We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,314)
Filter reviews
2,314 results
Traveller rating
1,147
719
270
112
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,147
719
270
112
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peace bridge river view car park trouser press guild hall superior room leisure facilities steam room central location lovely hotel course meal saturday night reception staff both nights weekend break jazz festival great atmosphere
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 2,314 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

We were booked in for one night as we went to a wedding the next day. The reception staff and the manager we met were friendly and informative, pointing out points of interest in the city and giving us recommendations. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast excellent. All the staff we met were friendly and efficient. The hotel is perfectly placed for exploring the city and looks over the Foyle river. A super stay.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorFriel, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to post of your experiences with us, we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to being of service again in the future. Please contact us directly for your next visit to receive the best rate.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

My boyfriend booked a "Junior Suite' here as a surprise for my 40th birthday at the end of July. The staff were amazing from check-in until check-out. We have stayed before a few times but never in the junior suite. Prosecco and strawberry awaited our arrival in the "Hume suite' and our 1 night stay was very comfortable. The only thing we could complain about is our view out the window was basically a wall on the hotel roof.
The suites feel very private as they are on the 7th floor which can only be reached by using your key card in the lift.
The hotel is a short walk from waterside train station and 5 minutes away from the famous Derry walls.
Thank you city hotel for yet another great stay. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front - most of those overlook the river.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ragga8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorFriel, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to post of your experiences with us, we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to being of service again in the future. Please contact us directly for your next visit to receive the best rate.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Went to Derry for a Conference and was pleased with the room. Nice comfortable bed and a spacious room. Reception staff were friendly and hepful. It had a nice swimming pool and leisure centre. The foyer and ground floor bar were spacious and a nice place to meet and have a chat. The Hotel overlooks the Peace Bridge. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the river side of the Hotel for great views of the Peace Bridge.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank donbosco2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorFriel, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to post of your experiences with us, we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to being of service again in the future. Please contact us directly for your next visit to receive the best rate.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was great.Location, price and atmosphere..Arrived on a sunday afternoon lobby was buzzing with people and entertainment. Room was large with magnificent views over the river foye. Located in heart of the city beside shops,bars amd resturants. Staff were really frinedly and helpful..This is place to stay for the perfect break in derry city.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank karyna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorFriel, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to post of your experiences with us, we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to being of service again in the future. Please contact us directly for your next visit to receive the best rate.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Celebrated our wedding here on 24th july an it was planned at short notice, from start to finish it was smazing, staff, food & hotel, highly recommend it as would my guests, they all commented on the staff, the food and the hospatility throughout the whole day. Meave was fantastic from the day we looked at it, untill the dsy we booked it and the actual day of the wedding, so helpful and nothing was to much bother, and Liam and the staff on hand throughout the day made our experience snd celebration very enjoyable. Quiet a number of guests stayed over an said they would definatley be back. Highly highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The honeymoon suite was amazing as wss the service and delivery of champagne breakfast the next morning. Great staff , great food , great service thankyou so much ..

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConorFriel, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for taking the time to post of your experiences with us, we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to being of service again in the future. Please contact us directly for your next visit to receive the best rate.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews