We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic Manor Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Celtic Manor Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend and were very dissappointed at the quality of service and cleanliness. There was an error in our bar bill (we were undercharged) but when we pointed it out, the attendant serving us was very rude, implying my wife was lying. We sent three e mails to the hotel and a letter to the general manager, and yet didn't get a response, apart from the time my wife rang them directly. All wew anted was an apology, we were not expecting any compensation, but customer care is obviously not a high priority here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,837
    1,206
    825
    475
    359
See reviews for
926
1,946
52
674
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,037)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Celtic Manor, and decided to have dinner in Le Patio which is described as a French Bistro stye restaurant. Not a good start as the bar by the dining room was not staffed for about 5 minutes and no-one seemed terribly bothered - the hotel itself seemed very quiet. We started with a cheese souffle which had both the taste and consistancy of soggy cardboard, and was smothered in salad. My wife then had the duck, which came burnt and dry, and I had a steak frites. The steak was cut into strips, which seemed a bit odd, and was smothered in what was described as "cafe de paris" butter, which was not herby, which is as I've had it before, but which was an oily, split sauce, which gave the steak an unpleasant taste and an extremely unpleasant, slimy texture. We ate very little and had the price of the main courses deducted from the bill. Also the frites that came were chunky chips that seemed as if they'd come from a packet.
At breakfast the following morning, the bacon was covered in white muck, and in the tray of fried eggs, the yolks had leaked out leaving what was left of the eggs sitting in an unpleasant mixture of oil and old egg yolk. The coffee tasted as if it had sat for some time.
The golf course we played was great and so was the burger we had at the Lodge, but I would not recommend staying here, as the hotel falls well short of a 5, or even 4 star rating

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisjc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

For starters you need to be aware this is anything but a "manor" and it sits on the junction of the M4 and A48 so its not a glam location. Things go further downhill if you arrive by car when you arrive in to an underground shopping centre style car park. However from there on the reception staff were great, the room had everything I needed and the facilities were good, attended a dinner and the food and service were good there too. Obviously the sports facilities are good but at a price. If you are looking for 5 star luxury there are far nicer locations where you could spend your money, if you are looking for good facilities with money no object this could be for you. I couldnt fault the staff or quality of food, no complaints but wouldnt rush back

Room Tip: id say all the rooms are pretty good so it comes down to whether you want a view, if you do ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibroadbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Nice enough for a quick break, in it's day it was probably wow, but now it could do with an update, it was all a bit faded shame as could be excellent again quite easily. Rooms were a good size and bed was comfy, we had good view over golf course. The facilities were good for golfers, families and couples - the high ropes, golf, spa and gym etc looked great - I would say overall grounds of the hotel excellent inside of hotel faded, eg leather effect breakfast tables worn out on corners, seals gone on shower etc.

On a positive note: staff were excellent and certainly offered service with a smile. 3-4* hotel 5* staff

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Panna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

we visited the Celtic Manor for one of their "Sunday Rollovers". We had a buffet dinner in the Olive Tree restaurant and breakfast the following day. We made us of the spa facilities on both days and enjoyed the pool (though it could have been slightly warmer, as it was on our last visit). We had a king size deluxe room and it was well equipped and quite large. The bed has a divide down the middle of the mattress as most king size beds appear to have in hotels these days.

Dinner at the Olive Tree was buffet style and the variety and quality was first class. I had fish starters of smoked mackerel, poached salmon and smoked salmon, all very good. The main courses I choose (and there were plenty more i didn't try) were duck, chicken, cod, lamb kebabs and a variety of vegetables.

Breakfast was as sumptuous as one could hope for and well cooked.

Given that it was a Sunday night stay, the hotel was quite busy, this must be a mark of how much of a mecca it is turning into.

The quiet unpretentious attitude of the staff made one feel at ease and welcomed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_EvansWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.0 km away
The Manor House at Celtic Manor
0.7 km away
Coldra Court Hotel
Coldra Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Langstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
22.7 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 75 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 km away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
21.5 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Manor Resort

Property: Celtic Manor Resort
Address: The Coldra | The Usk Valley, Newport NP18 1HQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,150 - ₹ 36,498
Hotel Class:5 star — Celtic Manor Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Host of the 2010 Ryder Cup golfing competition, this award-winning resort is set in 2000 acres of parkland in the Usk Valley. It comprises a 5-star hotel and a historic 19th-century manor house. There is the award-winning Forum Spa, as well as 6 restaurants and 3 championship golf courses. There are 2 adventure golf courses and the treetop adventure course Forest Jump. Clay pigeon shooting, fishing and mountain biking can all be arranged. The Celtic Manor Resort features a range of facilities to ensure the success of guests' business events and special occasions. These include a comprehensive convention centre and exhibition hall, 31 function rooms and 7 restaurants. Rooms all have a TV with satellite channels, and there is a 24-hour front desk. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas, and there is space for free private parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Celtic Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Manor Hotel Newport
Celtic Manor Newport
Celtic Hotel Manor
Celtic Manor Resort Newport, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing