We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merchant Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal, Co. Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to celebrate our anniversary, and what a celebration it was! First of all, the staff are to be commended for all their fine service; each and every one we dealt with were attentive, considerate, and truly nice. Our room was gorgeous, comfortably appointed, and spacious. It was a lovely surprise to arrive back one of the evenings and have a Happy Anniversary balloon and chocolates awaiting us. Dinner in Bert's Bar was absolutely delicious, and again, the maitre d' was great. Breakfast each morning in the plush main dining room was a treat as well, so much to choose from, and equally delicious. This is a beautiful hotel and complimented by the outstanding staff that represents it. Do not deny yourself the opportunity to enjoy it! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cailindana15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,877
    298
    140
    86
    63
See reviews for
328
1,353
55
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Como, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Having had a negative experience in December 2011, we returned to give the Mechant a second look on a Saturday night. Well what a delight, from arrival to a reluctant departure every aspect of our stay was a delight. We stayed in room 222 and can only say it exceeded all 5 star standards. Huge bathroom, excellent shower. Vast space throughout and very comfortable bed. This is the modern part of the Hotel and the real deal as a 5 Star. We enjoyed a lovely dinner in the Great Room, under the expert service of the wonderful Italian maître d'restaurant. So second time round the Hotel really delivered and we will be back.

Room Tip: stay in the new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I went to the Merchant for a weekend, Friday and Saturday night, its location for shopping was fantastic and the hotel itself was amazing, the room was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. We found the restaurants to be first rate, food was out of this world and the staff couldn't have been more attentive. I have stayed in a lot of hotels all over the world and have not stayed in better, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to pamper a loved one, whether it is an anniversary or any other special occassion, the option of the Rolls royce Phantom from the airport is a must! We will be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rodger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was a truly fantastic experience. The Hotel is beautiful and the service is second to none. We used the rooftop hot tub abd sauna and also our room was devine. We had dinner in The Great Room and it was delicious. The breakfast was the best we have had in a hotel. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we will return again and again.

Room Tip: We had the Victorian roon [by choice] but I believe the Art Deco rooms are devine too. We had an ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clairev-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed for a one night break 'sumptuous Sunday' as a birthday treat. We were not disappointed! From the moment of arrival at reception until home time the service and facilities were outstanding. We made use of the rooftop hot tub, had a beautiful meal in the Great room and finished our evening in Bert's bar. This is the best hotel we have stayed in across many Uk cities and this package was really good value for money. The little added extras and the standard of customer service provided really add to the sheer luxury of the hotel. We would highly recommend the hotel and look forward to staying again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Art deco rooms - really beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 44 in Belfast
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Tara Lodge
#1 of 44 in Belfast
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant Hotel

Property: Merchant Hotel
Address: 16 Skipper Street, Belfast BT1 2DZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#2 Business Hotel in Belfast
#3 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#4 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,272 - ₹ 27,833
Hotel Class:5 star — Merchant Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merchant Hotel Belfast, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing