We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory
Ranked #21 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“recommended”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Saddler's House made us feel very welcome when our original b and b booking did not work out. It is in the centre of Derry city. It's so cosy that it doesn't actually feel like you're in the city at all, but it's only a 5 minute walk to the walls. The free street parking worked out quite well for us, as we were there overnight and on a Saturday, but can see that it would cause some organizing on a weekday. The breakfast was not as spectacular as some that we had, but certainly very acceptable. We had a room on the street, and on a Friday night were not bothered by any noise. I would recommend the Saddler's House, and I would l definitely stay there again if was in Derry.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    39
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
59
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, Hampshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Apart from being in an excellent location for seeing the city of Derry B&B was okay. We didn't like the way the bulldog was able to walk around the kitchen or dining room - especially when 3 out of the 4 of us don't like dogs!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stewartville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The couple who owned the house were very hospitable and knowledgeable. We loved our room and felt very welcome while staying there. It was very clean, and the food was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The location was perfect. I thought the room was quite small and the bathroom had no space to even put your toothbrush.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelley34HoustonTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The room is very nice and most of all the bathroom, you fell like in a old tale, is very beautiful.
Breakfast is very good and rich.
You have internet and a sitting room with interesting books.
You can really relax which is what we were looking for.
We found this place thanks to a gentleman at the tourist information and we are very happy of it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Un_Voyage_pour_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.4 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,046 reviews
0.6 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,249 reviews
1.0 km away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
57 reviews
0.7 km away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory

Property: The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory
Address: 36 Great James Street, Derry BT48 7DB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,307 - ₹ 3,720
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Saddlers House And The Old Rectory Hotel Derry
The Saddlers House And The Old Rectory Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing