We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Business Hotel”
Review of Armagh City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armagh City Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I use this hotel for work purposes on a regular basis using their conference rooms. I find the hotel staff very friendly, the facilities fantastic and the location very convenient. Although i have not stayed in this hotel as a guest I would not hesitate to do so. Its a great base for exploring not only armagh city but the surrounding areas of County Down.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin_Dreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to review your use of the conference rooms at the Armagh City Hotel. As Northern Ireland's largest Hotel conference facility, it's popular for its location, value and quality. Thank you once again for taking the time to comment. We appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    187
    84
    50
    40
See reviews for
105
169
16
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

When we arrived we got everything that we had requested, there was a king size bed in the room as well as a single it was easily accessible to all amenities The television was a large flat multi channel one not an old one as someone said they had previously got, table and chairs and writing desk so I did not need to use the ironing board except to iron as I saw in a previous photo! The room is spacious with everything you need no scrimping on toiletries and I did see a male attendant who cleaned the rooms and was very helpful. Theres even a phone in the bathroom? and it is spacious in the room. Theres a fancy alarm/ipod/radio if you can work it. Theres a shower and bath and tea,coffee biscuits etc. The large bed is so comfortable and spacious, I loved it and was tempted to stay in bed when I could. The room was immaculately cleaned after our first nite and the tea bags and biscuits were replenished after the second nite.

the reception staff who greeted us were helpful, local, informative and warm. When we arrived on the Sunday there was a real good vibe and ambiance about the place. The reception area is modern and diverse yet warm and homely and the staff will gladly attend to your needs in a warm and friendly manner.

The gym is something else. We had a guided tour, it is a busy club there with all mod cons, you get a voucher from reception to attend, bit of debate about the times though im sure they would be flexible as its open until 10pm.

As well as being impressed with the room in particularly "the bed" the whole Hotel definately surpassed my expectations. The conference facilities were enormous and The Armagh Hotel seems like the spot to be with small groups,businesses and even concerts ie Jedward there!It looks the part from outside as well and you can see it lit up across town.

I must say that the breakfast was lovely and you really couldnt ask for more! If they are not too busy they serve it to you and if not you can select your own and the choice is limitless with no scrimping and as regards the eggs, you can have whatever you want not just scrambled. I really had the best poached eggs ever perfectly cooked. There is potato bread,soda and hash browns in addition to the usual fry that you would only get in Northern Ireland! Also continental selection as well cheeses, croissants plenty of fruit, luxury cereal/museli would be a lot nicer but there is plenty of variety and quantity to set you up for the day!

We had a really good value break and had dinner one night, the resturant does not open on Monday/Tuesday so we ate in the bar, there is a lovely coffee shop there as well, trendy and homely. In the bar you could sit wherever you want which was great, however they may be better to segregate an area off as there were several tv screens. All showing football with cheering and shouting as there were only 3 women here I asked for it to be turned over of down. Our server was great Darren, he had the right personality and was so apt for the job! Dinner was ok and although Im not a big fan of sweets, we had pavlova it was heavenly. They should definately advertise the deserts more! The only thing that annoyed me was the older barman who turned the tv back to the sports channel and kept turning the volume up and up. I asked him to turn it down but I saw him lifting the remote several times as there were only 3 ladies sitting in this area and there were plenty of other tvs that the men could watch, I did not feel it was appropriate to be having a 3 course meal with football fans shouting on the tv. The older barman was pulling more remotes than pints and he seemed insistant on watching the screen near me from the bar! Eventually A waitress turned this 1 tv off and we had 80s music which I havent heard since it was released! A wee bit more thought for a dining area would be good if the resturant is not even open.

There is wifi throughout the Hotel though the system takes a while to access, register and you are given 4 passwords which last 24 hours.well thats all I can think off, last nite here in the big comfortable bed!! Determined to do review you know you always mean to!

Room Tip: when we asked about rooms all our requests were met, friendly and efficient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Armagh City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at the Armagh City Hotel. We appreciate the time that you have taken to write an account of your stay and the team at the Hotel is pleased by your comments. We hope that we will be welcoming you back very soon again,

All the best for now,
Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABERDEEN
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We came from scotland with a coach tour for new year break.On arrival room cards all organised for us.Rooms were spacious and clean ,large bathroom with well stocked toiletries.Tea and coffee replenished daily.Dining room very pleasant ,party of 47 all seated together.Food was excellent ,varied choice ,but helpings far too big.Service was a bit slow especially on new years eve but hotel was very busy.Breakfast was okay but like other reviewers only scrambled eggs.Hogmany entertainment was for the majority not the minority ,a band playing disco music for the teenagers.Staff very friendly nothing too much trouble and the people of ARMAGH,people in shops and at the hotel came up and said you must be the scottish coach party,hope you are having a good time.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are quieter but could still hear the thump of the beat from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOROTHY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed 12 nights over the coarse of 3 weeks. I got the impression that it is probably the best hotel in the area given the number of events, christmas parties and gatherings we witnessed. Staff were really helpful and welcoming and really accomodated our individual needs. Rooms were a good size even if the televisions were dated. Free wifi helped and was a decent enough speed to stream tv to my laptop without breaking up. I thought that the bar food was a really good standard. Surprised that the restaurant closed so early in the evening 8pm a couple of nights and closed on a weds. On the one occaision we dined the food was excellent but you paid for it! The waiter on the night did not have any wine knowledge and brought the wrong bottle out twice. Disappointing. Overall a good hotel in a good location

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Hotel comfortable and clean - apart from the toenail clipping we found on the carpet. The edges round the carpet in our room also required hoovering. Pool unavailable before 9am and after 4pm and closed on the Sunday which was in fairness New Year's Day. Dinners superb especially Hogmany. Breakfasts disappointing. Only eggs available in buffet were scrambled, some mornings only brown bread available, some mornings only white bread available. Toaster was the usual hotel affair where you fed the bread into the toaster and ended up having to put it in again with the result that it was burned to a crisp. Why Oh why can't hotels just have a few ordinary 6 or 8 slice toasters if we they want us to do our own toast? Disco definitely not worth the £12 they were charging and if it had not been included in the price of our break I would have been asking for a return of my money.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfisher68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armagh
22.6 km away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
11.6 km away
Charlemont House
Charlemont House
#2 of 6 in Dungannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
27.6 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#1 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
15.8 km away
Castle Leslie Estate
Castle Leslie Estate
#1 of 1 in Glaslough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
9.3 km away
Dundrum House
Dundrum House
#1 of 14 in Armagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armagh City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armagh City Hotel

Property: Armagh City Hotel
Address: 2 Friary Road, Armagh BT60 4FR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Armagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Armagh
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,934 - ₹ 9,591
Hotel Class:3 star — Armagh City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Armagh City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armagh City Hotel Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing