We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveller rating
421
265
124
47
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
265
124
47
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe marco pierre white restaurantcity airporteast belfastulster fryjunior suitejacuzzi bathnight porterbar foodbusiness tripcooked breakfastroom was spacioushotel bartitanic experiencestayed here for one nightyogurtreceptionistcinema
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 901 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights in September. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, with a selection of cereals, croissants, fruit and toast throughout breakfast, and a hot menu from 7:30am (full English, eggs and smoked salmon etc.). Hotel is well located, about 15-20 min bus ride from the city centre (take bus no. 20/28) and close to the George Best airport. There's a Tesco express just across the road, and a shopping centre about a 10 minute walk away. C.S. Lewis square is also about 10 mins walk and a definite must-see! Hotel room has tea and coffee making facilities, but there is a bar/MP-W restaurant downstairs.
Only reason this is 4 stars and not 5 is that there was no Wifi available when we stayed, which was only a minor inconvenience but felt it should have been there as it's advertised on the website. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laurent626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park-Avenue-Belfast, Guest Relations Manager at Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Good morning Laurent

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed comments which I hope prove useful to some future guests reading past customer reviews. It is always great for other guests to get suggestions on things to do in the area.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience during your time with us and we do hope that you will return again to visit us at some time in the future.

Kind regards,
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Recently stayed as part of a big group and on the first two days all was well. The staff were very polite and the rooms were very clean. But it all went badly wrong on the last evening. Admittedly some of our group decided to stay at another function which was bad form and quite rude. After an agreement with the head waiter it was agreed that the evening meals would start at 8pm for those that were there. All our orders had been placed at breakfast so we were hopeful of a reasonably quick service but we're mindful of the demands on the kitchen staff. My wife is a diabetic and has to eat before too late and they did, at our request bring out some bread and butter whilst waiting for the starters. However it wasn't until 8.15 that the starters arrivved. The empty plates remained in front of us for an age and at 8.50 I asked the head waiter how much longer would the main meal be, only to be told it would be another ten minutes. So from the agreed start time of 8pm there was a wait of an hour for the main meal which had been ordered at breakfast. My wife cannot eat a cooked meal that late and even my digestive system doesn't like eating that late so we advised the waiter and made our leave. Apparently, from our colleagues who stayed, there was also a long wait for desserts. The staff were aware of the agreed start time and were also aware of the need for the food to be served on time as my wife is a diabetic. And, yes, this was raised at the time. As an aside, but worth mentioning, why when serving cheese and biscuits to a diabetic do hotels (to include this one) insist on including grapes which are crammed in sugar? I ended up going to the Tesco extra across the road and getting some sandwiches. Hot meals take longer to process and can have an unfortunate and uncomfortable side effect. It was obvious that the dining room was grossly understaffed with only two. There were other guests who were all served quite quickly but it appeared that as some of our group weren't there we were being punished. Incidentally, the absentees have been spoken to and for that we apologize. But having agreed a new start time I didn't expect this length of delay especially when the meals were pre-ordered. As said earlier, the staff, up to that point, were very good and allowed us to keep some medicines in one of the hotel fridges. It was a very disappointing and upsetting end to a pleasant stay. From reading other reviews undoubtedly someone from the hotel will trot out the message that this will be passed to the restaurant manager or that I should have raised the matter at the time. The latter was done and rather than referring the matter to a manager, which hasn't resolved any of the previous complaints, why not have sufficient staff? For any other travellers, apart from the many headline attractions in Belfast, I would recommend a walk to Victoria park which is only about ten minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park-Avenue-Belfast, Guest Relations Manager at Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Simon,

I don’t want to add to your frustrations any further but if I may explain how operationally a hotel needs to cope with groups... You are quite correct when you say you had a large group in the restaurant at the time along with several independent diners. The time agreed for your group to eat was 8pm and I can assure you that you were not 'punished' in any way for some of your group joining another function.

Your starter arrived at 8.15 which I do not feel is an unreasonable wait, especially as our team had brought out breads for you and your wife. To allow time for guests to eat and then relax between courses, again I feel that having a main course served 40 minutes after serving a starter is not unreasonable. Our kitchen brigade and waiting staff do all possible to ensure that a group is served (within reason) at the same time so as you can imagine there is considerable pressure on both teams to get all food served within a reasonable time period.

I am sorry that you felt you had to go to a local shop to purchase a sandwich and that you feel that serving grapes was unreasonable. As you can imagine, unless you ask for grapes to be removed from the serving, our team cannot possibly know who is diabetic and who is not.

We have taken the rest of your comments on board and would assure you that we always do respond and action legitimate complaints.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such comprehensive feedback

Kind regards,
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel one night as part of a business trip, clearly as with all things value for money orientated the price will play a part and this has influenced my review. The rooms are very spacious, the bed's very comfortable, I had an iron and ironing board in the room which was a god send and the bathroom was very functional with complimentary toiletries. The breakfast though was brilliant, freshly prepared for you rather than the buffet that you get in most big brand 4 star hotels. The scrambled egg and smoked salmon was a very high quality and the coffee was also very nice.

The location is great for a business trip coming into city airport, I am not convinced it is such a great base for the city centre but that was not an issue for me.

Regards

Simon

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park-Avenue-Belfast, Guest Relations Manager at Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you Simon for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. It is always good to get comments from our corporate guests as sometimes the time they spend within the hotel is fleeting. Delighted that you enjoyed all of the facilities, felt that we offered good value for money and great to hear that our decision to steer away from the usual buffet service for breakfast is being well received. I hope that you will visit again in the future for leisure netx time as we would then hope you would find that access into the city centre is quite easy from where we are located. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Jane
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This hotel has excellent accommodation comfortable bed and tv to watch in between deciding the days events. The staff are all pleasant and cheerful they couldn't do enough for us.
Terrific event for weddings etc which we had and everyone said they all thought the hotel was brilliant and would reccomend it to family and friends.
10 out 10 a must to stay

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park-Avenue-Belfast, Guest Relations Manager at Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you Kenneth for taking the time to leave your review and your great 5 star rating.

We are delighted that you had such a great experience at the Hotel and are so please that everyone enjoyed the wedding so much.

Kind regards,
Jane
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights for a family wedding. Accommodation is great and staff wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Big thanks to Chrissie and Steph who made sure our stay was the best it could be. Would highly recommend staying here, you will not be disappointed!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank cathywG8950JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park-Avenue-Belfast, Guest Relations Manager at Park Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Good morning Cathy and thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We are delighted that you and the wedding party had such a great time and really enjoyed your stay with us. Please do visit us again we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Jane
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews