We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
315
43
6
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
43
6
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalone roadhomemade granolacity centresuperb breakfastb bshelpful hostsprivate bathroomulster breakfastguest housebus stop rightplace to stayexcellent accommodationlovely roomsingle roomthe ground flooroff street parkingcomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Our family stayed 2 nights at the Old Rectory in the Myrtlefield room and felt right at home. Can't say enough about Ania and the wonderful hospitality provided. From smooth check-in, to the amazing breakfast menu (top marks for the Ulster Breakfast with Clonakilty Black Pudding!), to travel directions, to recommended sites to see and walking paths, Ania was so helpful!

The Old Rectory enjoys a 100+ year history and has been renovated to suit the needs of any traveler. Our room comfortably slept the 3 of us (1 bed and a pull out couch).
The room was bright with lots of sunlight (yes, it doesn't rain all the time in Belfast).
There was some traffic noise, as the room is at the front of the house, but it is very quiet and sleeping was not a problem. The bathroom was large and well appointed and there was ample how water and water pressure. Soaps, shampoo, and hair dryer were provided, and the towels were plush!

Great neighborhood. Easy access to the heart of the city by bus, taxi or car. We walked to Queen's University just up the street and toured the Botanical Gardens (well worth a visit). There are some restaurants nearby, but expect a 20 minute walk or a 5
min drive.

Overall, we highly recommend the Old Rectory and would certainly stay again on our next trip to Belfast.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms will be towards the back of the house, but even those at the front (Myrtlefield where we stayed) were quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank k8stravelbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123maria34, Owner at Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. We're delighted that we could provide such a handy base for your time in Belfast. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Ireland. Safe travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Fantastic place to stay clean and friendly. Spent two nights and had two wonderful breakfasts made by Chef Gerry (27 years of experience) it was so yummy. His daughter was a great hostess. The room was very nice and clean, there was fresh cold water in the refrigerator outside the rooms. Would stay there again if we are ever in Belfast again and highly recommend it.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank SusyQ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123maria34, Owner at Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for leaving us such lovely feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the 'wonderful' breakfasts. Safe travels and see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed here two nights. Had the Malone room on the bottom floor. Loved it. Spacious, comfortable bed. The proprietor was Aine, who was quite simply one on the most helpful people we met in our three weeks. She booked us dinner at the Barking Dog down the street, which we liked so much we went there twice. Too bad she doesn't make dinners, though, because he breakfasts were wonderful. And yes, we tried the porridge with whisky. Location is idea. You park you car and the bus stop is literally right out the gate. Could not find a better place to stay if you tried them all.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, ask for the Malone room on the bottom floor.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danielbJ3050CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123maria34, Owner at Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a smashing review. We're delighted we could help make sure stay so pleasurable. Come back soon for some more whiskey topped porridge, best way to start the day!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 fantastic nights at the Old Rectory and it was an real pleasure. Comfortable rooms, truly gourmet breakfasts and incredible help with restaurants and places to visit in Northern Ireland.
Bus stop into town literally on the doorstep and on site parking...what more can one ask for.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sightsee529054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123maria34, Owner at Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thanks a million for taking the time to leave us such a super review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our 'gourmet' breakfasts! We're also really glad that we could help with regards to restaurants, attractions etc and that you found the location handy. Travel safely and hopefully we'll see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Once again we have enjoyed the fabulous experience of staying at the Old Rectory.
The welcome was as warm as ever, the accommodation was the peak of comfort, the atmosphere was like staying with caring relatives and the food, as always, was perfection itself.
If you are looking for the best possible venue to stay in Belfast this is it.
Thank you so much Gerry, Mary & Aine.
We are already looking for an excuse to come back to Belfast just so we can return to visit with you.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123maria34, Owner at Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thanks for your lovely feedback Ian, it was pleasure having you and your family to stay. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews