We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great service and price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarence House Guest House

Clarence House Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clarence House Guest House
Ranked #36 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Azusa, Ca.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

This was my first experience staying in a bed and breakfast and I enjoyed the personalized service and wonderful breakfasts. It was within walking distance to the walled city and local train/bus station.

  • Liked — Personalized service, great breakfast selection, excellent value
  • Disliked — Creaky bed, room could use a remodeling
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerfaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    4
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2007

Spent one night at Clarence House and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
Its a Victorian house located on a hill about 10 mins walk from the walled city. The room was light and spacious,for a single room, and perfectly clean. One free bottle of water was provided in the room and there was a folder packed with tourist information about Derry.
However, what made the stay for me was the attitude of the proprietor, Michael. He was so friendly and did everything to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. I had to check out early in the morning to catch my flight home. I thought i would be unlikely to get breakfast so early but Michael had got up early just to cook me a full Irish breakfast.
The customer clearly comes first in this Guesthouse and the welcome was very warm. If i return to Derry i will definitely stay at
Clarence House.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Decor rather dated
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2007

A very nice guesthouse that is about 10-15 minutes walk from the walled city. The guesthouse is up on the hill, so it's a brisk walk. A taxi costs about 3 pounds from the bus station near the walled city. A full Irish breakfast is offered every morning, and the overall selection is very good in addition to the Irish breakfast. Michael is the proprietor and cares a great deal about his place and his guests and loves to chat!

Pros
* Great breakfast offering
* Excellent personal service from the owner including bed turndown and curtains drawn
* Offers Internet access at 2 pounds for 30 minutes
* Beautiful balcony with nice view of the River Foyle
* Laundry service offered for 7 1/2 pounds

Cons
* No way to control the temperature in the room
* Must turn in the key when leaving each day
* Bathroom and shower were small
* Rugs and carpet could use a deep cleaning

  • Liked — Location to the walled city
  • Disliked — Turning in the key every day to the front desk
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank orbops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2005

This place is very expensive and not value for money.I could have stay in Hotel for the same price, Room ambience 70s style and shower was only luke warm breakfast and location ok

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank curleybap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derry hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 km away
City Centre B&B
City Centre B&B
#29 of 47 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.4 km away
Troy Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.5 km away
Princes House
Princes House
#32 of 47 in Derry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
BT48 Apartotel
BT48 Apartotel
#12 of 22 in Derry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.8 km away
Iona Inn
Iona Inn
#27 of 47 in Derry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.4 km away
Ashgrove Villa B&B
Ashgrove Villa B&B
#6 of 47 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House Guest House

Property: Clarence House Guest House
Address: 15 Northland Road, Derry BT48 7HY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,384
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Clarence House Guest House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing