We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mariner Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
US$ 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Skene House Rosemount(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$ 73
US$ 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 96
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$ 58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 144
US$ 133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 67
US$ 64
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 81
US$ 77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 92
US$ 82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palm Court Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
US$ 62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Aberdeen Central(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
US$ 38
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
92
53
17
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
53
17
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat western roadrestaurant for yearsgreat pub foodthis family run hotelacross roadcullen skinklarge bedrooma large car parkpopular with localsfluffy towelsthree coursesbed and breakfastsuperior roomtea coffee facilitieson arrivalsitting areaspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Charming hotel that always offers a warm welcome , friendly helpfull staff and a good menu whether in the restuarant or a bar meal always my first choice when visiting Aberdeen usually on a weekly basis

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here by accident after being 'bumped' out of another hotel. We weren't quite sure what to expect but this small/medium sized hotel ticked all the boxes for us. The bar food was excellent, the bar had a good atmosphere, they were very teenager friendly, the location was close to the city (5 mins in a cab) and the staff very friendly. The superior room we had was clean and spacious and the room rates were very good value. We'll stay here again.....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank george a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Owner at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2011

Thanks for your lovely review.
there was quite a bit of 'bumping' went on that weekend with the Walker Cup - glad you were happy with said 'bump'!
(also happy that the boys won too!)
hope to see you and the family again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

stayed for one night in the suite which is the largest room. nice interior, very clean and comfortable bed. would highly recommend. staff are very friendly. food at bar and restaurant was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyc_cyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Manager at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
It’s fantastic to hear that you had the opportunity to sample the menus in our bar and restaurant, and that you enjoyed both.
We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and we hope you will come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We're just back from a stay at the Mariner. We were in Aberdeen to see 'We will rock you' at HMT. The hotel was easy to find and only a few minutes by car from the city centre and there is a huge car park which is free! We had booked by e-mail which was responded to quickly and check-in was just as efficient. We were shown to our room within minutes of arriving on a Saturday afternoon.
Our room was beautiful. It was a suite with it's own entrance at the side of the property. The outside door opened onto a kitchen area which had a microwave, large countertop fridge, kettle and coffee machine. It was also well stocked with lots of tea and coffee including filter coffee for the machine as well as fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge. We wished we were staying for longer to take full advantage of it!
Off this room was an amazing bathroom with a roll top bath (hubby was not as impressed as I but I gazed longingly at it a couple of times), there was also a walk in/wet room type shower area with the biggest shower head I had ever seen dropping from the ceiling, it was amazing. There was also a generous variety and amount of toiletry items supplied.
The bedroom was also off the kitchen area and was huge! There was plenty of storage space as well as 2 seating areas (a sofa plus table and chairs). There was also all mod cons - flat screen tv and hairdryer etc. It was beautifully decorated and quite luxurious with lots of original features (eg high bay windows) as well as stylish fabrics, lamps and a gorgeous mirror behind the bed (couldn't have fit it in the suitcase if I had wanted to!). We slept fantastically well even though the bedroom faced onto the front of the building and it was a Saturday night. We were not disturbed by any traffic and slept right through, it seemed a quiet area of town. The bed was at least a kingsize and firm but comfortable. There was also plenty of spare bedding although we didn't need it.
We had planned to get the bus along to Union St to go the HMT but it was a lovely warm evening so walked. It's easy to walk along Great Western Road into Holburn St and we got to the top of Union St in 15 mins. If you wanted to get the bus, there are stops in both directions right outside the hotel (we worked out a 16 or 19 would take us to Union St and the stop for the hotel was Salisbury Terrace).
We also had great service from the staff both in the bar after we got back from the show and at breakfast. There was plenty of choice and we had fruit and cereal before a full scottish and toast! The food was fresh and tasty but not greasy and there was alternative cooked options. The coffee was also good (my indicator of whether I like a place or not!) and re-filled frequently.
Check out was as quick and easy as check in and we were on our way home unfortunately!
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It exceeded our expectations for a quick over night stay and we would stay here again rather than use the overpriced chain hotels closer to the centre. The place was also spotless which is priceless as far as I'm concerned and not always the case! I don't know what the other accommodation is like but if you're lucky enough to get the suite or want a special room for a special occasion, you've found the right place! I would book this hotel again in a heartbeat.
(Thanks for reading this long review, don't normally write them but wanted to do this place justice! Hope it helps!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cclovegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Manager at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Wow! What a review! It’s really rewarding to read such a fantastic write up and we are truly proud that you had such a positive experience in our hotel. Its great news that you found our online booking service so efficient and our staff so friendly, as a small family run business we pride ourselves on this point! I hope that next time you stay with us you will get a chance to sample our extensive bar and restaurant menus; we do daily specials and a fixed price menu runs through the week offering locally sourced, cook to order dishes every day. We hope you will be returning to the Mariner again in the near future so we can impress you again with the services we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I have been travelling to Aberdeen every two years since 2002 to attend training and I always stay at the Mariner Hotel . They have the best seafood in their Atlantis Restaurant and all the staff are friendly and efficient . The atmosphere and quality of the rooms and restaurant are great . There are a lot of local people patronizing the restaurant and bar . I worked at a 411 room hotel for 11 years as Chief Engineer so I know a good hotel and restaurant when I see one which is why when I changed employers I insisted on being booked at this hotel .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PFouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plato42, Manager at The Mariner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

It’s especially good to get such a fantastic review from someone who has worked in the trade and you are correct to point out that we do have a large number of local people patronizing our Cape Horn bar and Atlantis restaurant which is a good sign of quality and something I always look for when I travel! We are really proud of the range of fresh, local seafood we provide in our Atlantis restaurant but would love to add that we also have a wide range of other options, all locally sourced and cooked from fresh; Aberdeen Angus steaks, of course, vegetarian options and many daily specials utilising the very best of what is in season. We also run a fixed price menu from Monday to Friday so we have an option to suit every palate and pocket.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Aberdeen and give great thanks to you for taking the time to let other people know how much you enjoy our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews