We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Belfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Very disappointed with my recent stay in Malone Lodge.
Toilet seat broken, advised reception , only to return to the room at 1.45am to see the toilet seat had been removed!!! Back to reception, two guys came up, took 2 different new seats before in the end my husband actually fitted the new seat. Meanwhile one of the guys tried to fix the curtains that were hanging off the rails. He was only able to fix it on one side.
Stair carpet up to the first floor was in dire need of being vacuumed.
Also had a nasty fall where house keeping had washed the floor, leaving it very wet but had failed to warn guests with appropriate signage.

Room Tip: Couldn't say, my room had a view of heating pipes
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank jackieadams14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa O, General Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear jackieadams14,
Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel, I am very sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay and would love to speak to you directly about your stay if you contact me on loshea@malonelodgehotel.com
Many thanks
Lisa O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

This was an excellent hotel with very friendly staff. We stayed in the suites which are just across the road. Huge amount of space and with a full kitchen, excellent for making small meals or bring meals back to the hotel. Large rooms, bed was excellent and had a large bath and separate shower. Large car park behind the hotel, although there is free parking on the street . Staff responded quickly to any requests and could not do enough for us. Nice area and very safe. University is just down the street and lots of students in the area. Restaurant in the hotel has great quality food at a good price. Many good eats down the road. Only 15-20 minutes walk to the city. If you do not mind walking then you can access most of the city attractions from the hotel. The bus is easy to use and stops on the next street.

Room Tip: Suites are across the road but offer a full kitchen and larger living space. Hotel has a full parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gbmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa O, General Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear gbmontreal,
Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you back soon!
Many thanks
Lisa O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Having been invited to attend an evening meeting here, we headed down stairs to a private room. We had pre booked our meals before ... The service was superb, the food was superb and the red wine was superb. I had ordered the Cullen Skink, Blade of beef and rum and raisin cheesecake... OMG they were fantastic. Cullen skink can be varied but this couldn't be better. We didn't stay in a room here so we can only review the food.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa O, General Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Brian,
Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Many thanks
Lisa O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel looks lovely downstairs. Food is good. But fortunately the room was very disappointing. For 4 star hotel you do not expect to find mildew on the whole of the window frame and netting. The seal of the shower door was black with mould. This was not something that had recently appeared. It takes a long time of poor cleaning for the shower seal to be in that state. The smell of the room on entering was very stale. The room was also very small. We stayed as a group. There seems to b a difference in the size and quality of the rooms. Staff at reception on leaving said we will advise house keeping!! She didn't seem too annoyed by my complaint. I'm glad we only had to stay 1 night. Will not be back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JLMcGeown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa O, General Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear JlMcGeown1,
Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel, I am disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay. If you would like to contact me directly I would like to speak to you directly about this if you would like to contact me on loshea@malonelodgehotel.com.
Many thanks
Lisa O'Shea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

I had the pleasure of dining in the hotel on Tuesday evening in The knife and fork restaurant.The food was delicious especially the chicken with mushroom risotto. The service was first class as we were looked after by Richard who made out 1st visit memorable and we will definitely be back.
Nothing was a problem and we received immediate service for everything.
Again many many thanks Richard

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsunsun07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran T, Manager at Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear sunsunsun07

Thank you for taking the time to review Malone Lodge following your recent dining experience with us. I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your meal in the Knife & Fork and will be sure to share your kind comments with Richard, which I know he will be thriled to receive!
I hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Malone Lodge and indeed to the Knife & Fork again in the near future!
Kind Regards
Fran Toomey
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Belfast hotels
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 47 in Belfast
1,687 reviews
Golden Mile
Europa Hotel - Belfast
Golden Mile
Jurys Inn Belfast
Jurys Inn Belfast
#6 of 47 in Belfast
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
Holiday Inn Belfast City Centre
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Address: 60 Eglantine Avenue, Belfast BT9 6DY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Belfast
#10 Business Hotel in Belfast
#12 Romantic Hotel in Belfast
#14 Luxury Hotel in Belfast
Price Range: ₹ 6,867 - ₹ 13,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover tranquility and a welcoming Irish Hospitality at the award winning Malone Lodge Hotel, Apartments & Suites which is situated in the peaceful, leafy suburbs of the Queen's Quarter of South Belfast, just minutes from the city centre. The four-star Malone Lodge is one of Belfast's finest boutique townhouse hotel. Our newly refurbished Knife & Fork Grill restaurant can accommodate up to 80 guests and was ranked in the top 5 steak houses in Belfast recently. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malone Lodge Hotel And Apartments
Malone Hotel Belfast
Malone Hotel Apartments
Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments Belfast, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing