We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

Visited on a dull midweek in October but the hotel was smashing. Location was second to none and very centrally located. All the staff were very welcoming and the family room was spacious. Other reviews mention noise from the streets which we didn’t find and a damp smell in the bathroom which was present but mild. The only slight issue was the breakfast which was decidedly average. Big choice but not well executed. Would recommend for families or couples.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank NewlyWedMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear NewlyWedMrs,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review about our hotel. I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel so central and that you found the staff at the hotel so welcoming which we certainly want to make all of our guests feel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel, Derry again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Chiree Bowen
Front Office Manager / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,195 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017

That may seem a strange title, but if you've ever tried parking in this cramped city centre, you'll know how welcome the car-park underneath the Maldron is.
It's tight and small, with a capacity for about twenty cars, but has a proper barrier and security cameras.

Reception was rapid and professional, and we were soon on our way to our room. First impressions? So much gray! So big!
The gray decor grows on one, though, and ends up being restful, while the spaciousness is very welcome. The more colourful en-suite was very clean and well-lit, but had poor ventilation.
Fit, finish, and the huge bed were all top quality.

We quickly noticed the lack of air conditioning, and had to open the window to the city's noise. Surely a "superior" four star hotel room should have aircon? Especially in humid Northern Ireland.

The Maldron is perfectly located for a visit to the Millenium Forum; the reason for our visit.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 57Boy

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback we receive and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have limited parking and work on a first come first served basis, however luckily due to our central location we are close to other car parks which the reception staff can successfully direct you to. I am glad that you found the location of the hotel so central especially to the Millenium Forum and also the bars, restaurants and shopping. Although we do not have air-conditioning in the rooms we can provide fans just by contacting reception. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Chiree Bowen Front Office Manager / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Great location. Hotel was clean and friendly. Room was average size. Clean and pretty comfortable. Could walk to everything we wanted to do. Breakfast was ok, did not think it was great. Would recommend this for a few days stay on Antrim Coast. City walking is best.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Englishdreams,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maldron Hotel Derry and thank you for taking the time to write this review as we welcome all feedback and follow up on all guest comments so thank you for taking your time to share these. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the hotel so central. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chiree Bowen Front Office Manager / Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The Maldron Hotel is perfectly situated within the walls of Derry and is a very short walk to historical sites and local pubs. We were able to visit many of the the monuments and memorials that are very close by. Our room was lovely and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. One of them even suggested a pub a block away. We enjoyed a pint while talking with the friendly locals. There was even live Irish music in the evening.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Una,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maldron Hotel Derry and thank you for taking the time to write this great review as we welcome all feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the hotel's location so central. I really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Chiree Bowen Front Office Manager / Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Myself and friends attended a night up in the hotel to taste the new menu available in the newly refurbished restaurant. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed and made to feel at ease. The food was great and the service we received was excellent throughout our evening. I will visit the restaurant again and will recommend it to family and friends.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Leanne D

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our new refurnished restaurant 'Grain & Grill'. We are pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant launch and the service that you received. We hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel, Derry and the 'Grain & Grill' again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Chiree Bowen
Front Office Manager / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.4 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,099 reviews
0.1 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
666 reviews
1.8 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
0.1 km away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range: ₹ 4,346 - ₹ 11,351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing