We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Everglades Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Everglades Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

An amazing hotel, beautiful inside with a perfect combination of luxury and comfort. The staff were very welcoming and always polite and attentive. The food was delicious with plenty of choice for everyone and we were very impressed by their commitment towards using local produce. Our stay was excellent value for money and we will definitely be back. (London)Derry is such a wonderful city to visit and The Everglades Hotel is the perfect place to stay while you are there.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSMoore76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    203
    75
    23
    14
See reviews for
260
440
27
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed with my partner here on boxing night of 2011.
A great hotel, and made even better looking by their Xmas decorations.

The bar staff were fantastic and their pints were a treat.
The room was beautiful - bed was huge and super comfy. The whole room and hotel was exceptionally clean.

Although not the closest to the centre of town its a short taxi ride away from the Diamond (centre) and foyleside shopping.

Excellent, lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiriW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Pros:
Smiley, friendly staff
Spacious and comfortable surroundings
Good sized bedroom and a very large bed
Excellent food

Cons:
There's some traffic noise but not much.

Overall the staff were brilliant, at check in and in the restaurant the service was excellent and with a smile. The young lady at check in suggested we try the meal for 2 deal they were doing ... it was a good suggestion!

Top tip - I noticed the prices on the web were for room only so I decided to call and haggle, I was able to get the larger double room, including breakfast for two than the room only rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rokan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed a few Sunday nights ago with a few work collegues.The food and service were both outstanding! You could have spent more than one night there as everyone was made feel so special. The staff were really friendly and helpful,beds were really comfy and overall just generally impressed about a hotel that we nearly forgot about!! Will defo be returning-thanks again for a great stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night through a Groupon promotion. I don't know if I'm the only one who thinks this, but from the outside, I really feel the hotel looks like a giant red barn! Maybe that's just the country girl in me?!

Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised by the inside of the hotel and found it to be very comfortable. I appreciated the tea / coffee facilities and the bed was nice and comfy.

The meal I had at the restaurant was very nice but the side orders etc cost extra and were not included in the groupon offer. I think this was a bit sly of the hotel and we heard a couple of other tables complaining about it while we were there.

The hotel apparently used to have a swimming pool but they filled it in to make more space to host weddings! A real shame I thought as I love a leisure centre when I stay in hotels!

Everglades is just a few minutes drive from the city centre so it's nice and handy in that sense.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.2 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,012 reviews
1.7 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.8 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
The Belfray Country Inn
9.3 km away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
4.8 km away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everglades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everglades Hotel

Property: Everglades Hotel
Address: 41-53 Prehen Road, Derry BT47 2NH, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#2 Business Hotel in Derry
#3 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,369 - ₹ 13,575
Hotel Class:4 star — Everglades Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The magnificent Everglades Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Foyle with superb views across Derry city to the Donegal Hills, and is the ideal base from which to discover the 17th-century walled city of Derry. This impressive modern and friendly hotel, with a golf course right next door, is only a short drive from the beautiful beaches and rugged hills of County Donegal or the breathtaking Sperrin Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Everglades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Everglades Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing