We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pre Christmas Delight”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Capel Cartref

Exterior of Capel Cartref
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Exterior of Capel Cartref
Spacious and Warm Lounge & Gallery
Another lounge photo because I love it there!
Kitchen & Dining Area - spacious and well-equipped - Now with a large table!
Gallery - now with comfy sofas - must udpate photo!
Main Bedroom, 1st Floor
Twin Room, 1st Floor
Double Room, 1st Floor
Double Bedroom 1, Ground Floor
Double Bedroom 2, Ground Floor
Main Bedroom (Again), showing Balcony
Main Bathroom, 1st Floor
En-suite Shower Room (off main bedroom)
Ground Floor Wet Room with power shower
Heron in River nearby the chapel's river bank
Henrhyd Falls, Brecon Beacons - come stand behind it and just listen...
Rhossili, Gower Peninsula!  Whatever the weather - it's a MUST!
Brecon Beacons in the Snow - what a day that was!
Rhossili Bay - breathtaking views!
PLEASE HELP US END PUPPY FARMING BY SIGNING THE PETITION
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Swansea, Swansea County, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louielood...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pre Christmas Delight”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

What a delight... Following a hectic few weeks I booked a long weekend with friends, to relax, chill out and enjoy the breathtaking views on offer.

From the moment we walked into Capel Cartref we felt at home. Fantastic bedrooms, a warm and welcoming lounge area and a kitchen that is brilliantly equipped with everything you could possibly need, a dining area that lends itself beautifully to chilled out chats over supper, and high end bathrooms. This chapel caters for all.

As keen walkers and cyclists, this is a fantastic base to explore the local beaches, cycling and walking routes.

We will definitely be back and would recommend the chapel for families, groups of friends who are looking to relax and be inspired by such wonderful surroundings in a truly unique holiday let.

Absolute perfection.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chapel is outstanding
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2014
Hi there to you and thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are so glad you had the chance to visit Capel Cartref and to also explore the beautiful surroundings. The area is perfect for long walks and cycling whatever the weather! Really glad you managed to chill out with friends and that the chapel made it a nice experience. Have a superb Christmas/New Year.
Kind regards, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy2464
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“My 50th birthday”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Absolutely delightful place to stay. The Chapel was warming and welcoming and excellent accommodation to stay in. With its 5bedrooms and 3 bathroom it was just surperb . There was local pubs we ate at over the weekend but we also cooked in the Chapel too as the kitchen was excellent and spacious. We laughed we chilled and we relaxed. Listening to the river running by was so relaxing and despite the weather being wet once you were are indoors the Chapel is another world and it was simply wonderful.
We would all highly recommend this place and will certainly return again
The lovely owner also left me a birthday card and bottle for when we arrived that was such a nice welcome. Perfect place to stay and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was a excellent place to stay
Liked least: Not booking longer to stay there
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
How spooky that you had your 50th birthday at the chapel and then provided our 50th review! Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am SO happy that you found the chapel to be 'another world'. Also very glad to see you have re-booked and so will be returning next year! You looked after the chapel so well during your stay - thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieDuff...
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Relaxing Stay Celebrating my 50th Birthday”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I could not wait to visit Capel Cartref as I chose this venue to celebrate my 50th Birthday with my friends and family (a girls only break)! I felt a bond with Marnie from the moment I found this special venue as she was so helpful and attentive to our needs and the booking process flowed so smoothly! You can feel from the beginning of the booking process she wants you to have an amazing stay in her beautiful converted chapel!
I could not have asked for a better place to celebrate my special birthday! The place was stunning and had such a lovely warmth to it and we all felt like it was our home!
Marnie had left a present of a bottle of Cava and card, which was a thoughtful gesture.
It was a wonderful week as it is the perfect location to visit so many of the amazing places that Wales has to offer! Rhossili Bay was breathtaking and we were so blessed with the weather. (Who needs to go abroad when the weather is so good in GB - no hold ups at passport control, no waiting at the luggage carousel ! ) We arrived home feeling de-stressed, relaxed and with a glowing tan! Thank you for such a wonderful stay and can't wait to come back and recharge our batteries!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
A beautiful review - thank you so much! And 'Yes' we did want you to have a lovely experience at the chapel and we were very glad for you that the weather was so good. You too were very warm and very helpful during the booking process. Also - thank you for leaving Capel Cartref so spotless! We look forward to you coming back some day soon. Take care, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil F
Bilston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A fantastic base to explore South Wales & a home from home!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This unusual property has everything you need for a large group, or in our case, the extended family with both sets of grandparents and both of our dogs. The chapel is clean, spacious and has everything you need for comfortable living. There are supermarkets within a couple of minutes drive, and a few local pubs serving good food. Oh and the post office/local shop is right next door, so you can get your morning newspaper.
Swansea is only half an hours drive away, and Rhossili Beach on the Gower peninsula is around 45-50 mins away. I would recommend Rhossili Beach to anyone - absolutely stunning, and best of all, the dogs are allowed on the beach and they loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Hi there and 'thank you'. We are right there with you regarding Rhosilli beach! Thank you for your great feedback regarding the chapel. So glad you all had enough space and that the dogs were happy! Thank you for looking after the chapel during your stay, it means a lot. Thanks again and please come back one day soon,
Kind regards,
Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious accommodation
Liked least: Had to drive to visit most attractions
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you for the 'Brilliant' review! So glad you got to stay there and enjoy it and for also looking after it during your holiday. Take care and kind regards. Hopefully we will see you again, Yonni and Marnie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing