We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nightingale House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nightingale House
Ranked #18 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
400 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Our hostess met us with a large smile and the option of tea and a little something to eat, but we had just had dinner. We sat for a chat and just had the best time, played with her cute dog and just felt at home! Her home is decorated in just such taste, WOW! LA decorators would be jealous! We loved the fireplace that hangs on the wall, might have to go out and get one! Breakfast was delicious, porridge so creamy! With so many toppings to choose from. Her eggs to perfection. I would not hesitate telling anyone to go here! Thank you for a lovely time!

Room Tip: We had the room that said Dream over the bed and Elvis in the bathroom! I am sure they are all lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

To be honest I travel a lot but I never write reviews of the places I stay but this B&B made me to write my first review. I never imagine that a B&B could be saw good, I've stayed in many 4star hotel but this far way better then a 4 star hotel, I can not thing of something that I wanted and it wasn't there and this lady that runs the place is a fine example of someone that want's to beat recession and make have an experience you never forget. She is a walking encyclopedia, everything you want to know she all ready for you even some menus from the restaurants.I don't even know were to start from, location beautiful, room spotless, food outstanding, the quality of the house overall is at the highest standard and and the interior design just blew me away, very few times you can see somebody that gives saw much importance to details. Anyway if want to see finest example of B&B this a must for everyone !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orlando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is probably the best B&B we have ever stayed in. The whole house is maintained to a very high standard. The room is outstanding in terms of looks, comfort, cleaniless etc. The owner is extremely friendly and very helpful. The range of food available for breakfast is enormous and the cooked breakfast is prepared to a high standard. The B&B has secure parking and is very convenient for Derry. We intend returning for a longer stay next year. (The standard of cleaniless is so high that there is no evidence of dogs having been present).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Everyone talks about the "best" B&B they've stayed in. Well, here's another contender. We booked pretty last minute, leaving our previous place a day early. Isabella greeted us like old friends. Star, the house dog, is a little sweetheart. Nothing was too much trouble for Isabella, nothing fazed her.

Our room was SO beautiful, the bed was the first comfortable one we've been on in Ireland. The bathroom is gorgeous, and so spotless, I've never seen a room so flawlessly clean. We are vegan and whereas most people don't even understand what that is, Isabella had an amazing breakfast set out for us, including a non-dairy (coconut) milk. I was dumbfounded. The breakfast spread was honestly like nothing I've ever seen. The other guests there said the only one they've ever seen that compared to it was at a Four Seasons Hotel. You name it, it was set out there.

The location is just a couple of km north of the city, easy as pie to get to it. And a lovely setting with a view of the Foyle from some rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aeisenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Great Hotel with 4 rooms all decorated to a excellent standard with superb on suites.
Quiet location on outskirts of the city but still witihn 5 mins of the centre. Have tried several of the other big hotels / guest houses, nothing comes near to Nightingale house for quality, service, brilliant breakfast's. book direct with the owner you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.1 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
4.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
4.6 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
3.5 km away
Arkle House B and B
Arkle House B and B
#11 of 47 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
4.6 km away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightingale House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightingale House

Property: Nightingale House
Address: 6 Larcom Drive, Derry BT48 8PP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,264 - ₹ 4,896
Hotel Class:4 star — Nightingale House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Nightingale House Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing