We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pearl Court Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
US$ 97
US$ 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 225
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 180
US$ 98
Park Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 205
US$ 174
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 233
US$ 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 84
US$ 78
ibis budget
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 138
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
33
69
39
19
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
69
39
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebotanic gardensshared bathroomwalking distance to the cityhot waterstay there againshort walkhot breakfastthird floorstreet noisefirst morningyogurtuniversitypounds
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

A little different to places we usually stay in, it's a guest house so has no reception, you collect our key from a safe that they'll email you the code for. The room itself was spacious and clean, the bathroom was adequate. The sheets were stained and the towels not very good. The walls were quite thin and we could hear other guests. On our first morning it took forever to get served a cup of tea at breakfast and we didn't even wait for the cooked breakfast, the service was a little better on our second morning. The cooked breakfast was ok and there were breads and cereals. Overall the guest house is reasonable priced and in a good location for a short walk into the heart of the city.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

My daughter booked a twin room for us and her assistance dog. Check in wasn't until 5pm so at 5:15pm we went to the guesthouse to check in. Nobody was there so we had to phone and was told the pass code for a safe by the door which held a load of envelopes with keys to let ourselves in. No staff was seen until breakfast the following day. By then we decided to look for somewhere more suitable for the rest of our stay. Top floor of a four storey house is not suitable for someone with an assistance dog. Roof had obviously had a leak and no decorating had been done to cover drip marks. Pillows were ultra thin. Very grotty, depressing room. Wifi very unreliable and gave up after half an hour. TV satellite also unreliable. Had to wait for table for breakfast. Very uncomfortable night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yogi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

Even though our room was a bit aged and outdated we felt comfortable. Room has a tv, wifi was good and it was very warm. Guesthouse is very well positioned, you can park your car for free in the back street and is within walking distance from Botanical gardens, city centre etc. Everything is very close. Negative side is that if you want to boil a kettle in the room, you have to place it on the floor and damp stains on the ceiling. Even though their guest guide says that towels are replaced daily, they are not. Breakfast was good and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tihana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I saw some of the negative reviews in advance and all I can really say is that you get what you pay for. If you want to pay upwards of 100 pounds a night, then you'll get a different standard. But, for 60 a night, this is a great wee place. Perfectly comfortable digs, smashing wee breakfast with sausage, bacon, eggs, tomatoes and potato cakes. Staff are so friendly. Location is excellent, just a 15 minute walk to the very centre past the university, in a nice part of town.
On Friday and Saturday nights there is noise into the early hours from drunks etc, but where will you not get that in a British city?
The only reason I didn't give 5 stars was that we were using a shared bathroom and found out that it was actually 2 floors below us. That wasn't a problem for us, but it could well be for some so it is worth checking with them if that matters to you.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Absolutely pitiful experience. Horrendous. Desperate. Intimidating. Disgraceful. This poorly laid out apartment is not only already in an Intimidating area but the description failed to mention that there is a vile resident in the downstairs apartment who apparently hates the mere existence of paying customers. If you walk, wear heels, speak, laugh or merely breath then you will experience the rath of this horrible person banging on your door at any hour of the night. We made no unnecessary noise, to the point where when we ordered a pizza we wouldn't allow the delivery guy to even knock on the door incase he woke her we met him outside. We took our shoes off so there was no heavy footsteps , we sat in the top bedroom so as to minimise conversation levels and still we had this bully bang on out door and wave her vile fingers in our faces screaming about noise. As we literally checked in the hotel before we had our foot in the door she came out to warn us to be quiet and lift our suitcases as a posed to wheeling them. 6 of us vulnerable paying customers were so scared by this awful unwelcoming person that instead of using the beds and rooms we paid for we stayed in the 1 bedroom at the top of the house together out if fear she would come banging on the doors again threatening us with her wandering fingers. The cost might be appealing but if you like to enjoy your surroundings then do not stay here.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
9  Thank ciaramccorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews