We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Groarty House & Manor B&B
Ranked #11 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Nice hosts, beautiful location in the country but close to town. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 138 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

After reading all the reviews we were looking forward to staying here,but I think they're relying on past reviews. The welcome was grumpy, we were given the wrong room key. The house was grubby and the conservatory was full of junk and old equipment. For antiques read tat. The bed was clean and comfortable but the ensuite had mould on the walls and badly needed updating. If we hadn't paid in advance we would have walked out. The breakfast was adequate but very low on choice.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the2ofusNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The location and setting are perfect for an 'away from it all break' and still only a 5/10 Minutes drive from Derry yet you are in middle of beautiful countryside. Views from the lovely garden are stunning. We stayed in the new house, it was spotless and in immaculate condition. Margaret, John and Stuart the most welcoming hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them or the staff. The late check in may be a problem for some people so plan your journey accordingly. Food was plentiful and the offer of more of anything you wanted. The bed was very comfortable, we had a large room at the back with a double and 2 single beds, The Oak Room. Double aspect windows - great views.. We were attending a wedding in nearby hotel which was only 5 mins drive down the hill into Burt. Margaret kindly dropped us back down to pick up our car. Hotel is approx 30mins drive from Letterkenny. The owners are very knowledgeable of the area which was useful. Would recommend for singles, couples and families wanting a quiet safe and relaxing location. You will definitely need a car to get to and from the hotel but the location is great. Parking no problem. A must do is a visit to the An Granian Fort about 10 mins drive away spectacular 360 degree views across the county. Would definitely go back if we have the chance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondmop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We wanted to explore Derry and we found Groarty house on the Internet.We were not disappointed everything was lovely and welcoming.My husband had mentioned that we were celebrating an anniversary that week and to our surprise a bottle of wine and lovely chocolates were left in our room by our lovely hosts Margaret &John .The food was delicious and well presented.The hosts and their staff were so friendly and helpful.We came as strangers and left as friends.Oh I must not forget to mention their showers,such power excellent and refreshing.I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.Ithink all the guest were affected by the friendliness of John&Margaret that we were all chatting like a family at breakfast.look forward to our next visit.P.S Derry was brilliant too especially the helpful Michael at tourist info centre.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good and never heard any complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat5545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

This was a lovely stay with excellent accommodation and above all friendly hosts. We booked for one night, stayed for two and would definitely like to go back. John even offered to take me round his local golf course. Next time perhaps. Love to them all.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TEGMENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.0 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
4.0 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,098 reviews
10.1 km away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.4 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,303 reviews
10.2 km away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groarty House & Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groarty House & Manor B&B

Address: 62/64 Groarty Road, Derry BT48 0JY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: ₹ 3,615 - ₹ 5,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Groarty House & Manor B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Groarty House & Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groarty House & Manor B&B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing