We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, with great bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crescent Townhouse
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, with great bar”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed here with friends for just 1 night and despite no early check-in (2pm earliest) we were able to leave bags in reception area and hit the City (10 minutes' walk). Located in a well-stocked area of shops, bars and takeaways and directly opposite the wonderful Empire music venue this was a good stop-off for the night.

Molton Brown toiletries and tea/coffee making facilities supplied.

Slightly lacking in service having asked 3 people for bus timetables and not having received an answer by the time we left, but generally a good little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    179
    54
    20
    13
See reviews for
28
222
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

stayed in the crescent townhouse for a break from the house!!! and wasnt disappointed as our stay was faultless. A lovely room which overlooked botanic avenue so plenty of people watching.Bar12 a great place for a few drinks before getting ready for dinner, which was excellent. Went to the Empire but came out to go back to Bar12. Next morning a lovely breakfast and then over the road for the papers then back to the room to relax. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastender169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I had an opportunity to stay for 4 days during April as part of my business trip. The first thing that comes to my mind is the location of this, very close to different resturants which offers multi cuisine food for your test buds and it is very close to city center ( 10 mins walk ).

I was very pleased with the interiors of the hotel as well, it is sufficient big with good wifi with a good view to coffee shop :) The breakfast had good variety and was very good. The hotel staff is awesome they help you to the maximum extent. The only thing which was missing was the lift in case if you are carry lugguage then you are in trouble :)

I would say my overall trip was very memorable and it is worth each penny that is paid out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girishps76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Located in an excellent part of Belfast for nightlife, The Crescent Townhouse is beautiful and elegant in every way. I was given a nights stay in the Chelsea Suite as a gift and I can honestly say there was nothing I could complain about. The room was magnificent and wonderfully decorated with two large windows letting in loads of light. The Bathroom could be considered bigger than some city centre hotel rooms with a seperate shower cubicle and free standing bath. On arrival we headed to the bar for a few drinks and then into the restaurant for a meal. The service in both of these areas was impeccable and all three courses were served with excellent intervals. The presentation and quality of the food was of a very high standard and just the right quantity was served. Everything about this hotel, from the service to the decor would make anyone feel 'Special'. Considering all of this and the fact that the hotel is surperbly located, it's easy to say that it is a gem in Belfast's Hotel trade.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitriona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
191 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Crescent Townhouse (CT) is located in a nice part of Belfast with lots of restaurants, bars and pubs nearby, with Queens University Belfast a 5 minute walk away.

Check in was very professional. We asked about a nearby restaurant and if it would be open so late (it was 10pm), and we were told by Matthew (night manager) that he would look it up and let us know.

There are no lifts, so if your room is on the top floor and you have heavy bags, it is a bit of a trek. CT is a townhouse converted into a hotel. The top floor is a smoking floor. The CT was full, so I could not change rooms. I left my window open for a few hours, and the smell had abated.

The room is basic. A queen size bed with blanket and 2 pillows (what is it with British hotels and 2 pillows?). There was a really small TV, tea/coffee making facilities, a fan (no air con), a radiator (how do you operate one of these?), a wardrobe with iron/board and a bathroom with Molten Brown Toiletries. There was a shower over bath.

The room was functional. I know it is not cleaned properly. My toilet was not cleaned, the sink wiped over hurriedly and shower not cleaned at all. Toiletries were not replaced, neither was bottled water.

My room was at the back of the hotel, and I had read in other reviews about noise from The Empire nightclub. Well, I could hear it, so I can't imagine how bad it is at the front of the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent. It is all served to order. With only one waitress, service was slow, but not because of her, it was just busy.

The hotel bar also is excellent. Open till 2am on a Friday night. With great Guinness. Matthew who had checked us in at 10pm was now serving drinks at 1 am. He was a very jovial chap.

Overall it was a good hotel. If the rooms were cleaned better, it would be excellent.

Room Tip: At the back and lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Park Inn by Radisson Belfast
Golden Mile
Hotel Etap Belfast
Hotel Etap Belfast
#31 of 43 in Belfast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Dukes at Queens
#13 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Townhouse

Property: The Crescent Townhouse
Address: 13 Lower Crescent, Belfast BT7 1NR, Northern Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Crescent Townhouse)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Belfast
#17 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#18 Family Hotel in Belfast
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,969 - ₹ 9,937
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crescent Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the heart of the bustling Queen's Quarter, the historic Crescent Townhouse Hotel and our friendly staff are ready to welcome you to Belfast where we will endeavor to make your stay as special and memorable as possible. This well-appointed boutique hotel has been carefully and thoughtfully designed to give a contemporary feel in a classic setting. It features traditionally decorated rooms with comfortable, modern amenities including a flat screen TV/DVD and free Wi-Fi. The lavish Suites are decorated in traditional Victorian style fitted with dark mahogany canopy beds, floral drapes, antique wing armchairs and a roll top bath and walk-in shower. A wide range of food is served at the hotel's restaurant, which includes specialties made with locally sourced ingredients. The breakfast, with many options to choose from, is served daily. You can choose to include the breakfast in your accommodation package or purchase it separately. Metro Bar offers a more relaxed welcome with a full bar food menu available every lunchtime and evening. The atmosphere is lively, warm and friendly and the famous Belfast banter goes on well into the night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crescent Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Townhouse Belfast
Crescent Townhouse Hotel Belfast
The Crescent Townhouse Belfast, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing