We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location, good staff.”
Review of Park Plaza Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Cardiff
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Pembrokeshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location, good staff.”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed here for a local wedding with a large group - about 90 of us. The rooms are really nice and spacious, some geusts did have trouble with noise from the road outside on the Saturday night, so if you are planning a quiet weekend stay ask for a room at the back.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly - it cant have been easy dealing with such a large group.

The location is good within easy walking distance of the city centre.

Only downside is the hotel bar on a Friday and Saturday night is full of Cardiff clubbers and the toilets were digusting by late on Saturday night - we all stayed in the hotel lobby for our drinks but you still have to fight your way to the bar to get them and used the toilets in our rooms.

Would I stay here again - yes

Room Tip: If you are staying on a Friday or Saturday ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicepembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaCardiff, Front Office Manager at Park Plaza Cardiff, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Cardiff I would like to apologise for our shortcomings during your visit. I have taken serious note of your comments regarding the Bar and Lobby toilets on that particular Saturday evening and have passed on your comments to ensure that they are checked more frequently.

Guests who prefer to use our Lobby rather than the Bar are able to order drinks at the Reception desk and I am sorry you were unaware of this at the time.

On an infinitely more positive note I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. I have passed your comments onto our Heads of Departments who I am sure will be delighted to read them and relay to their teams.Once again thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your experience with us and I hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    739
    195
    76
    48
See reviews for
330
862
116
515
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hotel is just off main shopping area, Cardiff Castle/Bute Park and bars / restaurants. We went to the RHS Cardiff Show which was 5 minutes walk away. There is an NCP car park right opposite and the hotel can stamp your card so you receive a 20% on the costs. Room was lovely - high celings, modern but comfy, space to move around and all you needed. Bathroom all new and great. We did not hear any hotel noise (there is a night club somewhere) and just heard road traffic noise in the morning from about 6.30am. Ask for a quiet room when booking perhaps? Only had breakfast - great. All staff were helpful and friendly. We did not use spa, leisure areas or bar as we were out elsewhere

Room Tip: Good for business and leisure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glugSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nearly all plus points.I only booked the day before I visited, and requested a quiet upper room floor at the back, and that is exactly what I got, we had a good night's sleep.The room and bathroom were modern, and were very clean.Check in was friendly and efficient. Good variety at breakfast, staff once again friendly and efficient.Very good position only couple of hundred yards from main shopping area, next door to the theatre.NCP car park directly opposite,with a discount for hotel users.
Two small niggles.We only went for a weekend, so did not have much luggage.If we had been travelling round and had large suitcases, there would not have been sufficient room in the room for them.The safe did not work, because the second digit did not register when typed in.
Dinner in the restaurant was good, and there was plenty of space in the bar for a pre dinner drink.
Overall an enjoyable stay,would recommend

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Lovely hotel, yes it's pricey but you get what you pay for. Rooms large and light as you would expect, bathrooms perfectly acceptable. I visited on a hen weekend with my daughter. We ate as a group at lunch time on Saturday and the food was extremely good. Check in was very frustrating as we had booked for a spa day and had back massages arranged for 3.00 pm. However, our rooms were not ready at 2.00 pm so there was an immense rush when we did get our rooms to get ready for the spa. Surely this should have been a more relaxing start to the weekend! The main downside is the trip over the road to the car park as the hotel does not have one of its own and the cost for an overnight stay is exorbitant. I would have thought the hotel chain could have negotiated much better discounts for guests. Oh, and if you're a light sleeper, don't have a room at the front as this looks out directly over the pubs and clubs which are open until 3 or 4.00 am.

Room Tip: Don't have a front room if you are a light sleeper, especially if it is a weekend and you need p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have been here a few times for dinner and the food is excellent, the service non-intrusive and the atmosphere relaxing. Also, used to be a health clud member and the facilities here are great especially the clorine free swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,131 reviews
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
2.7 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,797 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Cardiff

Property: Park Plaza Cardiff
Address: Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#3 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,489 - ₹ 16,320
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of the city centre, The Park Plaza Cardiff oozes luxury and sophistication. The 4-star deluxe Park Plaza Cardiff is situated on Greyfriars Road, within easy reach of some of Cardiff's most historic and impressive sites including Cardiff Castle, the Millennium Stadium and all main shopping areas including St Davids Centre. Park Plaza Cardiff offers 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites - each boasting a specially designed range of sumptuous fabrics and furniture. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. Park Plaza Cardiff boasts a state-of-the-art health club within the hotel. The brand new Laguna Health & Spa comprises full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff Park Plaza
Park Plaza Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing