We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serendipity House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Waterfoot Hotel(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$ 152
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 218
US$ 202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$ 182
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 270
US$ 219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 93
US$ 82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
178
93
33
16
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
93
33
16
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centretop floorstreet parkingcooked breakfastnice breakfastgreat view of the citywould definitely stay here againfree derry museumlovely roomwalking distancepubs and restaurantscomfy bednice stayminute walkexcellent locationbloody sunday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Serendipity is motivated by excellent personal service and individual attention in a relaxed friendly atmosphere. Stephen shared his local knowledge with us and made our stay and exploration of the city so enjoyable. The breakfast was very tasty and a real substantial start to the day. The location is very convenient and a very quiet street. The bedrooms were very comfortable and we had a great sleep. We enjoyed the craic and we would highly recommend Serendipity. We look forward to returning there. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leitrim1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We arrived late in the day, and after a few wrong turns, and one way streets, we arrived at this little gem of a B&B. At first we were a bit apprehensive about the neighborhood, but soon realized it was a great location, and perfectly safe. Obviously tourists need to exercise care wherever they travel. Our hosts, Paul and Stephen were most gracious and helpful in giving directions and suggestions about places to visit and restaurants. Serendipity House is within walking distance to the Walled City, where we found a great walking tour, lovely shopping and wonderful Irish food. The rooms are on the smallish side, which is to be expected of this refurbished neighborhood, but they were adequate, and spotlessly clean. These folks provided the most comfortable beds and luxurious bedding, of all the places we stayed during our three week visit in this beautiful country. We did not choose the full hot Irish breakfast, for an extra charge, because the provided Continental breakfast was lovely, and more than adequate. The breakfast room was bright and cheery with a view of the walled city. We highly recommend Serendipity House to visitors to Derry City, and will choose to stay here again on a future visit. Great value for the cost.

Room Tip: Don't judge this B&B by it location. Our street facing 2nd floor room was nice and very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This has to be the most appalling hotel I have ever stayed in...or should I call it a hostel.
We booked through bookings.com under the impression that my 23 and 21 year old chjildren and I had a "family" room with 2 double and 1 single bed. This is what it stated! When we arrived, there was one double bed and 1 single bed. I queried this with the young man who checked us in and he was adamant that it stated on all of the sites they were on that there were only 2 beds. Not so if he actually looked!
That was only the start of the horrid experience:
The shower attachment was coming away from the wall.
The shower recess sealing was falling off which meant that the floor outside the shower was covered with water.
There was no bath mat provided.
There was also no soap in the bathroom and when my son went to ask for some, he was told that it was not provided. Staggering.
Overall, a terrible experience. Do not stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank person88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

I would like to thank the guest for there review, however i feel deeply saddened that the guest felt this way about our accommodation, i would like to assure future guests that this review is far from the truth as our many other reviews will indeed confirm, i'm just glad to see that petulance and bad will still exists in the world. finally a pictures says a thousand words, please have a look and decide for yourself, many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We arrived in Derry after a wonderful drive up the west coast. Found Serendipity with not too much trouble.
Stephen met us at the door and insisted on carrying our heaviest bag in from the street parking, right outside.
He was the perfect host and guide for the city, which was all within easy walking distance.
The top of the house room is small but with the best view over the city.
The continental breakfast was very good and cooked items could be added at a very reasonable cost. Altogether a very enjoyable stay in 2013's city of culture!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

As we arrived at the B&B, Paul was already waiting for us and the welcome was very lovely! We enjoied our stay and we would recommend this B&B to all our Friends! Good walking distance to the city center an a beautiful view out of the dinning room!Free wifi in every room :-) und nun kurz auf Deutsch...Wirklich sehr zu empfehlen, vorallem wegen der Gastfreundlichkeit und der tollen Restaurantempfehlung! Thanks to Paul and Stephen

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeLoMoMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews