked a little more zestiness.

To finish my review I will compare the Marnier with the other well known fish restaurant in Aberdeen, the Silver Darling - there is no comparison. I have eaten at the Silver Darling a few times and the Mariner wins hands down, for quality of food, abience, service and being an Aberdonian - value for money. If you love your sea food give it a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    50
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
27
42
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Charming hotel that always offers a warm welcome , friendly helpfull staff and a good menu whether in the restuarant or a bar meal always my first choice when visiting Aberdeen usually on a weekly basis

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here by accident after being 'bumped' out of another hotel. We weren't quite sure what to expect but this small/medium sized hotel ticked all the boxes for us. The bar food was excellent, the bar had a good atmosphere, they were very teenager friendly, the location was close to the city (5 mins in a cab) and the staff very friendly. The superior room we had was clean and spacious and the room rates were very good value. We'll stay here again.....

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Owner at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
Thanks for your lovely review.
there was quite a bit of 'bumping' went on that weekend with the Walker Cup - glad you were happy with said 'bump'!
(also happy that the boys won too!)
hope to see you and the family again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

stayed for one night in the suite which is the largest room. nice interior, very clean and comfortable bed. would highly recommend. staff are very friendly. food at bar and restaurant was nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yyc_cyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Manager at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
It’s fantastic to hear that you had the opportunity to sample the menus in our bar and restaurant, and that you enjoyed both.
We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and we hope you will come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We're just back from a stay at the Mariner. We were in Aberdeen to see 'We will rock you' at HMT. The hotel was easy to find and only a few minutes by car from the city centre and there is a huge car park which is free! We had booked by e-mail which was responded to quickly and check-in was just as efficient. We were shown to our room within minutes of arriving on a Saturday afternoon.
Our room was beautiful. It was a suite with it's own entrance at the side of the property. The outside door opened onto a kitchen area which had a microwave, large countertop fridge, kettle and coffee machine. It was also well stocked with lots of tea and coffee including filter coffee for the machine as well as fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge. We wished we were staying for longer to take full advantage of it!
Off this room was an amazing bathroom with a roll top bath (hubby was not as impressed as I but I gazed longingly at it a couple of times), there was also a walk in/wet room type shower area with the biggest shower head I had ever seen dropping from the ceiling, it was amazing. There was also a generous variety and amount of toiletry items supplied.
The bedroom was also off the kitchen area and was huge! There was plenty of storage space as well as 2 seating areas (a sofa plus table and chairs). There was also all mod cons - flat screen tv and hairdryer etc. It was beautifully decorated and quite luxurious with lots of original features (eg high bay windows) as well as stylish fabrics, lamps and a gorgeous mirror behind the bed (couldn't have fit it in the suitcase if I had wanted to!). We slept fantastically well even though the bedroom faced onto the front of the building and it was a Saturday night. We were not disturbed by any traffic and slept right through, it seemed a quiet area of town. The bed was at least a kingsize and firm but comfortable. There was also plenty of spare bedding although we didn't need it.
We had planned to get the bus along to Union St to go the HMT but it was a lovely warm evening so walked. It's easy to walk along Great Western Road into Holburn St and we got to the top of Union St in 15 mins. If you wanted to get the bus, there are stops in both directions right outside the hotel (we worked out a 16 or 19 would take us to Union St and the stop for the hotel was Salisbury Terrace).
We also had great service from the staff both in the bar after we got back from the show and at breakfast. There was plenty of choice and we had fruit and cereal before a full scottish and toast! The food was fresh and tasty but not greasy and there was alternative cooked options. The coffee was also good (my indicator of whether I like a place or not!) and re-filled frequently.
Check out was as quick and easy as check in and we were on our way home unfortunately!
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It exceeded our expectations for a quick over night stay and we would stay here again rather than use the overpriced chain hotels closer to the centre. The place was also spotless which is priceless as far as I'm concerned and not always the case! I don't know what the other accommodation is like but if you're lucky enough to get the suite or want a special room for a special occasion, you've found the right place! I would book this hotel again in a heartbeat.
(Thanks for reading this long review, don't normally write them but wanted to do this place justice! Hope it helps!)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cclovegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Manager at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Wow! What a review! It’s really rewarding to read such a fantastic write up and we are truly proud that you had such a positive experience in our hotel. Its great news that you found our online booking service so efficient and our staff so friendly, as a small family run business we pride ourselves on this point! I hope that next time you stay with us you will get a chance to sample our extensive bar and restaurant menus; we do daily specials and a fixed price menu runs through the week offering locally sourced, cook to order dishes every day. We hope you will be returning to the Mariner again in the near future so we can impress you again with the services we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.1 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#17 of 65 in Aberdeen
814 reviews
0.9 km away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
335 reviews
3.1 km away
Aberdeen Northern Hotel
Aberdeen Northern Hotel
#58 of 65 in Aberdeen
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#45 of 65 in Aberdeen
642 reviews
1.9 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.9 km away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mariner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mariner Hotel

Property: The Mariner Hotel
Address: 349 Great Western Road, Aberdeen AB10 6NW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,628 - ₹ 11,386
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mariner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mariner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mariner Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing