We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Where to start, so many wonderful things... When i first got there i was greeted by Mary. She had tea or coffee and biscuits waiting and a warm fire on (which was grand as was a chilly april day). Then we had a lovely conversation and i was made to feel right at home. Next, i was shown my room . Beautiful, very comfortable, clean room and all are ensuite. Every nite was very restful. The only thing you could hear at night was the quiet whoosh of cars going by. Breakfast every morning was great! From full Irish to continental style or whatever variation you desired. The hosts Thomas, Joe, Mary or one of Thomas sons, were more than happy to provide. This B n B is only 15 min walk from city center and very convenient by taxi service as well. Thomas was a very gracious host, and always very helpful, funny and friendly. Of all the places I've stayed, I've never felt more at home and I was treated like family. I was very sad to leave and look forward to my next visit to the beautiful city of Derry. I will definitely come back and stay at Rose Park House again. I highly recommend it if you plan on staying in Derry. Amazing hosts, convenient, and well priced. As a solo traveler i was made to feel rite at home. Thank you, Thomas and family for everything!

From Emily D in Ohio

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilia_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 319 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We were coming to Derry for a friend's wedding at the Beech Country House Hotel in Ardmore and we couldn't get a room as it was already booked out. How lucky we were - because that led us to discover this gem of a place on the Bogside. My English Home Counties wife might have expected to feel less than comfortable passing Free Derry Corner and the murals on the way up to the house, but quite the opposite is what happened. She and I felt very welcome and looked after.
Thomas and the whole family running Rose Park couldn't have been more thoughtful, courteous and friendly (but not in the OTT way that some B&B owners can sometimes be). The house was spotless - our room was dominated by a very large bed with a very comfortable mattress. The room's decor was (surprisingly to us) to a very contemporary style with Asian influence. The tiled bathroom with shower cabinet was perfect. Awesome power shower. Hot water with speed and pressure that an American 4* would be hard pressed to match. The family even recommended a local hairdresser, Vivid Studio, for my wife to get her hair done on the morning of the wedding - and she was impressed with the banter, quality and value.
The fried breakfast was perfection.
We will be recommending Rose Park to anyone who is thinking of visiting Derry/Londonderry. It's worth a change from a soulless corporate hotel and it's far better value for money for a room and experience of superior quality. Thanks Rose Park!

Room Tip: If you want the maximum chance for quiet night, ask for rm 1 if it's available - it doesn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Yes, we came to stay at the Rose Park House in Derry for a wedding at the Presbyterian church. We needed a location with easy access to the city centre both for the sites and the bars and restaurants, but we were also on a budget. We chose Rose Park House as it was very reasonably priced and because of the feedback from previous visitors. Rose Park House was particularly comfortable, with tastefully decorated rooms and most importantly it's run by a very friendly family and some of their close friends. A good breakfast was anticipated and we were not dissapointed - we kept eating and drinking tea for an hour! We were a reasonably demanding bunch but all of our requests were happily met and exceeded. Our stay incorporated the Easter weekend and so breakfast expanded into afternoon teas with homemade cakes especially baked for the celebration (it would have been very rude not to!). You really do get a sense that the people who run this place are so keen to invite any guests into their home and make them feel most welcome. Well done Thomas, Joe, Aaron et al. We shall return with the rest of our team, as promised.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz_Hopkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed at this lovely B&B and it was great. A little hard to reach when you walk up the hill (in the constant rain in April 2012) but easy (parking) if you have a car. Very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I chose to stay here based on the excellent trip advisor ratings. I was initially nervous about the location being a bit "dicey" but then realised it was perfectly fine and then felt more at home! My room was small but very clean and well decorated. The bed was very comfy and breakfast was great - and everyone very chatty and informative about the local area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VickyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.2 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
735 reviews
1.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.2 km away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
552 reviews
1.5 km away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#2 of 44 in Derry
87 reviews
1.9 km away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 44 in Derry
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 53 Rosemount Avenue, Derry BT48 0HL, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: ₹ 3,579 - ₹ 6,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast, Home from Home experience offering high quality bed and breakfast accommodation in Derry suitable for travellers on all budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Park House Bed And Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing