We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveller rating
732
402
180
47
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
402
180
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower hotel lyric bar inside the city walls car park within the walls hotel bar hen party central location derry walls reception staff tour group the heart of the city lovely hotel would highly recommend this hotel food was lovely porridge peace bridge
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

That may seem a strange title, but if you've ever tried parking in this cramped city centre, you'll know how welcome the car-park underneath the Maldron is.
It's tight and small, with a capacity for about twenty cars, but has a proper barrier and security cameras.

Reception was rapid and professional, and we were soon on our way to our room. First impressions? So much gray! So big!
The gray decor grows on one, though, and ends up being restful, while the spaciousness is very welcome. The more colourful en-suite was very clean and well-lit, but had poor ventilation.
Fit, finish, and the huge bed were all top quality.

We quickly noticed the lack of air conditioning, and had to open the window to the city's noise. Surely a "superior" four star hotel room should have aircon? Especially in humid Northern Ireland.

The Maldron is perfectly located for a visit to the Millenium Forum; the reason for our visit.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear 57Boy

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate all feedback we receive and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have limited parking and work on a first come first served basis, however luckily due to our central location we are close to other car parks which the reception staff can successfully direct you to. I am glad that you found the location of the hotel so central especially to the Millenium Forum and also the bars, restaurants and shopping. Although we do not have air-conditioning in the rooms we can provide fans just by contacting reception. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Chiree Bowen Front Office Manager / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Great location. Hotel was clean and friendly. Room was average size. Clean and pretty comfortable. Could walk to everything we wanted to do. Breakfast was ok, did not think it was great. Would recommend this for a few days stay on Antrim Coast. City walking is best.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Englishdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Englishdreams,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maldron Hotel Derry and thank you for taking the time to write this review as we welcome all feedback and follow up on all guest comments so thank you for taking your time to share these. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the hotel so central. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chiree Bowen Front Office Manager / Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The Maldron Hotel is perfectly situated within the walls of Derry and is a very short walk to historical sites and local pubs. We were able to visit many of the the monuments and memorials that are very close by. Our room was lovely and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. One of them even suggested a pub a block away. We enjoyed a pint while talking with the friendly locals. There was even live Irish music in the evening.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 417ChrisJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Una,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maldron Hotel Derry and thank you for taking the time to write this great review as we welcome all feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the hotel's location so central. I really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Chiree Bowen Front Office Manager / Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Myself and friends attended a night up in the hotel to taste the new menu available in the newly refurbished restaurant. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed and made to feel at ease. The food was great and the service we received was excellent throughout our evening. I will visit the restaurant again and will recommend it to family and friends.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Leanne D

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our new refurnished restaurant 'Grain & Grill'. We are pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant launch and the service that you received. We hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel, Derry and the 'Grain & Grill' again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Chiree Bowen
Front Office Manager / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Attended the opening night of the new restaurant 'Grain and Grill' last night and could not find any fault in my experience. The food was amazing with a great variation of food to choose from. Staff were friendly and attentive before, during and after our meal, especially a member of staff named Taleesha who could not do enough for us. The head chef, Paul McCusker came to our table to introduce himself and ask for some feedback when we had finished our meal. The feedback was all positive and nobody in our party could suggest any areas for improvement. The setting of the restaurant was very relaxed which added to our positive dining experience. Overall it was a more than satisfying experience and I can not wait to pay this restaurant another visit.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Front Office Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Erin M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review of our hotel restaurant! I am so pleased that you enjoyed the launch night of our new 'Grain & Grill Restaurant' it was a great success and the feedback was very positive. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to both Paul & Taleesha. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Chiree Bowen
Front Office Manager / Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews