We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fab Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tara Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tara Lodge
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
1 review
“Fab Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

excellent hotel for short breaks, delicious breakfast and 10 minutes walk from city center.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,839
    407
    66
    15
    16
See reviews for
278
1,295
137
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Pros: possibly the cleanest place I've ever stayed. Bed very comfortable. Four pillows and two cushions on the bed. Duvet and white linen (not blankets, thankfully). Lighting good. Sufficient storage. Safe in room. Handy desk and table. Nice views from room7. Water pressure in shower was good. Lots of white, clean towels. Generally good bathroom. Shower in bath. Friendly staff. No noise within hotel. Good location --- plenty of shops and restaurants at the end of the street. Train at end of street to Central Station. Lots of taxis around. 25 minute walk to Central Station. Easy walk into city centre. 5 minute walk to QUB. Easy check-in. Check-out at noon. Breakfast until 10:30 at the weekend. They acknowledged and satisfied our request for a quiet room. Although the rooms at the rear face the train this didn't disturb us.

Cons: Cable connecting dvd player to TV was loose and didn't work the first night. The second night dvd player worked but only in black and white. Took a long time to sort this problem, eventually the friendly lady dealing with it brought a new dvd player, which worked but lacked a remote control so was almost useless. This was disappointing for me. Although every effort was made to right the problem I didn't appreciate having to waste my holiday time on a broken dvd player.

Although we had told them in advance that we were vegan they overlooked this and did not have any suggestions for our breakfast on the fist morning. A member of staff suggested that we could source and purchase our own food and that they would cook it for us the next day. This pleased my dining partner but I was not impressed --- I do not go on holiday to grocery shop and haul food back to a hotel. This is what I pay them to do. However, a second member of staff later apologised for the oversight and assured us that they would have something the next morning. They did make every effort to satisfy our dietary requirements --- they had bought vegan sausages, fried the potatoes we suggested and cooked the food my dining partner had happily sourced. While every effort was made I do feel that their breakfast menu, while probably very good for omnivores, should include vegetarian and vegan options. The porridge on soja milk was very good and the fried vegan breakfast on the second morning was also good.

Some inconsiderate people seem to pass this hotel at night, screaming and shouting, and this caused me to awaken several times.


However, I would return and would recommend the hotel to friends.

For vegans --- there is a vegan burger shop on Botanic Road, Build a Burger, and is worth checking out.

Room Tip: Room 7 has nice views and is bigger than the other rooms and faces away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irenkagermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

From the first phone call until our leaving this hotel, the staff were both professional and friendly. This place was spotless, warm and welcoming and we were unable to find a fault anywhere during our stay. Breakfast was gorgeous too.
Loved it here and we will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eugenedoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Tara Lodge is superbly located a short walk to the city centre. The staff were welcoming and most helpful, organising tours for us and pointing out places to visit as well as somewhere to eat. The room was large and comfortable and despite being close to the city, it was quiet. If I'm ever back in Belfast I will be staying at Tara.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradnjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronxville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Surprisingly pleasant stay. Cheerful, bright rooms. Delicious breakfast. Handy location for those with cars, a bit out of the hustle and bustle of the center city. All in all, a great success.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adsmith44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Golden Mile
Benedicts of Belfast
Benedicts of Belfast
#2 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant Hotel
#3 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Golden Mile
Ten Square
Ten Square
#6 of 43 in Belfast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Lodge

Property: Tara Lodge
Address: 36 Cromwell Road | Botanic Ave, Belfast BT7 1JW, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
#1 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#1 Business Hotel in Belfast
#2 Family Hotel in Belfast
#3 Best Value Hotel in Belfast
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,088 - ₹ 9,506
Hotel Class:4 star — Tara Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us look after you at Tara Lodge, the metro style boutique hotel located in the heart of Queens Quarter, Belfast. Enjoy a warm welcome from our friendly team, and be delighted with our stylish and luxurious hotel rooms. Close to Queens University, the Ulster museum and only two train stops from Titanic Belfast, you'll be perfectly placed in the heart of the city, to explore all that Northern Ireland has to offer. Wake up refreshed to enjoy an excellent a la carte style breakfast served in our contemporary, sun lit breakfast room by welcoming waiters. By the way the car parking is free and the high speed WiFi is unlimited. At Tara Lodge boutique hotel, we take pride in providing nothing less than gold standard customer service. Our highly engaged, long established team will offer you the warmest of welcomes on arrival and will aim to anticipate your every need. The award winning housekeeping team always deliver the highest of cleanliness throughout. Our consistent, meticulous attention to detail has ensured that our guests always want to return to our hotel. Since September 2007 Tara Lodge has been rated No.1 hotel in Belfast on Tripadvisor - testament to the excellent customer service our team delivers time and time again. With rooms you can really relax in, Tara Lodge boutique hotel is truly Belfast's hidden gem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tara Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tara Hotel Belfast
Tara Lodge Belfast, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing