We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Da Vinci's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Da Vinci's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

If you’re thinking of staying at the Ramada Da Vinci’s in Derry, stop thinking and just do it.

Emma on reception gave us a warm friendly welcome and checked us into a beautiful suite on the fourth floor. A spacious room with plenty of natural daylight decorated in warm colours of beige and brown.

What must be a 50” flat screen TV along with a DVD and CD players takes centre stage on the living side of the room, in front of a large comfy sofa, while on the opposite side, a very comfortable and massive luxurious bed dominates. Over to the side there was also a desk and workspace with a PC etc for the business types.

There is a mini bar, safe and tea/coffee facilities in the room.

The luxury continues into the bathroom with twin basins and lovely bath and shower. There were an abundance of fresh white towels and robes. I was very delighted that everything you would expect was provided including a disposable razor as I had forgotten my own.

The impressive bar at Da Vinci’s was spacious and lively. A traditional Irish bar full of charm and plenty of staff where the barmen will engage with you quickly and efficiently so as you’re not waiting too long to be served a proper pint of Guinness.

We enjoyed dinner in the Grillroom restaurant, duck salad for starters and steak for mains, which was cooked and presented very well, the accompanying wine, was also excellent and not overpriced. The service here was also excellent; I think we met most of the staff on duty as the evening went on. One by one, they each came to take our order, ask how our meal was, recommend wine etc etc. in a very sincere, non-intrusive and friendly way.

Emma on reception had also recommended a walking tour around the medieval walls of Derry.

We walked into the city centre via the footpath along the river which took us about 20 minutes and met up with Martin McCrossan who took us and our fellow tourists(approx.12 in the group) around the walls for about an hour. The tour costs £4 per person and was really worth the money which included a free tea or coffee in the Java café to finish.

There are of course, a good choice of Hotels in and around Derry, however I would highly recommend Da Vinci’s due to the staff, its location, free large on site car-park, the hotel’s cleanliness, style and genuine value for money.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Splash out and upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fastcityrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear ‘Fastcityrocker’,

What a lovely review! Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us in such detail and thank you for appreciating the great facilities and staff we have to offer at Da Vinci’s Hotel. I am delighted you had the opportunity to see our historic city walls during your stay definitely a must do thing when visiting the city. We look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    469
    241
    79
    31
    38
See reviews for
171
262
28
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex Coast
Level Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights whilst touring Northern Ireland. Large room with 2 double beds.Great base to explore from. Can't comment on breakfast but did have dinner on one night. Meal deal 2 courses for £10, v.good. Quiet while we were there, near to Sainsburys so breakfasted there. Cheaper with a view over the river.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear ‘Yoxen’,

I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your recent stay and I appreciate you taking the time to take the time to review your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Been staying at Da Vinci's for a good few weeks off and on over the past 12 months. Hotel has nice big modern bright rooms even the standard rooms. Rooms have tea and coffee facilities. The bathrooms have a full size bath and shower with a very decent pressure to wake you up in the mornings. The staff are what makes the Hotel, well presented, professional, friendly and very helpful. I would reccomend staying here, it's a bit of a walk to the town centre but only a couple of pounds in a taxi. Full TV package in the Bar (for the football), but limited channels in the rooms. Parking is free and never full unlike the City Hotel which is a bit of a nightmare if you get in late and the car park is full. All in I always enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinrosie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear ‘Kevinrosie1972’,

What a lovely review! It is great to receive feedback from a guest who stays with us regularly and I will ensure to pass on your compliments to the team. I am pleased you appreciate the facilities we have to offer and we look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We enjoyed a one night stay at the Ramada (da Vinci's) in Derry last night and were very impressed witH everything. We got an excellent deal through a national newspaper and were prepared to find ourselves in the kind of room that no one else wanted. It got a lovely, spacious room on the fourth floor. Plenty of space, two double beds, fluffy towels, etc.
Reception was impressive - by the time I got in from the car carrying our bag, the receptionist had sorted my wife out with all the checking in requirements very efficiently. She then came up immediately when when phoned down asking for advice about the password for Internet connection (free).
Excellent night's sleeps in comfortable beds, great pillows (my wife actually asked for the brand name of the pillows when we checked out the next morning), good powerful shower and free newspaper available at fee.tion.
Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales &Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear ‘JeremyT’,

Thank you for your lovely comments and I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience at Da Vinci’s Hotel. I will pass on your compliments about the staff and facilities to the team. I hope your wife was able to source the brand of pillows we use at the hotel if not please let us know and we will assist her in her search. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

just love derry, such a great place to be. the hotel staff are all so friendly. wouldnt go anywhere else, you ask for something, "its there"

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 18kaz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDVs, Sales & Marketing Manager at Da Vinci's Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear ‘karenthornbury’,

Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff and hotel and I am delighted you had an enjoyable experience with us. I will pass your compliments on to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Da Vinci’s Hotel in the future.

With Kindest Regards,
Natasha O’Hea
Sales & Marketing Manager at Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.8 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
2.2 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.3 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
6.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
2.2 km away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Vinci's Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Vinci's Hotel Derry

Property: Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Address: 15 Culmore Road, Derry BT48 8JB, Northern Ireland (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#8 Family Hotel in Derry
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,170 - ₹ 14,987
Hotel Class:4 star — Da Vinci's Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry is the ideal base for sightseeing breaks in the North West of Ireland. Ramada Da Vinci’s is located just one mile from Derry City Centre and just a 15 minute walk to the historic Derry City Walls. Our guests are also conveniently located to visit the Giant’s Causeway, Royal Portrush Golf Course and Donegal’s breath taking scenery. Ramada Da Vinci’s Hotel in Derry can boast of having the largest bedrooms in the city; these 65 bedrooms are contemporary in style and include the fabulous Morrison Suite, Club and Superior bedrooms. In addition to our comfortable hotel accommodation Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry offers all guests complimentary car parking and complimentary unlimited Wi-Fi throughout the building. On site at Da Vinci’s Hotel guests can enjoy an award winning Irish traditional bar which serves the best pint of Guinness in Derry and on Friday and Saturday nights the hotel offers free entertainment in The Spirit Bar nightclub. Da Vinci’s Hotel’s restaurant The Grillroom provides guests with atmospheric surroundings, exceptional service and the highest quality of locally sourced menus at affordable prices. For business meetings and conferences in Derry, Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry provides contemporary facilities that can cater for up to 120 delegates with complimentary unlimited wi-fi and car parking. At Da Vinci’s Hotel Derry a warm and heartfelt welcome awaits you with engaging and anticipatory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Da Vinci's Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Derry
Derry Ramada
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing