We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a shame.”
Review of Travellers Rest

Travellers Rest
Reserve with OpenTable
Travellers Rest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #907 of 1,383 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This pub is BEAUTIFUL and if you’re going for just drinks I would recommend. Food however, is a whole new matter. There is ALWAYS an issue when we eat here, no pesto on my pesto pizza, stone cold calamari- just to name a few. Not sure of his name but the blonde fella with glasses who seems to be in charge takes any customer criticism personally and there is either little or no apology. Seriously guys, hire some new chefs and go on a customer care course because you’re letting this fabulous pub down - big time.

1  Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Lucy P, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Had food this weekend steak was tough we wait 45 mins for our food i had to send mine back the next steak took15 mins plus and it was not nice at all, they give us our money back for the one i sent back the secound time, the staff were very nice about it but !!!!!!i will never go back again !!!!!the place its self also needs a good clean sorry to put this on but its not cheap either so when you pay good money you want tidy food

2  Thank lew130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Very sorry for your poor experience. Hope we get the chance to make it up to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Visited as a family for an evening meal. Although the staff were lovely the food was just OK unfortunately. Three of us had what was described as hand carved ham, egg and three times cooked chips. The ham was dry, the eggs slightly under cooked and the chips were pretty tasteless. A two course special menu cost £13.50 and although the pudding (apple and blackberry crumble) was nice the meal wasn't really worth the money.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mariaandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Mariaandjeff, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Visited The Travellers Rest today,arrived midday and the restaurant was almost empty,even though we had to wait almost 45 minutes for our meal. What a disappointment when it arrived, we were told no salmon so I ordered salmon fish cakes with potatoes and vegetables,broccoli was cold and fish cakes very small even though this was the large meal. My husband had a pie which was all pastry with very little filling once again the green vegetable was cold.Another in our party had fish and chips and the fish was unbelievable, it looked like battered cardboard,so bad the money was returned for that meal.It will be a while before returning if ever.

I

1  Thank jecathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Jecathen, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Ordered coffee at the bar ,lady serving just said' rather abrutly,I'm serving someone else",
then a feebly apology ,she brought coffee to us,and bearly a word said,just plonked the cup's down and walked off,very rude .I agree with one of the review's regarding lighting over the table's,could be better positioned,feel's like an interragation ,light's shining in your face..Perhap's if and when we go again ,thing's could have improved.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ted87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Ted87, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Travellers Rest also viewed

Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Caerphilly, Caerphilly County
 

Been to Travellers Rest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing