We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing, relaxing home”
other travellers have booked this property
Tranquil and relaxing.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tranquil and relaxing.
Breakfast on the Patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Tranquil and relaxing.
Breakfast on the Patio.
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Dining Room
Bedroom 3
Dining Room.
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2 Walk in shower.
Bathroom 1
View from Drawing Room
Hallway.
Bedroom 1.
Living Room.
Bedroom 2
Kitchen.
Rear of House.
Front Door.
Front Garden.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castlewellan, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ray M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An amazing, relaxing home”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I only wish I booked a longer stay at the Cherry Tree Farmhouse. Hazel has a very well appointed home that has anything that you could think of needing. My wife and I enjoyed using the fireplace in the evening and it was very spacious for my children to spread out and relax in. The Mourne Mountains are beautiful and there are a number of excellent restaurants in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erika W
2 reviews
“a peaceful, spacious, warm family house surrounded by beautiful views , walks and beaches.”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We returned for a second visit, which was even better than the first, as Hazel has now added a new conservatory, so you can sit out and enjoy the views whatever time of year you go.
The house is extremely peaceful and cosy. It 's really well planned and equipped making it enjoyable to cook and eat in if you wish to. Although also some delicious restaurants nearby in Newcastle such as Vanilla.
It is surrounded by beautiful countryside, with views of the Mourne mountains so its great for walking. Our 20 year old daughter and her friend loved it too. The house is spacious so plenty of room for each of us to have privacy and easy for some to read, while others watch tv, or play the piano. Hazel is extremely helpful and thoughtful and goes out of her way to ensure we had a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charachter of the house itself and its beautiful garden.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael N
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful second visit”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed 3 nights at Cherry Tree Farmhouse for the second autumn in a row and enjoyed it just as much as last year. Hazel was as welcoming a host as ever and the farmhouse was the perfect setting spend a cozy evening after a day of exploring the beautiful scenery nearby.

Since the last time we were here, the greenhouse has been converted to a lovely conservatory, perfect after sunset with some candles and a glass of wine! We would definitely come back to this lovely retreat in the country again and would absolutely recommend booking for a couple or a family!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimarmstr...
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr.”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

If you ever wanted to stay in an authentic Irish farm house but with all the modern conviences, then look no further, this is for you. Our grandchildren just loved it and had the freedom to play in the garden and go exploring the house. The adults enjoyed a well equipped kitchen and the bedding, along with the rest of the house, was clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthlondo...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Jane Austin" house, but with central heating and dishwasher!”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A beautiful house, tastefully restored and generously equipped. There is plenty of space to spread out (three teenage children!). Everything was so comfortable - there was no hurry to leave the house in the morning! The location was great for walking in the Mournes and lazing on the beach (even saw seals at Dundrum). Very helpful and friendly owner. We hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and comfort
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing