We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Luxury business location almost in Derry Londonderry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Luxury business location almost in Derry Londonderry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

As a business trip location for Derry area this is the best. I have been a number of times and always come back despite the choice in the area.
Location is rural yet 5 minutes out of Derry. Over 30 acres of land with lakes, waterfalls, country walks (bring jogging shoes for the walks).
Every bedroom furnished differently including antique furniture in keeping with the age of the hotel which goes back to the 1700s and part Victorian. If you dont like the old rooms ask to stay in the rooms built 2000.
Award winning restaurant, current Derry restaurant of the year. Organic foods.
Excellent English Chef.
Family owned and very welcoming what more can I say.
There is a lift if you are disabled

Room Tip: I ask for the Executive suites 50 and 51
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    132
    55
    31
    19
See reviews for
127
353
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

The food sold this place to me. Although, the gardens, rooms, staff and charm are also wonderful. Forget about your standardised. boring and characterless hotel rooms. This place has oodles of charm, reflects the changing and erratic history of the building and embraces all that is best to offer in this beautiful area.

Whilst I found all to be in good order I would like to highlight, in particular, the wonderful two dinners I had at this hotel.. The roast lamb was simply the best I have ever had. Patsy (owner) explained to me how they source all their meats and vegetables and was very proud to let me know that the animals they use are their own, bred, reared and kept on a farm for the their own use. And she said "you can taste the difference".

I am going back. Already booked!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

This is a lovely country house hotel with such a helpful and friendly staff that it felt just like being at home. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the food and service of a high standard. I would heartily recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break where it is not necessary to leave the hotel and grounds but as it is situated only a few miles from Londonderry centre there is a lot to see and do in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShangrilaPortadown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Just back from a fantastic stay at the Beech Hill, thanks to Patsy and her wonderful staff we spent a very special 2 days there to celebrate my Mum and Dads golden wedding anniversary, we had afternoon tea when we arrived with freshly baked scones, sandwiches, and pastries which were all delicious, dinner and breakfast were equally delicious, the salmon and rib eye steak which my husband and i had for dinner were so good and the breakfast with the choice of cereal, toast, porridge, fresh fruit or a full irish breakfast was all so tasty.
The superior rooms were huge, luxurious and the beds were so comfortable.
Take a walk through the beautiful gardens with the little bridges and the waterwheel, lovely for photos, two wedding parties actually stopped by to get photos taken in the gardens while we were there.
Patsy was such a welcoming host and had a chat with everyone, nothing was too much trouble for her and her staff and we will definitely be back at the Beech Hill in the very near future

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nrobinson62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of a work colleague. We didn't really know what to expect but I suppose that can be exciting and add to the adventure of staying somewhere new.Boy were we impressed from the moment we entered the driveway to the Hotel.One of those rare places tucked away off the road in its own magnificent grounds.The hotel itself is full of characterand history;beautifully maintained with obvious attention paid to every detail. The staff are so professional and warm and nothing is too much trouble. The food is superb and our room was stunning.We will return and will recommend Beech hill to all our friends and family.Tip! Book 'The Senator Suite' and spoil yourself !

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparrowhawk35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.4 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
4.6 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
1.7 km away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
4.5 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
7.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Hill Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill Country House Hotel

Property: Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Address: 32 Ardmore Road, Derry BT47 3QP, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Derry
#4 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#4 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Business Hotel in Derry
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,875 - ₹ 11,997
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beech Hill Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Hill Country Hotel
Beech Hill Country Derry
Beech Hill Country House Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing