We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great again”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Excellent in every way would recommend.Food wonderful service 2nd to none

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    135
    59
    31
    20
See reviews for
133
372
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - all were friendly and very welcoming.
But the room we had was truly awful. Our twin beds were separated by a three inch gap and my bed was on a slope so I spent a really uncomfortable night. But the worst problem with the room was the totally inadequate shower over the bath: a trickle of warm (at best) water dribbled out of the shower head and never reached beyond the plughole. A horrible experience and not expected at £95 a night.
The staff in the dining room tried their best but no one seemed to be in charge.
Breakfast was similarly confused and the tea was horrid.
A lovely place to look at but not to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed here on business for one night and I cant recommend it enough. A perfect hotel for the lone traveller, very welcoming , lovely ambience and food supberb, will definitley stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newry_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I spent two nights in the Beech Hill Country House with my mother and I can honestly say that I did not have one complaint.
From the moment we arrived, the staff were extremely friendly and informative about both the hotel and Derry itself. We were on a leisure break which meant we had to have our dinner in the hotel both nights but we didn't mind at all. The restaurant is quite small but big enough to accommodate all guests and has a cosy feeling. The food itself was gorgeous on both nights and the home made bread is a bonus. There must have been six different types of fresh bread to be enjoyed along with your starter and main course and it changed both nights.
After dinner on the second night we sat in one of the lounges. They have fires which give it a homely feel and the atmosphere is perfect for a relaxing evening.
The room itself was also very cosy and spacious. There was a single bed and a double, although you could easily have fitted three people into the double. They were also very comfortable allowing for a great nights sleep.

All in all, we loved the hotel and will certainly stay there again if we are visiting the area. It's a credit to Pat, the owner and rightly deserves the praise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank All-Year-Round
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I have stayed at this wonderful hotel on a number of occasions. So close to the city centre but yet not near the huste and bustle. I would guess it is approx 5 mins from the shops at Lisnagelvin. The staff are fautless, the hotel is amazing and the grounds are stunning. I must also give credit to the kitchen. As a bit of a fussy eater, I sometimes struggle to have waiters and chefs interpret what I would like. No such problem at Beech Hill. I have had rooms in both the new and old quarters and they are all amazing. Free WIFI is a real bonus. Why do some hotels charge for this? Crazy.

Ah, don't forget the hotel cat! The staff lovlngly look after this old moggy. Such good hearted people. Looking forward to my next visit already.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.4 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
4.6 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
1.7 km away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
4.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
5.7 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,816 - ₹ 13,823
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing