We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Belfray Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
Bridge B&B(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
City Hotel(Derry)
US$ 163
US$ 146
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 107
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 172
US$ 141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 183
US$ 178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 191
US$ 185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Groarty House & Manor B&B(Derry)(Great Value!)
US$ 80
US$ 78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 232
US$ 158
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
542
62
10
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
62
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabaret showfrom start to finishfirst classwedding receptionsunday carverywedding venuesecond to nonemr mrsamazing hotelbridal suitefood was amazingtop classnext morningcouldn't do enoughstaff were excellentmain coursean overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

For years I have driven past The Belfray on my way to Donegal and often wondered what it was like. Well thanks to Hurricane Ophelia and an enforced few days in Derry while waiting for the next flight home I got the opportunity and am so thankful to Ophelia.

Arrived mid afternoon and was warmly welcomed. Quick and efficient check in and up to my room and such a pleasant room it was. The room was nicely laid out, well decorated and spotlessly clean. It's such a pleasure to have a hotel room with a small sofa to sit on rather than the standard upright chair or having to lounge on the bed. The room was well stocked with coffee etc as well as iron and dressing gowns. The bathroom was an ideal size, again spotlessly clean and plenty of hot water.

Having rested after a days sightseeing in Derry I went down to the Bistro for what I intended to be a light meal. That didn't last long! Started with a Goat's Cheese tart that was one of the best I've had and I've had a good few! The belly pork was the dish of the day and what a dish. Good size portions, excellently cooked and served with a cauliflower mash and potato croquette. A real treat. A very nice cheesecake all washed down with an excellent pint.

Throughout the meal the service was excellent, warm and friendly but not over the top. A really nice eating experience.

A good size bed with a very comfortable mattress made for a very pleasant night. Breakfast was excellent and check out quick and easy. Overall a very pleasant experience and I would certainly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank andyh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Just home and it was the 1st time we stayed at this amazing hotel. Will definitely be back. Food was lovely at every meal and the staff go out of there way to help if you need anything. Rooms are lovely and very clean everything you need in it. We stayed in room 109 and have to admit it was a very warm room but there was no heating on it? But can’t rate this hotel highly enough. Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank puppygirldrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

First visit to the Belfry and will certainly return. Welcomed the minute we arrived and shown to the bar where you had the choice of Carvery or lunch menu. Lovely gentleman seated us and took drinks orders, followed by our waiter Martin who served our drinks. So very pleasant and cheerful and obviously happy at his work, we mentioned the birthday girl and have to say Martin went completely out of his way to assure we were well looked after from start to finish. 2 of us had the Carvery and the birthday girl had lasagne of the lunch menu. If I had anything to gripe about it would be the mature lady who was carving! We asked what our options were and got a very sharp reply (minor wee gripe, maybe she was having a bad day, we can all have those!) Food delicious, floor staff excellent and reception very pleasant. Had to rush and pay the bill as we were tight for time and Martin had said he was just about to surprise the birthday girl with a dessert n sparkler, we thanked him for the offer and suggested he could sing but he thought that might chase us..... he swiftly arrived back to the table with a box of milk tray for our sister. Really can't praise this gentleman enough! He So made our day! Can't wait to return to Our Milk Tray man and the delicious food of course.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank The Duchess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Stayed here last week while we were working in the area. Lovely, spacious, clean room, amazing breakfast and evening meals and fantastic, friendly staff. Big, free parking area. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisMackay39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Front Office Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear "ChrisMackay39"

We are all delighted that your stay with us received a "5 out of 5"

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Belfray Country Inn in the near future.


Regards,

David JW Pollock
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed for one night with my girlfriend for her birthday and I haven't a bad word to say about the place. The staff were so friendly and helpful with everything. especially Martin who made sure we had everything we needed and even give us a few recommended bars in town. I also asked for flowers to be put in the room for my girlfriend and I was surprised to find we were updgraded to the bridal suite complimentary with a box of chocolates. Small thing like this go a long way. We also had dinner and it was top notch. We will definitely be back, thank you to everyone we met at The Belfray.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Front Office Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear "Niall R"

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments following your recent stay with us @ The Belfray Country Inn.

Were possible should a guest have a special occasion to celebrate & we have the availability we endeavour to upgrade them to either a Executive or Superior room.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Belfray Country Inn in the near future.

Regards,


David JW Pollock
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews