We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derrys best B&B.”
Review of Nightingale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nightingale House
Ranked #18 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Derrys best B&B.”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have been to stay in Derry on many occasions but this was our first time at Nightingale House. It wont be the last. This B&B is up there with the best Derry has to offer. From the spotlessly clean bathrooms to the feather duvets and pillows, this was home comfort without the work. Isobel is a great hostess and couldnt do enough for her guests. My husband forgot his glasses and she had them in the post and back to us the next day. Weel done Isobel and thanks for an unforgettable stay.

Room Tip: We had the big room at the front. Great view and very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sportyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakenheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Our host was wonderful, and made sure everything was perfect for our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsmartass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights at The Nightingale and we will definitely stay again on our next visit to Derry! The house was fantastic-such style! The bedroom was extremely comfortable and again redolent of Isobel's great taste in interior decor! As for Isobel, what a character! She made us feel so welcome, even supplying a bottle of wine while we chatted and laughed with her- we loved the parrot story!! Breakfast was great and the ambience of this guest house combined with Isobel's warmth and personality made our stay a memorable experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walshec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our hostess met us with a large smile and the option of tea and a little something to eat, but we had just had dinner. We sat for a chat and just had the best time, played with her cute dog and just felt at home! Her home is decorated in just such taste, WOW! LA decorators would be jealous! We loved the fireplace that hangs on the wall, might have to go out and get one! Breakfast was delicious, porridge so creamy! With so many toppings to choose from. Her eggs to perfection. I would not hesitate telling anyone to go here! Thank you for a lovely time!

Room Tip: We had the room that said Dream over the bed and Elvis in the bathroom! I am sure they are all lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

To be honest I travel a lot but I never write reviews of the places I stay but this B&B made me to write my first review. I never imagine that a B&B could be saw good, I've stayed in many 4star hotel but this far way better then a 4 star hotel, I can not thing of something that I wanted and it wasn't there and this lady that runs the place is a fine example of someone that want's to beat recession and make have an experience you never forget. She is a walking encyclopedia, everything you want to know she all ready for you even some menus from the restaurants.I don't even know were to start from, location beautiful, room spotless, food outstanding, the quality of the house overall is at the highest standard and and the interior design just blew me away, very few times you can see somebody that gives saw much importance to details. Anyway if want to see finest example of B&B this a must for everyone !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orlando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.1 km away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
4.4 km away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
3.3 km away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 43 in Derry
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
4.4 km away
Serendipity House
Serendipity House
#6 of 43 in Derry
288 reviews
4.8 km away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingale House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale House

Property: Nightingale House
Address: 6 Larcom Drive, Derry BT48 8PP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,272 - ₹ 4,907
Hotel Class:4 star — Nightingale House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nightingale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nightingale House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing