We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leitrim v Fermanagh!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serendipity House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serendipity House
Ranked #7 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Leitrim v Fermanagh!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My friend and I arrived at different times to Serendipity-only 10minutes apart but by the time she walked in the front door I knew that we were going to love staying here. I could hardly chat to her as Paul,the owner, together with his son Stephen, were busy telling me all the places we could go and things to see and do. The downstairs sitting room which you can have full access to with free internet all day was very tastefully decorated. Gorgeous puppets of various characters, including Pinocchio adorned this room which made it all very homely. Our room, although smallish had an en suite shower and toilet. We walked down town that evening and back up again later! Some will not manage this due to the hills but again Paul reassured us that a taxi cab would only cost £2.50 from the town centre. Once again Paul was very helpful and advised us of various venues and restaurants. The next morning we had a wonderful relaxed atmosphere with Paul's wife helping with the magnificent breakfasts-fab! Very nice people who made us so welcome-I'm going with my daughter again at the end of the month!! Thank you all xxx

Room Tip: Back rooms offer a view to the 'walls of Derry', + St. Eugene's Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 931Elizabeth931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    78
    31
    12
    5
See reviews for
59
110
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dromahair, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Serendipity is motivated by excellent personal service and individual attention in a relaxed friendly atmosphere. Stephen shared his local knowledge with us and made our stay and exploration of the city so enjoyable. The breakfast was very tasty and a real substantial start to the day. The location is very convenient and a very quiet street. The bedrooms were very comfortable and we had a great sleep. We enjoyed the craic and we would highly recommend Serendipity. We look forward to returning there. Thanks everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leitrim1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We arrived late in the day, and after a few wrong turns, and one way streets, we arrived at this little gem of a B&B. At first we were a bit apprehensive about the neighborhood, but soon realized it was a great location, and perfectly safe. Obviously tourists need to exercise care wherever they travel. Our hosts, Paul and Stephen were most gracious and helpful in giving directions and suggestions about places to visit and restaurants. Serendipity House is within walking distance to the Walled City, where we found a great walking tour, lovely shopping and wonderful Irish food. The rooms are on the smallish side, which is to be expected of this refurbished neighborhood, but they were adequate, and spotlessly clean. These folks provided the most comfortable beds and luxurious bedding, of all the places we stayed during our three week visit in this beautiful country. We did not choose the full hot Irish breakfast, for an extra charge, because the provided Continental breakfast was lovely, and more than adequate. The breakfast room was bright and cheery with a view of the walled city. We highly recommend Serendipity House to visitors to Derry City, and will choose to stay here again on a future visit. Great value for the cost.

Room Tip: Don't judge this B&B by it location. Our street facing 2nd floor room was nice and very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niseko
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This has to be the most appalling hotel I have ever stayed in...or should I call it a hostel.
We booked through bookings.com under the impression that my 23 and 21 year old chjildren and I had a "family" room with 2 double and 1 single bed. This is what it stated! When we arrived, there was one double bed and 1 single bed. I queried this with the young man who checked us in and he was adamant that it stated on all of the sites they were on that there were only 2 beds. Not so if he actually looked!
That was only the start of the horrid experience:
The shower attachment was coming away from the wall.
The shower recess sealing was falling off which meant that the floor outside the shower was covered with water.
There was no bath mat provided.
There was also no soap in the bathroom and when my son went to ask for some, he was told that it was not provided. Staggering.
Overall, a terrible experience. Do not stay there!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank person88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Serendipity House, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
I would like to thank the guest for there review, however i feel deeply saddened that the guest felt this way about our accommodation, i would like to assure future guests that this review is far from the truth as our many other reviews will indeed confirm, i'm just glad to see that petulance and bad will still exists in the world. finally a pictures says a thousand words, please have a look and decide for yourself, many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We arrived in Derry after a wonderful drive up the west coast. Found Serendipity with not too much trouble.
Stephen met us at the door and insisted on carrying our heaviest bag in from the street parking, right outside.
He was the perfect host and guide for the city, which was all within easy walking distance.
The top of the house room is small but with the best view over the city.
The continental breakfast was very good and cooked items could be added at a very reasonable cost. Altogether a very enjoyable stay in 2013's city of culture!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.7 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
0.7 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.7 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Angel House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 km away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
0.5 km away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity House

Property: Serendipity House
Address: 26 Marlborough Street, Derry BT48 9AY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,518 - ₹ 7,854
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Serendipity House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Derry, Serendipity House features panoramic views of the city and its historic walls. Derry Cathedral is only a minute's walk away.Serendipity House B&B was named one of the ‘12 Best Bed and Breakfasts in Britain' by The Times newspaper.Serendipity House offers comfortable, modern accommodation. All rooms include luxurious beds, power showers and individual decor. Free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee facilities are also available.Serendipity has a spacious decking area and a dining room. Foyleside Shopping Centre is an approximately 5-minute walk from Serendipity, while the city’s numerous bars, restaurants and shopping centres are less than 5 minutes away. Free on-site parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Serendipity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serendipity House Hotel Derry
Serendipity House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing