We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Exchange

The Exchange
Ranked #8 of 173 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Irish, European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Exchange Restaurant and Wine Bar is a family friendly, informal restaurant located centrally near the Peace Bridge in the busy town centre. Established 10 years ago, we have become a well known attraction on the riverside. We serve a comprehensive range of good food, including vegetarian options, and quality wine. All of our food is locally sourced and freshly produced on the premises by professional chefs. The establishment has been awarded a Five Star hygiene rating.
Derry
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Popular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Exchange is a very popular restaurant in Derry city center. It's almost always busy and, with a no booking policy, there's always a 20-40 minute wait at the overpriced bar with limited seating. Once you get a table, service is friendly and pretty quick. The food is ok but with nothing to distinguish it from a thousand similar places up and down the country. Very noisy at times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    162
    47
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derry
1 review
“experience of my trip to the exchange”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were greeted at the front of house by the duty manager Declan, he was most pleasurable and gave us a table within 15 minutes although it was a very busy time and explained that they didnt take bookings (and it was a party of 8)He showed us to our table and asked if we would like a drink and assured us a waitress would come shortly to take our food order. The waitress took our order within 15 minutes of being seated and we recieved our food within 30 minutes from ordering.Everything from the greeting we recieved to the food we were presented was excellent nothing could be faulted. I would strongly recommend the restauraunt to anyone who was looking for a great atmosphere and fantastic food. We will definately be making a regular trip back. Well done to the staff they now how to provide a good service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Good food and well priced, nice atmosphere and service is very good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BrenjC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Story, Wyoming U.S.A.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best restaurant and food in all of Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

The lady at our B&B recommended the Exchange so we were very pleased when the service and food was wonderful. We ate there on Sunday evening and had no wait. The staff was very friendly and the food was the best we have ever had in Ireland. This is our 5th trip to Ireland and when we go back we will make sure to go to The Exchange again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karylynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect - everytime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Have been a million times and the food is always amazing!! Service is fab and although it's always busy they always manage to get it right! Worth the wait even if there is a waiting time for a table.. you wont be dissapointed!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Exchange also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing