We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
564
67
13
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
564
67
13
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews from start to finish first class wedding reception sunday carvery second to none mr mrs amazing hotel bridal suite next morning family wedding an overnight stay main course food was lovely northern ireland saturday night belfry marty
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

My friend and myself feeling hungry and decided to call into the belfry for a bit too eat. The waiter showed us to a table after he came and asked for a drink order so after that the waiter asked us were. We ready to order after ordering I met Geraldine who is the G.M she is such a nice lady and she is more than helpful good manners and keeps all in order.
I must say that the service is second to none, as the staff are very well trained and good at the work, I must say compliments to the Chef,
After food eaten all paid I must say that I shall be back
Regards Sean Murphy.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, General Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Sean
Thank you for choosing to call in for a bite to eat. I am pleased to read that you had enjoyed the service from Geraldine and the team and i will most certainly pass on your compliments to our Head Chef. I will share your kind comments with all he team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With best regards
Rodney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Several of us met up at a retirement do for a colleague. Afternoon tea with special provision for my gluten free requirements. Lovely experience. Staff excellent. Would recommend to anyone. Different experience.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank 176margaretb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Front Office Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Dear " Margaret B"

We very much appreciate you taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to the Bistro @ The Belfray Country Inn for Afternoon Tea.

We cater for all dietary requirements & endeavour to meet the needs of all our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Belfray in the near future.


Regards,


David JW Pollock
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

For years I have driven past The Belfray on my way to Donegal and often wondered what it was like. Well thanks to Hurricane Ophelia and an enforced few days in Derry while waiting for the next flight home I got the opportunity and am so thankful to Ophelia.

Arrived mid afternoon and was warmly welcomed. Quick and efficient check in and up to my room and such a pleasant room it was. The room was nicely laid out, well decorated and spotlessly clean. It's such a pleasure to have a hotel room with a small sofa to sit on rather than the standard upright chair or having to lounge on the bed. The room was well stocked with coffee etc as well as iron and dressing gowns. The bathroom was an ideal size, again spotlessly clean and plenty of hot water.

Having rested after a days sightseeing in Derry I went down to the Bistro for what I intended to be a light meal. That didn't last long! Started with a Goat's Cheese tart that was one of the best I've had and I've had a good few! The belly pork was the dish of the day and what a dish. Good size portions, excellently cooked and served with a cauliflower mash and potato croquette. A real treat. A very nice cheesecake all washed down with an excellent pint.

Throughout the meal the service was excellent, warm and friendly but not over the top. A really nice eating experience.

A good size bed with a very comfortable mattress made for a very pleasant night. Breakfast was excellent and check out quick and easy. Overall a very pleasant experience and I would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andyh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Just home and it was the 1st time we stayed at this amazing hotel. Will definitely be back. Food was lovely at every meal and the staff go out of there way to help if you need anything. Rooms are lovely and very clean everything you need in it. We stayed in room 109 and have to admit it was a very warm room but there was no heating on it? But can’t rate this hotel highly enough. Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank puppygirldrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

First visit to the Belfry and will certainly return. Welcomed the minute we arrived and shown to the bar where you had the choice of Carvery or lunch menu. Lovely gentleman seated us and took drinks orders, followed by our waiter Martin who served our drinks. So very pleasant and cheerful and obviously happy at his work, we mentioned the birthday girl and have to say Martin went completely out of his way to assure we were well looked after from start to finish. 2 of us had the Carvery and the birthday girl had lasagne of the lunch menu. If I had anything to gripe about it would be the mature lady who was carving! We asked what our options were and got a very sharp reply (minor wee gripe, maybe she was having a bad day, we can all have those!) Food delicious, floor staff excellent and reception very pleasant. Had to rush and pay the bill as we were tight for time and Martin had said he was just about to surprise the birthday girl with a dessert n sparkler, we thanked him for the offer and suggested he could sing but he thought that might chase us..... he swiftly arrived back to the table with a box of milk tray for our sister. Really can't praise this gentleman enough! He So made our day! Can't wait to return to Our Milk Tray man and the delicious food of course.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank The Duchess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews