We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
321
15
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
15
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass of prosecco truffle strawberries on arrival quay bar the pre theatre menu fudge little touches from start to finish rooms are beautifully decorated a wonderful stay the heart of the city girls night complimentary upgrade upon check lovely dinner next morning
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed one night to see the city and this hotel was in great location. Friendly welcome and parking on the open air car park at Bishops Gate was not a problem. We didn’t have any security concerns and worked out half the price of the multi storey. Close to everything and rooms were very comfortable. Only niggles are the usual finding a socket for the hairdryer close to a mirror and no hooks to hang coats. But overall an excellent stay for reasonable price.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipquayManager, Front Office Manager at Shipquay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jennifer L,

Thank you for reviewing your recent one night stay with us and so highly. We are very proud of the warm welcome we offer so thank you for noting this. We must agree we are very fortunate to have two very reasonably priced open air car parks on our doorstep. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Chantelle
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the pre party package which was great value for money. The food,drinks and spa treatments were all great. Rooms are beautifully decorated. Great location and staff are extremely friendly and helpful! Little touches like prosseco on arrival and with breakfast and the sweet playter in the room made the stay extra special. Thanks for a great night away we will be back!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LauraBradley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipquayManager, Front Office Manager at Shipquay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LauraBradley89,

It makes us really happy to hear that you are satisfied that you received 'great value for money' in our 'Pre Party Pick Me Up' package. It does prove to be a popular package as it includes so much and who doesn't enjoy a trip to the spa? Most of all, thank you for mentioning our wonderful team of staff. We will see you when you're back!

Kind Regards,
Chantelle
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Shipquay is a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of the city. A short walk from the Quays shopping centre, where you can park your car safely overnight. The food served at Breakfast and Dinner is very good and being served a glass of bubbly on arrival and at breakfast was a very nice touch. The rooms are beautifully decorated and a good size, although if you are in a room on the main street it can become noisy at the weekend. However this does not take away from the hotel or it’s very welcoming staff. I would recommend this hotel and will be coming back to stay again

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipquayManager, Front Office Manager at Shipquay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ashley J,

Thank you so much for your lovely words. We are glad you could make use of our discounted rate at Quayside multi storey car park whilst staying with us. Also, our chef and his team will be delighted with how much you enjoyed their offering both at breakfast and at dinner. We very much appreciate your recommendation.

Kind Regards,
Chantelle
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great hotel. My friend and I stayed for two nights whilst visiting Derry. The hotel is very central and easy to get to from the bus station. The welcome we received was the warmest yet accompanied by a glass of champagne on arrival. We were also offered a glass of champagne at breakfast. The food was top class too and reasonably priced. The service was the best I have experienced. The staff couldn’t do enough for us. We booked a family room as we couldn’t get a twin. Very modern bedroom although I would say it would have been quite small if we had been a family. However, it was very clean and very comfortable. We later found out that room service is free of charge too. Overall the experience was great and the staff were fabulous, making our stay a special one. Thank you to them all.

Room Tip: Quite small but lovely
Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipquayManager, Front Office Manager at Shipquay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Margaret M,

Thank you so much for this excellent 5 out of 5 star review. We do pride ourselves on the warm welcome we provide so we appreciate you acknowledging it. The chef will be very happy with how pleased you were with your food and of course we appreciate your lovely compliments on the service. We hope you can come back and experience another special stay some time soon.

Kind Regards,
Chantelle
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to head to Derry to see a show and stay in a nice hotel for sister in laws birthday as she is very particular I did a lot of research and decided that the shipquay was definitely the best option, we were not disappointed the rooms were lovely, we had interconnecting rooms which were perfect for our family, we ate in the restaurant which couldn’t be faulted, we all throughly enjoyed our meals, fair prices too, the location is ideal for all Derry has to offer, but to me the crowning glory are the staff, each and every staff member was lovely, very genuinely friendly, no false have a nice day friendliness, we had one small hiccup in that the room above ours overflowed their bath and the water came pouring into our room, an earlier awakening than we planned and a few wet clothes in a bag that was unfortunately below the leak, but it couldn’t be helped and again the staff were very apologetic and helpful and it WAS out of their control, they gave us a small discount off our room for the inconvenience and the offer of a free upgrade if we visit again.
Can’t wait to return and take up the offer,
Don’t hesitate to stay in this hotel as I don’t think you’ll find better in the city

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank sharonkennedy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipquayManager, Front Office Manager at Shipquay Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear sharonkennedy2,

We are absolutely delighted that you felt we were the best option for your stay. The interconnecting rooms do prove useful to families and any guests travelling as a group. We can't thank you enough for your lovely compliments of our rooms, food and most importantly, the staff. Again, we sincerely apologise for any discomfort the leak caused to you but as we discussed, we know it would not prevent you from returning. Thank you very much for this review.

Kind Regards,
Chantelle
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews